Green IT Aragón data center campus (SAMCA), Luceni

Announced

Spain · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Three-building data center campus planned by the SAMCA group in Luceni, Zaragoza province, paired with renewing and expanding SAMCA's nearby wind farms to supply it. Announced in April 2025 at EUR 2,627 million including the renewable generation. Red Eléctrica has permitted 131 MW for a first phase, which could rise to 181 MW and finally 300 MW. A technical annex describes three identical buildings of 72 MW of IT load, each drawing up to 100 MW from the grid. The regional plan received initial approval in December 2025; in October 2026 site works were expected by late 2026 or in 2027, with the first phase targeted for 2028.

Source record as of 2026-10-05 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 41.83300, -1.23300 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Green IT Aragón data center campus (SAMCA), Luceni

Announced last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Luceni, Zaragoza, Aragon, ES. Luceni municipal centroid from its Wikipedia article. The technical annex places all three data centers in Luceni municipality; associated grid and wind works extend into Rueda de Jalón, Plasencia de Jalón and Pedrola. No cited source gives site coordinates. Gobierno de Aragón; Gobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter); Wikipedia

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Power capacity300 MWPlanned · Campus · Grid connection2025-04-28Final-phase capacity under the Red Eléctrica permits described at announcement.elDiario.es
Power capacity131 MWPermitted · Phase · Grid connection · Phase 12025-04-28A second phase could rise to 181 MW.elDiario.es
Power capacity72 MWPlanned · Phase · It load · Each of three identical data center buildings2025-11Gobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter)
Power capacityup to 100 MWPlanned · Phase · Grid connection · Each of three identical data center buildings2025-11Maximum active power each data center would draw from the transmission grid.Gobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter)
Investment2,627,000,000 EURAnnounced · Campus2025-04-28Includes the renewable generation; El Español says the figure rose from EUR 2,000 million when the renewable supply was added.elDiario.es; El Español
Buildings3 countPlanned · Campus2025-11Named Ribera Alta del Ebro, Ribera Alta del Ebro II and Atalaya del Ebro in the plan documents.Gobierno de Aragón; Gobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter); elDiario.es
Jobs constructionup to 2,300 countPlanned · Campus2025-04-28Direct and indirect jobs during construction, per the regional government.elDiario.es
Jobs permanentup to 320 countPlanned · Campus2025-04-28Direct and indirect jobs during operation, per the regional government.elDiario.es

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
SAMCA (Sociedad Anónima Minera Catalano-Aragonesa)DeveloperPromotes the plan with its subsidiaries Data Center Ribera Alta del Ebro S.L. and Molinos del Ebro S.A.Gobierno de Aragón; elDiario.es; El Español
SAMCA (Sociedad Anónima Minera Catalano-Aragonesa)Power supplierIts nearby wind farms, to be renewed and expanded, are to supply renewable power through direct underground lines under a self-consumption arrangement.Gobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter); elDiario.es
Red EléctricaUtilityGranted grid access permits for the phased capacity.elDiario.es
Government of AragonGovernmentDeclared the project of general interest and gave the regional plan initial approval.Gobierno de Aragón; elDiario.es

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2025-04-28AnnouncedActualelDiario.es
2025-04-28OtherActualDeclared an investment of general interest for Aragon; published in the regional gazette on 26 May 2025.Gobierno de Aragón; elDiario.es
2025-11-21OtherActualRegional plan filed for processing.Gobierno de Aragón
2025-12-23OtherActualInitial approval of the Plan de Interés General de Aragón, after a redrawing of its boundary on 10 December 2025; public information followed.Gobierno de Aragón; El Español
2027Construction startedPlannedIn March 2026 construction was planned during 2026; in October 2026 urbanisation was expected by late 2026 or during 2027.El Español; El Español
2028First operationalPlannedFirst phase targeted for 2028; the announcement put start-up and operation between 2026 and 2030.El Español; elDiario.es

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
GridConnections to the transmission grid through 220 kV underground lines from the Jalón PRE, Bayo and Camporroyo substations to a new Ribera Alta del Ebro substation.Gobierno de Aragón; Gobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter)
WindSAMCA's wind farms in Luceni, Pedrola, Plasencia de Jalón and Rueda de Jalón are to be renewed and expanded to supply the campus through direct underground lines under self-consumption with surplus export.Gobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter); elDiario.es

The regional plan page shows a last-updated date of 7 July 2026, used as its published date; the water annex is dated November 2025 on its cover. Per-building figures are recorded separately and not summed. The water annex estimates total campus water use below 460,000 cubic metres a year, mostly for optional evaporative support to air-cooled chillers. No final approval of the regional plan had been reported by early October 2026.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: SAMCA (Sociedad Anónima Minera Catalano-Aragonesa) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: SAMCA (Sociedad Anónima Minera Catalano-Aragonesa) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: SAMCA (Sociedad Anónima Minera Catalano-Aragonesa) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Power Supplier: SAMCA (Sociedad Anónima Minera Catalano-Aragonesa) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Power Supplier: SAMCA (Sociedad Anónima Minera Catalano-Aragonesa) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Utility: Red Eléctrica (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Government of Aragon (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Government of Aragon (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
Cerca de 6.000 millones invertidos en centros de datos en Aragón esperan en la rampa de salida para las obras evidence row
El Español · published 2026-10-05 · News
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 22 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
41.83300, -1.23300
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Luceni municipal centroid from its Wikipedia article. The technical annex places all three data centers in Luceni municipality; associated grid and wind works extend into Rueda de Jalón, Plasencia de Jalón and Pedrola. No cited source gives site coordinates.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
117a516b

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Green IT Aragón data center campus (SAMCA), Luceni
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Aragón se convierte en la capital de los datos y la nube: el calendario de Amazon, Microsoft y todos los proyectos
Archived copy
El Español
News
Imported: Record, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: First Operational, Milestone: Othersource-terms-not-recordedEl Españolea5eeb1219c5ec68dd1c08003caefedf199c34c2ef1017ee517155da78dcac7f
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cerca de 6.000 millones invertidos en centros de datos en Aragón esperan en la rampa de salida para las obras
Archived copy
El Español
News
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Construction Started, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedEl Español903c8060bc0afa46cc677e225b35d77a62f66b41b766ba7c9fe1ef0f3b59db47
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Luceni
Archived copy
Wikipedia
Other
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Recordnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedWikipedia1067da386d0b604d333e6a184f170fda6f4e643f5a27bf51410b8e357ad15016
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Memoria técnica sobre el consumo de agua del Plan Green IT Aragón (Vol. IV, anexo 18)
Archived copy
Gobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter)
Regulatory filing
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Power Capacity, Power Source: Grid, Power Source: Wind, Role: Power Suppliersource-terms-not-recordedGobierno de Aragón (plan documentation filed by the promoter)a2ee26a623dac689d985838a69a175e611b9752fa901a6927482ea314060c53b
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Otros tres centros de datos en Aragón: Samca anuncia una inversión de 2.627 millones en Luceni
Archived copy
elDiario.es
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: First Operational, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Wind, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Role: Power Supplier, Role: Utilitysource-terms-not-recordedelDiario.es915e4ecc996fa9128960fcbe9f5b4d9336d3e1d72ca86cf05c1893faa4785a23
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Plan de Interés General de Aragón Green It Aragón
Archived copy
Gobierno de Aragón
Government record
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedGobierno de Aragóne10a12fc396671e2961207e08fd3326b7441caee16e0cdd4286cea7f503437d8
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Green IT Aragón data center campus (SAMCA), Luceni [site vcc-site-0d25d33c7b8c51f70ba3]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-0d25d33c7b8c51f70ba3/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction