Nscale Kvandal Narvik AI Data Center Campus

Under construction

Norway · 2 projects · Last reported

Summary

Nscale Kvandal AI data center (Narvik)

AI data center campus at Kvandal outside Narvik in northern Norway, announced in July 2025 as Stargate Norway by Nscale, Aker and OpenAI with 230 MW planned and ambitions for 290 MW more. The Aker-Nscale joint venture signed a five-year Microsoft contract worth about USD 6.2bn in September 2025, and in April 2026 Microsoft took the capacity first linked to OpenAI, adding more than 30,000 NVIDIA Rubin GPUs for 2027. Aker transferred its half of the joint venture to Nscale in March 2026. Nscale raised USD 790m of debt in May 2026, and in September 2026 contractor HENT held contracts for three buildings totalling 100 MW, with construction under way and completion expected in 2027.

Source record as of 2026-09-02 · Details and sources

Nscale Kvandal Initial 25 MW EPC Current Build

Nscale says Nordkraft has delivered operational services during the construction phase at Nscale's Kvandal data center. evidence

Nscale · published 2026-07-06

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 68.57525, 17.58006 (Polygon locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.

Projects (2)

Nscale Kvandal AI data center (Narvik)

Under construction last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Kvandal, Narvik Municipality, Nordland, NO. Sources place the site at Kvandal, just outside Narvik, and Nscale says the operator's main office is on site in Bjerkvik. Kvandal itself was not resolved to a point, so a Narvik municipality centroid is used. Aker ASA; Nscale; Sentia (via Inderes)

Use: Ai unspecified

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Power capacity230 MWPlanned · Campus · Unspecified2026-04-14Aker ASA; Nscale; AmCham Norway
Power capacity290 MWPlanned · Phase · Unspecified · Possible expansion2025-07-31Stated as an ambition for additional capacity beyond the 230 MW.Aker ASA
Power capacity20 MWPlanned · Phase · Unspecified · Initial phase2025-07-31Aker ASA
Power capacity115 MWPlanned · Phase · Unspecified · Accordion-funded expansion2026-05-11An uncommitted USD 790m accordion could fund this further expansion.Nscale
Power capacity100 MWUnder construction · Phase · Unspecified · HENT-contracted buildings2026-09-02Combined capacity of the three buildings HENT is contracted to build, including two added in September 2026 totalling 75 MW; the release says construction is under way but does not relate this to the 230 MW figure.Sentia (via Inderes)
Investmentabout 1,000,000,000 USDAnnounced · Phase · Initial 20 MW phase2025-07-31Committed by Nscale and Aker, including upwards of USD 250m of equity shared equally.Aker ASA
Accelerators100,000 countPlanned · Campus2025-07-31Original target of 100,000 GPUs by end of 2026 under the Stargate Norway plan.Aker ASA
Acceleratorsabout 52,000 countPlanned · Campus2025-10-15GPUs to be delivered to Microsoft from the Narvik campus under a multi-year agreement.Nscale
Acceleratorsmore than 30,000 countPlanned · Campus2026-04-14Expansion of the Microsoft deal for 2027 delivery.Nscale
Buildings3 countUnder construction · Phase · HENT-contracted buildings2026-09-02Sentia (via Inderes)

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
NscaleDeveloperNscale leads design and build; the April 2026 release says the project is solely managed by Nscale.Aker ASA; Nscale
NscaleOwnerOwns the former Aker Nscale joint venture after Aker transferred its 50% stake in March 2026.Aker ASA (via Placera); Nscale
Aker ASAOwner50% owner of the Aker Nscale joint venture from its formation until it transferred the stake to Nscale on 27 March 2026.Aker ASA; Aker ASA (via Placera)
MicrosoftTenantFive-year customer agreement of about USD 6.2bn signed in September 2025, expanded in April 2026 with more than 30,000 NVIDIA Rubin GPUs for 2027.Aker ASA; Nscale
OpenAITenantNamed as initial offtaker in July 2025; reported in April 2026 to have dropped out, with Microsoft taking the capacity.Aker ASA; AmCham Norway
NVIDIAHardware supplierAker ASA; Nscale
HENTBuilderSentia subsidiary holding civil, structural and architectural contracts for three buildings.Sentia (via Inderes)
Nordscale Operations ASOperatorOperating company owned 51% by Nscale Norway AS and 49% by Nordkraft AS.Nscale
VattenfallPower supplierPower purchase agreement covering a significant share of first-phase demand from 2027 to 2031; volume not disclosed.Datacenter Forum

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2025-07-31AnnouncedActualNscale and Aker said they were beginning preparatory work and mobilising for construction.Aker ASA
2025-09-17OtherActualNscale, Aker and Microsoft signed a binding five-year customer agreement worth about USD 6.2bn, with staged deployments from 2026.Aker ASA
2026-03-27OtherActualAker completed the transfer of its 50% stake in the Aker Nscale joint venture to Nscale as part of Nscale's Series C.Aker ASA (via Placera)
2026-04-14OtherActualMicrosoft expanded its deal with more than 30,000 Rubin GPUs for 2027; OpenAI was reported to have dropped out.Nscale; AmCham Norway
2026-05-11OtherActualUSD 790m debt financing from ABN AMRO, DNB, Eksfin, Nordea and SEB.Nscale
2026-09-02Expansion announcedActualHENT contracted for two additional buildings totalling 75 MW.Sentia (via Inderes)
2027First operationalPlannedDatacenter Forum; Sentia (via Inderes)

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
GridSecured grid capacity with entirely renewable electricity; a Vattenfall PPA covers a significant share of first-phase demand from 2027 to 2031, generation assets not disclosed.Aker ASA; Datacenter Forum
Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: Nscale (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Nscale (unknown scope) evidence
  • Owner: Nscale (unknown scope) evidence
  • Owner: Nscale (unknown scope) evidence
  • Owner: Aker ASA (unknown scope) evidence
  • Owner: Aker ASA (unknown scope) evidence
  • Tenant: Microsoft (unknown scope) evidence
  • Tenant: Microsoft (unknown scope) evidence
  • Tenant: OpenAI (unknown scope) evidence
  • Tenant: OpenAI (unknown scope) evidence
  • Hardware Supplier: NVIDIA (unknown scope) evidence
  • Hardware Supplier: NVIDIA (unknown scope) evidence
  • Builder: HENT (unknown scope) evidence
  • Operator: Nordscale Operations AS (unknown scope) evidence
  • Power Supplier: Vattenfall (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
HENT, a subsidiary of Sentia, has signed a contract for the expansion of Nscale's data center in the Narvik region evidence row
Sentia (via Inderes) · published 2026-09-02 · Company disclosure
Locator
County or district reference only · Compiled location reference · admin2 evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 55 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Nscale Kvandal Initial 25 MW EPC Current Build

Under construction last observed as of · Authoritative status update

Source and location review
Status source
Nscale and Nordkraft establish Nordscale Operations evidence row
Nscale · published 2026-07-06 · Company disclosure
Locator
Campus locator · Official source · official_cadastral_parcel_as_campus_locator evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed_for_core_preview
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 113 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
68.57525, 17.58006
Geometry licence
CC-BY-4.0
Use scope
Campus locator
Scope class
official_cadastral_parcel_as_campus_locator
Authority
Official source
Source entity
Campus
Method
kartverket_official_cadastral_parcel_polygon_as_campus_locator
Derivation
cross_source_overlay
Precision scope
Exact current Kartverket cadastral polygon for parcel 10/760, used only to locate the Nscale Kvandal campus and inherited by the 25 MW current-build project through the explicit v14 project_targets relationship. The parcel contains both officially mapped data-center buildings and is not the footprint or centroid of Data Center 1, the 25 MW EPC project, Data Center 2, or the complete campus.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The captured WFS publishes accuracy class “Grønt” but no numeric horizontal uncertainty in metres; the bridge does not convert that class into survey accuracy.

Geometry evidence
7960e467

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Nscale Kvandal Narvik AI Data Center Campus
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Aker completes investment in Nscale's Series C funding round
Archived copy
Aker ASA (via Placera)
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Milestone: Other, Owner claimsource-terms-not-recordedAker ASA (via Placera)bf7cf6c823d17117ee35149a3a4c838cbbe7c83ec47a0491d985f173a58e3d33
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Aker-Nscale JV signs multi-billion dollar AI infrastructure agreement with Microsoft
Archived copy
Aker ASA
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Tenant claimsource-terms-not-recordedAker ASAa1b8a090a9d087501e929bf293f3a13a14a5f317b0355b952379235659c01601
Factual source record; not the publisher page
HENT, a subsidiary of Sentia, has signed a contract for the expansion of Nscale's data center in the Narvik region
Archived copy
Sentia (via Inderes)
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Expansion Announced, Milestone: First Operational, Role: Buildersource-terms-not-recordedSentia (via Inderes)962b23d1839e520372b6a12573318d7ddc65124cf0404e951f49189b62539a5f
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Kartverket Matrikkelen parcel 1806-10/760
Archived copy
Kartverket / Statens kartverk
Government record
GeometryCC-BY-4.0Kartverket8d835fa69725193def708489f681c84bb12c384d71e263fca1739c3c539f997b
Retained source material; see source provenance
Microsoft contracts 30,000 GPUs from Nscale at Norway data center as OpenAI drops out of latest Stargate
Archived copy
AmCham Norway
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Tenant claimsource-terms-not-recordedAmCham Norway33078b241342527558b814816fabc2f9cb7f4221db20c1dbd0d5203be67337d5
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Nscale and Nordkraft Enter Strategic Partnership to Support Data Center Operations in Narvik
Archived copy
Nscale
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Operator claimsource-terms-not-recordedNscale20e38f6153e2242766e0b1bea080815aeaac1c4cd40c2d053cf31797d80f9866
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Nscale and Nordkraft establish Nordscale Operations
Archived copy
Nscale
Company disclosure
Physical statusall-rights-reservedNscale80083854496ae0b2952d0ccff49a3f6a85d33a9c6fa41c7caef55050a117e619
Retained source material; see source provenance
Nscale announces expanded deal with Microsoft in Norway
Archived copy
Nscale
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Metric: Accelerators, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Hardware Supplier, Owner claim, Tenant claimsource-terms-not-recordedNscalea8440c4730bce8700ed3d981458ebf724941003ef8caa5fd745bcfb957bcbe68
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Nscale Contracts Approximately 200,000 NVIDIA GB300 GPUs with Microsoft to Deliver NVIDIA AI Infrastructure Across Europe and the U.S.
Archived copy
Nscale
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Metric: Acceleratorssource-terms-not-recordedNscaled8146bc0033ab5059f052289965894f0d1baf558b75a715285ce38c09a943b73
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Nscale Secures $790 Million in Financing to Support AI Infrastructure Buildout in Norway
Archived copy
Nscale
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Othersource-terms-not-recordedNscale3facb93418523e146ced4c86bf0b60b2192e3b1d15025c6e90bf5e7f1585fb83
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Nscale signs PPA with Vattenfall for Kvandal data center Norway
Archived copy
Datacenter Forum
Trade publication
Imported: Record, Milestone: First Operational, Power Source: Grid, Role: Power Suppliersource-terms-not-recordedDatacenter Forum74945f429841180038e8da11359ba7f370818fbe483852edea9a51967ad74727
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Nscale, Aker and OpenAI to establish Stargate Norway: a 100,000 NVIDIA GPU AI gigafactory powered by renewable energy in Northern Norway
Archived copy
Aker ASA
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Accelerators, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Role: Developer, Role: Hardware Supplier, Owner claim, Tenant claimsource-terms-not-recordedAker ASA2313dfd01f3683d88d0aa41b6ecee9ad0bb009dc8aa53cccfc45ec25b5c90d65
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Nscale Kvandal Narvik AI Data Center Campus [site vcc-site-2fb799e38497b94b3ed1]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-2fb799e38497b94b3ed1/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction