Vantage Data Centers Villanueva de Gállego campus

Announced

Spain · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Planned hyperscale data center campus by US operator Vantage Data Centers with the Aragonese company Desarrollos Ecoindustriales La Cartuja, on roughly 40 to 48 hectares of industrial land south of Villanueva de Gállego (Zaragoza), beside the A-23 motorway near Universidad San Jorge. The partners asked for regional general-interest status in May 2025, and the Aragón government approved it in September 2025 for a EUR 3.2 billion investment over ten years in five phases, with 90 MW of supply already granted through Endesa. In March 2026 the project was still seeking authorisation, with initial documents filed with the regional environmental agency (Inaga) and eight data buildings planned.

Source record as of 2026-03-20 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 41.76700, -0.81700 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Vantage Data Centers Villanueva de Gállego campus

Announced last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Villanueva de Gállego, Zaragoza, Aragón, ES. Town coordinates from the Villanueva de Gállego Wikipedia article. Sources place the site south of the town along the A-23 (Huesca motorway), opposite the San Miguel industrial estate and close to the Universidad San Jorge campus; no parcel boundary is published. Libertad Digital; El Español; Wikipedia

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Investment3,200,000,000 EURAnnounced · Campus2025-09-12Announced by the president of Aragón when the DIGA was approved; elDiario.es had reported in May 2025 a joint investment above this amount.elDiario.es; Libertad Digital
Power capacity90 MWContracted · Campus · Grid connection2025-09-12Electricity supply reported as already granted through Endesa; no planned full build-out capacity in MW was found.Libertad Digital
Land areaabout 40 hectaresReported · Campus2025-09-12elDiario.es; Libertad Digital
Land areaabout 48 hectaresReported · Campus2026-03-20Later figure from El Español's account of the environmental filing; it differs from the 40 hectares reported in 2025.El Español
Buildings8 countPlanned · Campus2026-03-20Data buildings; work would begin with site urbanisation, the substation and the first building, with the rest in later phases.El Español
Jobs construction1,200 countPlanned · Phase · First three years of construction2025-09-12Libertad Digital adds 600 to 750 workers a year from the fourth year to the end of the decade.Libertad Digital
Jobs permanent520 countPlanned · Campus2025-09-12Direct jobs at full operation, starting from about 180 in the first three years.elDiario.es; Libertad Digital

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
Vantage Data CentersDeveloperelDiario.es; Libertad Digital; El Español
Desarrollos Ecoindustriales La CartujaDeveloperAragonese partner company promoting the project with Vantage; elDiario.es says it is made up of Atalaya Generación Eólica and Posidonia Inversiones, and Libertad Digital describes the campus as part of an eco-industrial park it promotes.elDiario.es; Libertad Digital
EndesaUtilityReported to have granted 90 MW of electricity supply for the project.Libertad Digital
Gobierno de AragónGovernmentReceived the general-interest request in May 2025 and approved a Declaración de Interés General de Aragón (DIGA) for the project in September 2025.elDiario.es; Libertad Digital

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2025-05AnnouncedActualThe project became public in May 2025, when the promoters asked the Aragón government on 14 May to declare it of general interest.elDiario.es
2025-09OtherActualThe Aragón Governing Council approved a DIGA (declaration of general interest) for the project.Libertad Digital
2026Construction startedPlannedIn May 2025 elDiario.es reported construction was planned to start in summer 2026; in March 2026 the project was still awaiting authorisation.elDiario.es

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
Grid90 MW of supply reported as granted through Endesa.Libertad Digital
WindThe promoters plan to integrate local wind generation.Libertad Digital
SolarThe promoters plan to integrate local photovoltaic generation.Libertad Digital
Battery storageEnergy storage systems are part of the stated plan.Libertad Digital

Accounts of the layout differ: elDiario.es (May 2025) described three data centers, while El Español (March 2026) describes one campus of eight data buildings to reach full operation in about a decade. El Español reports the initial filing estimates about 5,000 cubic metres of water a year, mostly for staff, with closed-loop cooling. Amazon Web Services already runs a campus in the same town. No Vantage or government primary release was opened; the DIGA should be checked in the Boletín Oficial de Aragón.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: Vantage Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Vantage Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Vantage Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Desarrollos Ecoindustriales La Cartuja (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Desarrollos Ecoindustriales La Cartuja (unknown scope) evidence
  • Utility: Endesa (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Gobierno de Aragón (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Gobierno de Aragón (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
¿De dónde sacará Vantage los 5.000 metros cúbicos de agua que necesita para sus centros de datos en Villanueva de Gállego? evidence row
El Español · published 2026-03-20 · News
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 221 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
41.76700, -0.81700
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Town coordinates from the Villanueva de Gállego Wikipedia article. Sources place the site south of the town along the A-23 (Huesca motorway), opposite the San Miguel industrial estate and close to the Universidad San Jorge campus; no parcel boundary is published.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
25e8d6e9

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Vantage Data Centers Villanueva de Gállego campus
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Un gigante de los 'data centers' ligado a un amigo de Trump desembarca en Zaragoza aliado con empresarios aragoneses
Archived copy
elDiario.es
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: Construction Started, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedelDiario.escc75179216d22de8de4c013e357d077fba8f9e0be2c351c2d0958cefa7fe4ad2
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Vantage levantará un centro de datos de hiperescala en Aragón con 3.200 millones de inversión
Archived copy
Libertad Digital
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Battery Storage, Power Source: Grid, Power Source: Solar, Power Source: Wind, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Role: Utilitysource-terms-not-recordedLibertad Digital4eeea91a96c1d858a7d7d00670479c9887541a5469b5a0c6b8c3e3c6e3a1c4c2
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Villanueva de Gállego
Archived copy
Wikipedia
Other
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Recordnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedWikipedia54061053eded68272b130de58e8c19b24ca78c53d3803a486c7f2ac496dc849f
Factual source record; not the publisher page
¿De dónde sacará Vantage los 5.000 metros cúbicos de agua que necesita para sus centros de datos en Villanueva de Gállego?
Archived copy
El Español
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Land Area, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedEl Españolc4a74a513c4b1149e4f7b425592ab2d739fb67c69fda45ed2a44cab2b079807b
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Vantage Data Centers Villanueva de Gállego campus [site vcc-site-028ea637886484fbc894]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-028ea637886484fbc894/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction