Igoudar Dakhla green data centre complex

Announced

Western Sahara · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

State-led programme for a green data centre complex in Dakhla targeting 500 MW, unveiled by Morocco in November 2025 for AI and high-performance computing, to be powered by a dedicated solar and wind farm. In April 2026 two ministries, the Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab wilaya and regional council, the Mohammed VI Investment Fund and CDG signed an agreement launching the strategic studies that are to set its governance, economic model, phasing and financing. It is planned in two parts, a sovereign segment for national needs and a segment open to private investors. The sources give no investment figure, operator or schedule.

Source record as of 2026-04-16 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 23.70806, -15.94556 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Igoudar Dakhla green data centre complex

Announced last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Dakhla, Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab, EH. City coordinates from the Dakhla Wikipedia page; no site within Dakhla has been named. Dakhla is in Western Sahara (ISO code EH), a disputed territory administered by Morocco; the sources present the project as a Moroccan national programme. W.Media; Finances News Hebdo; Wikipedia

Use: Ai unspecified, Hpc, Cloud

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Power capacity500 MWPlanned · Campus · Unspecified2026-09Target capacity of the complex; the scope is not stated.W.Media; Finances News Hebdo; The North Africa Post

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
Moroccan Ministry of Digital Transition and Administration ReformGovernmentSignatory to the April 2026 agreement launching the studies.Finances News Hebdo
Moroccan Ministry of Energy Transition and Sustainable DevelopmentGovernmentSignatory to the April 2026 agreement launching the studies.Finances News Hebdo
Wilaya of Dakhla-Oued Ed-DahabGovernmentSignatory to the April 2026 agreement launching the studies.Finances News Hebdo
Regional Council of Dakhla-Oued Ed-DahabGovernmentSignatory to the April 2026 agreement launching the studies.Finances News Hebdo
Mohammed VI Investment FundGovernmentState investment fund; signatory to the April 2026 studies agreement. No investment commitment is reported.Finances News Hebdo
Caisse de Dépôt et de Gestion (CDG)GovernmentPublic financial institution; signatory to the April 2026 studies agreement. No investment commitment is reported.Finances News Hebdo

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2025-11AnnouncedActualPlans unveiled, with an agreement on the Igoudar programme signed in Dakhla that month; an earlier accord linking digital and energy strategies dates from July 2025.W.Media; Finances News Hebdo
2026-04OtherActualAgreement, reported on 16 April 2026 without a signing date, launching the strategic studies on governance, economic model, phasing and financing.Finances News Hebdo

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
SolarPlanned to run fully on green power from a dedicated solar and wind farm.W.Media
WindPlanned to run fully on green power from a dedicated solar and wind farm.W.Media

Still at the study stage: the April 2026 agreement launched the studies that precede any investment decision. A September 2026 article still described the campus as targeting 500 MW with no schedule. Coverage uses both the names Igoudar Dakhla and Igoudar Numérique for the programme.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Government: Moroccan Ministry of Digital Transition and Administration Reform (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Moroccan Ministry of Energy Transition and Sustainable Development (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Wilaya of Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Regional Council of Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Mohammed VI Investment Fund (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Caisse de Dépôt et de Gestion (CDG) (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
Datacenters verts à Dakhla : le Maroc lance le campus « Igoudar Numérique » de 500 MW evidence row
Finances News Hebdo · published 2026-04-16 · News
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 194 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
23.70806, -15.94556
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
City coordinates from the Dakhla Wikipedia page; no site within Dakhla has been named. Dakhla is in Western Sahara (ISO code EH), a disputed territory administered by Morocco; the sources present the project as a Moroccan national programme.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
56fcfb3f

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Igoudar Dakhla green data centre complex
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Dakhla, Western Sahara
Archived copy
Wikipedia
Other
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Recordnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedWikipedia41365e4820b9d503401f520781e88f999185b4d2def202bd1ad5ec84156c5b34
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Datacenters verts à Dakhla : le Maroc lance le campus « Igoudar Numérique » de 500 MW
Archived copy
Finances News Hebdo
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: Other, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedFinances News Hebdo3a1e307f252a65c59eb854648bc8ba33ce123977c3a040ab442ec11459955dab
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Morocco plans 500 MW green data center in Dakhla
Archived copy
W.Media
Trade publication
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Power Source: Solar, Power Source: Windsource-terms-not-recordedW.Media2414794f68256b7ee01eb11f2d5566a5f810b21b5eb6e63cddddabfeda521de0
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Morocco's Data Center Boom Raises a Power Question
Archived copy
The North Africa Post
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Power Capacitysource-terms-not-recordedThe North Africa Post47dd3f06e26635e439c43681097a85001810b258e1df7b6da1ab350d4fd8171e
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Igoudar Dakhla green data centre complex [site vcc-site-1057cda1149b646f7a24]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-1057cda1149b646f7a24/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction