Wonder Valley AI data centre park (Alberta)
Announced
Canada · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Proposed off-grid AI data centre park in the Greenview Industrial Gateway south of Grande Prairie, Alberta, announced in December 2024 by O'Leary Ventures with the Municipal District of Greenview and now led by O'Leary Digital. Backers describe up to 7.5 GW of on-site gas and geothermal generation built in phases, starting with 1.4 GW. O'Leary Digital said in February 2026 that Alberta permitting was underway; a December 2025 report said the site was undeveloped and construction might not start until late 2028. Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation lost an appeal of the gateway's water licence in April 2026; in August 2026 a judge refused an O'Leary-backed bid to halt a Nation challenge.
Source record as of 2026-10-09 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 54.81190, -118.68340 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Approximate site reference; the exact facility position is unverified.
Projects (1)
Wonder Valley AI data centre park (Alberta)
Announced last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Greenview Industrial Gateway (south of Grande Prairie), Municipal District of Greenview No. 16, Alberta, CA. Point taken from the Government of Alberta major projects inventory entry for Phase 1 and rounded; the developer's FAQ places the site in the Greenview Industrial Gateway about 42 km south of Grande Prairie. Parcel boundaries were not published. Government of Alberta, Major Projects; Calgary.Tech; O'Leary Digital
Use: Ai unspecified
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power capacity | up to 7,500 MW | Planned · Campus · Onsite generation | 2026-02-18 | Described as off-grid generation to be delivered to hyperscale data centres over roughly a decade; the 2026 release calls it power generation capacity. | Calgary.Tech; Natural Gas World; O'Leary Digital Limited via PR Newswire |
| Power capacity | 1,400 MW | Planned · Phase · Onsite generation · Phase 1 | 2024-12-09 | First-phase off-grid power system using natural gas and geothermal resources. | Calgary.Tech; Government of Alberta, Major Projects |
| Power capacity | up to 2,000 MW | Planned · Phase · Onsite generation · Phase 1 | 2026 | Undated developer FAQ (2026 copyright) gives a larger Phase 1 figure than the 2024 announcement and says it would support up to ten facilities of roughly 100 MW of IT load each. | O'Leary Digital |
| Investment | about 2,000,000,000 USD | Announced · Phase · Phase 1 | 2024-12-09 | Cost cited for the first 1.4 GW of power. Lifetime spending above 70 billion dollars was also cited without a currency, and the Alberta inventory lists a 12.0 billion dollar Phase 1 estimate without a currency code; neither is recorded as a metric. | Calgary.Tech |
| Land area | about 13,000 acres | Planned · Campus | 2026 | Developer FAQ figure. The December 2024 announcement referred to a letter of intent for thousands of acres within and south of the gateway. | O'Leary Digital |
| Floor area | 35,000,000 sq_ft | Planned · Campus | 2024-12-09 | Full build-out figure reported at announcement. | Natural Gas World |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| O'Leary Digital Limited | Developer | Named proponent in the Alberta inventory and in the February 2026 release. | Government of Alberta, Major Projects; O'Leary Digital Limited via PR Newswire; O'Leary Digital |
| O'Leary Ventures | Developer | Named as the lead company when the project was announced in December 2024; later materials use O'Leary Digital. | Calgary.Tech; The Logic (republished by Geothermal Canada) |
| Municipal District of Greenview No. 16 | Government | Host municipality and partner; it owns the industrial gateway land and holds the area's Water Act licence. | Calgary.Tech; The Logic (republished by Geothermal Canada); Alberta Environmental Appeals Board |
| PCL Construction | Builder | Named as construction manager for the Alberta site. | O'Leary Digital Limited via PR Newswire |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-12-09 | Announced | Actual | Calgary.Tech; Natural Gas World | |
| 2025-04-07 | Other | Actual | Alberta issued the Municipal District of Greenview a Water Act licence for up to 6 million cubic metres a year from the Smoky River for industrial use in the gateway; the developer FAQ cites this licence as the project's water access. | Alberta Environmental Appeals Board; O'Leary Digital |
| 2026-04-17 | Other | Actual | Alberta's Environmental Appeals Board dismissed Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation's appeal of the gateway water licence, finding the Nation not directly affected. | Alberta Environmental Appeals Board; Hamilton Spectator (republished by Canada WaterPortal) |
| 2027 | First operational | Planned | Original target for a first phase, as described in December 2025 reporting; the schedule has since slipped. | The Logic (republished by Geothermal Canada) |
| 2028-H2 | Construction started | Planned | A Greenview official said in late 2025 that construction might start in late 2028, versus an original plan to start by 2026. | The Logic (republished by Geothermal Canada) |
| 2026-08 | Other | Actual | Western Standard reported on 2026-08-14 that a judge rejected a bid backed by the O'Leary data centre side to halt a Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation challenge; the court, ruling date and subject of the challenge were not stated. | Western Standard |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Natural gas onsite | Off-grid generation fuelled by local natural gas is the primary planned supply. | Calgary.Tech; Natural Gas World; Government of Alberta, Major Projects |
| Geothermal | Geothermal energy is named as a complementary or backstop supply for the off-grid system. | Calgary.Tech; Government of Alberta, Major Projects; The Logic (republished by Geothermal Canada) |
Status rests partly on two undated pages, the Government of Alberta major projects entry (stage: proposed) and the developer's FAQ (pre-construction, development stage), so status_as_of is the date they were read (2026-10-09).
Sources for these details
- Kevin O'Leary leads visionary $70 billion AI data centre project in Alberta — Calgary.Tech; 2024-12-09 · Archived source
- VC unveils plan for 7.5 GW data centre in Alberta — Natural Gas World; 2024-12-09
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) — Government of Alberta, Major Projects; publication date not stated · Archived source
- O'Leary Digital Forms Joint Venture to Advance 7.5 GW Wonder Valley Utah Campus; Alberta Permitting Underway — O'Leary Digital Limited via PR Newswire; 2026-02-18
- The truth about Wonder Valley, Kevin O'Leary's data-centre dream — The Logic (republished by Geothermal Canada); 2025-12-10 · Archived source
- Standing Decision: Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation v Designated Director under the Water Act, re: Municipal District of Greenview No. 16, 2026 ABEAB 9 — Alberta Environmental Appeals Board; 2026-04-17 · Archived source
- First Nation's appeal on Wonder Valley water dismissed — Hamilton Spectator (republished by Canada WaterPortal); 2026-05-15
- Wonder Valley FAQ — O'Leary Digital; publication date not stated
- Judge rejects Kevin O'Leary-backed data centre bid to halt First Nation challenge — Western Standard; 2026-08-14 · Archived source
- Companies
- Developer: O'Leary Digital Limited (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: O'Leary Digital Limited (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: O'Leary Digital Limited (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: O'Leary Ventures (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: O'Leary Ventures (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Municipal District of Greenview No. 16 (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Municipal District of Greenview No. 16 (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Municipal District of Greenview No. 16 (unknown scope) evidence
- Builder: PCL Construction (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- O'Leary Digital Forms Joint Venture to Advance 7.5 GW Wonder Valley Utah Campus; Alberta Permitting Underway evidence row
O'Leary Digital Limited via PR Newswire · published 2026-02-18 · Company disclosure - Locator
- Approximate site reference · Compiled location reference · approximate_site evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 18 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 54.81190, -118.68340
- Geometry licence
- source-terms-not-recorded
- Use scope
- Approximate site reference
- Scope class
- approximate_site
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Project
- Method
- imported_reference_point
- Derivation
- imported_reference_point
- Precision scope
- Point taken from the Government of Alberta major projects inventory entry for Phase 1 and rounded; the developer's FAQ places the site in the Greenview Industrial Gateway about 42 km south of Grande Prairie. Parcel boundaries were not published.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.
- Geometry evidence
- d43b045c
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Nation's appeal on Wonder Valley water dismissed Archived copy | Hamilton Spectator (republished by Canada WaterPortal) News | Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Milestone: Other | source-terms-not-recorded | Hamilton Spectator (republished by Canada WaterPortal) | f6b0be503b2db7738f861909a9d66763ecf9caec8c8246e66e249d905a7a4488Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Judge rejects Kevin O'Leary-backed data centre bid to halt First Nation challenge Archived copy | Western Standard News | Imported: Record, Milestone: Other | source-terms-not-recorded | Western Standard | 3923b96bbcc72ad7c7d01fd39ddf019856c4915bf44636e33bb4bc74bb76b308Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Kevin O'Leary leads visionary $70 billion AI data centre project in Alberta Archived copy | Calgary.Tech News | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Power Source: Geothermal, Power Source: Natural Gas Onsite, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | Calgary.Tech | af63a23d6b6eab54e94154f6d2f365d4f6e4106ff826c502af01012052d99155Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| O'Leary Digital Forms Joint Venture to Advance 7.5 GW Wonder Valley Utah Campus; Alberta Permitting Underway Archived copy | O'Leary Digital Limited via PR Newswire Company disclosure | Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Power Capacity, Role: Builder, Role: Developer | source-terms-not-recorded | O'Leary Digital Limited via PR Newswire | 445eef15582665996329eafa181ee4f7c51e3a1ec16bf825146008e0c575866dFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Standing Decision: Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation v Designated Director under the Water Act, re: Municipal District of Greenview No. 16, 2026 ABEAB 9 Archived copy | Alberta Environmental Appeals Board Government record | Imported: Record, Milestone: Other, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | Alberta Environmental Appeals Board | 4322415ee998e476fffe7d5017d2d436fac74cc18af62440464323e3bf2d15e7Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| The truth about Wonder Valley, Kevin O'Leary's data-centre dream Archived copy | The Logic (republished by Geothermal Canada) News | Imported: Record, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: First Operational, Power Source: Geothermal, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | The Logic (republished by Geothermal Canada) | 21dc36740e3a1bae3267923d13595224becb266ab824ea678dfc51212af87e06Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| VC unveils plan for 7.5 GW data centre in Alberta Archived copy | Natural Gas World Trade publication | Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Power Source: Natural Gas Onsite | source-terms-not-recorded | Natural Gas World | 7204f39b7034a321da093e2068dbfe1d050e80c1f93d472de734c65319ff6e5dFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) Archived copy | Government of Alberta, Major Projects Government record | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Power Capacity, Power Source: Geothermal, Power Source: Natural Gas Onsite, Role: Developer | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | Government of Alberta, Major Projects | f0a97824a64c3a673eaf6c872cf90fbb4e5e1b8f5d4ee2473ee43fb39fbcd97dFactual source record; not the publisher page | |
| Wonder Valley FAQ Archived copy | O'Leary Digital Company disclosure | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Role: Developer | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | O'Leary Digital | 17810dc6f48352266e504e44bc5366659531e103dbabe127a541d45f58ef9c6fFactual source record; not the publisher page |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Wonder Valley AI data centre park (Alberta) [site vcc-site-0a62731022d2820e105f]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-0a62731022d2820e105f/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction