Graven Hill D1 Site (Circular Road, Ambrosden, Bicester, Oxfordshire)

Permitted

United Kingdom · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

On 6 August 2026 Cherwell District Council approved reserved matters application 25/03310/REM (appearance, landscaping, layout and scale) pursuant to outline planning permission 22/01829/OUT (granted 10 October 2023) for the redevelopment of the Graven Hill D1 Site at Ambrosden, near Bicester. The council's officer report describes the approved scheme as eight data-centre units totalling 103,605 sq m GIA within the approved B8 use: Unit 1 a 15 MW building of 4,288 sq m and Units 2-8 60 MW buildings of 13,961 sq m each, with diesel standby generators and an on-site substation. With the outline permission, this issued approval is the planning consent for the data-centre development, so permitted status is supported as of 6 August 2026. No construction is established: the former depot buildings were demolished earlier under a separate permission, and the applicant has since (18 September 2026) lodged an alternative reserved matters application for ten warehouse buildings on the same site, which is undecided and does not revoke the data-centre approval. evidence

Cherwell District Council · published 2026-08-06

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 51.87392, -1.14048 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Project locator; building footprints are not mapped.

Projects (1)

Graven Hill D1 Data Centre Campus - eight data-centre units (Cherwell reserved matters 25/03310/REM)

Permitted last observed as of · Development consent

The officer report states that the reserved matters application 'seeks permission for the erection of 8 data centre units totalling 103,605 sq m gross internal area (GIA) falling within the approved B8 use class', with a large substation on the western edge of the site. Unit 1 is a 4,288 sq m GIA, 15 MW building; Units 2-8 are 13,961 sq m GIA, 60 MW buildings, each with a data hall 96 m wide and 64.5 m long, offices and diesel standby generator enclosures. The site is 32.3 ha of former MOD land south of Graven Hill and St David's Barracks; existing buildings have been demolished and the Employment Access Road to Pioneer Road and the A41 is built. It records outline permission 22/01829/OUT (B8 up to 104,008 sq m GIA) approved 10 October 2023, two pre-application discussions for an eight-data-centre scheme, and addresses third-party arguments that data centres are sui generis rather than B8, concluding that the scheme falls within the outline permission. Recommendation: approval. evidence

Cherwell District Council · published 2026-08-06

The applicant's cover letter says 'The Proposed Development comprises eight data centre buildings, with data halls (Units 1-8), each designed to accommodate computing infrastructure', each with backup power generation, a substation at the south-west of the site and associated facilities, submitted through the Planning Portal (PP-14036983) pursuant to outline permission 22/01829/OUT; it notes that the outline's phasing condition was discharged on 7 November 2025 confirming a single phase. evidence

Cherwell District Council planning register (applicant submission) · publication date not stated

Redacted planning application form for the Graven Hill D1 Site reserved matters application (Planning Portal PP-14036983): site in Bicester, postcode OX26 6HF, easting 459219 and northing 219802, described as the site at Graven Hill commonly referred to as 'D Site & EL1 Site' or the 'Employment Land', referred to in the application as the 'D1 Site'. evidence

Cherwell District Council planning register (applicant submission) · publication date not stated

Area schedule headed 'GRAVEN HILL D1 SITE - DATA CENTRE (410_S_DC_50-PL1)', dated 10 December 2025 and listed in Condition 1 of the decision: Unit 1 4,288 sq m GIA (data hall 3,463 sq m) and Units 2-8 about 13,961 sq m GIA each (data hall 12,065 sq m each). evidence

Cherwell District Council planning register (applicant submission) · publication date not stated

The applicant's statement for a second reserved matters application (26/02446/REM, received 18 September 2026) under the same outline permission says the earlier reserved matters proposal 25/03310/REM 'for a data centre scheme at the site' was approved on 6 August 2026 and 'related to the provision of 8 data centre buildings', and that the new application, for ten B8 storage-and-distribution warehouse buildings, 'is being submitted as an alternative scheme to safeguard the commercial viability of the land'. It appends the 25/03310/REM decision notice. evidence

Cherwell District Council planning register (applicant submission) · publication date not stated

Source and location review
Status source
Cherwell District Council: Notice of Decision, reserved matters application 25/03310/REM, Unit D1 Graven Hill, Circular Road, Ambrosden (approval of reserved matters, 6 August 2026) evidence row
Cherwell District Council · published 2026-08-06 · Government record
Locator
Project locator · Compiled location reference · official_planning_application_boundary_area_centroid evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 82 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
51.87392, -1.14048
Geometry licence
not stated by the service (council planning-register map data; no copyright text published)
Use scope
Project locator
Scope class
official_planning_application_boundary_area_centroid
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Campus
Method
cherwell_planning_register_mapserver_layer0_objectid_77943_25_03310_REM_polygon_area_centroid_epsg27700_shapely_2_1_1_pyproj_3_7_1_to_wgs84
Derivation
coordinate_transform
Precision scope
Area centroid of the 32.3 ha application-site polygon that Cherwell District Council's public planning register map service holds for 25/03310/REM (and, identically, for outline 22/01829/OUT), computed in British National Grid (459269.85, 219831.94) and converted to WGS84 with pyproj 3.7.1. It falls inside the boundary, 190 m from the nearest edge, within the main cleared site; it is not a building footprint or surveyed position.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The council publishes no positional accuracy for the application boundary, and the centroid represents a 32.3 ha site whose eight units extend several hundred metres around it.

Geometry evidence
a0358ced

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Graven Hill D1 Site (Circular Road, Ambrosden, Bicester, Oxfordshire)
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Application form (redacted), reserved matters 25/03310/REM, Graven Hill D1 Site (Planning Portal PP-14036983)
Archived copy
Cherwell District Council planning register (applicant submission)
Regulatory filing
Site and project identitynot statedall-rights-reservedApplicant planning submission, published by Cherwell District Council86c3cc7966492d2c65fc73d11c401a633826082bf200fb0c6a4f60df26a35f47
Retained source material; see source provenance
Cherwell District Council Public Planning Register map service: application-site polygons for 22/01829/OUT, 25/03310/REM and 26/02446/REM (Unit D1 Graven Hill, Circular Road, Ambrosden)
Archived copy
Cherwell District Council (ArcGIS map service linked from its planning register)
Government record
Geometrynot statednot stated by the service (council planning-register map data; no copyright text published)Cherwell District Councilbdc250c062816c47f3edf09b9be6da434dfbd0ceddef024f5a1746df52f19149
Retained source material; see source provenance
Cherwell District Council: delegated officer report, 25/03310/REM, Unit D1 Graven Hill, Circular Road, Ambrosden (recommendation: approval; dated 5 and 6 August 2026)
Archived copy
Cherwell District Council
Government record
Site and project identityall-rights-reservedCherwell District Council58ffaa5462e51e7a5c8cf325207865efa6cd104c95db8c8c06a4c419de569c82
Retained source material; see source provenance
Cherwell District Council: Notice of Decision, reserved matters application 25/03310/REM, Unit D1 Graven Hill, Circular Road, Ambrosden (approval of reserved matters, 6 August 2026)
Archived copy
Cherwell District Council
Government record
Development consentall-rights-reservedCherwell District Council7e77fd38b1f67e533c3f41874f63fcfaf80423020704900f809fd9e7ba08651e
Retained source material; see source provenance
Graven Hill D1 Site - Data Centre area schedule 410_S_DC_50-PL1 (10 December 2025), application 25/03310/REM
Archived copy
Cherwell District Council planning register (applicant submission)
Regulatory filing
Site and project identitynot statedall-rights-reservedApplicant planning submission, published by Cherwell District Councile99ef485140a49e709fb962f00ce7ce919d9811b502892551915917086940e99
Retained source material; see source provenance
Graven Hill reserved matters cover letter, December 2025 (H Planning Ltd for Graven Hill Purchaser Ltd), application 25/03310/REM
Archived copy
Cherwell District Council planning register (applicant submission)
Regulatory filing
Site and project identitynot statedall-rights-reservedGraven Hill Purchaser Ltd / H Planning Ltd, published by Cherwell District Councilc2a19fea1d7bf67f64818592e7463e06a63020e4f8d5c0e225efab5c1a21e35a
Retained source material; see source provenance
Reserved Matters Statement 2026 for application 26/02446/REM, Graven Hill D1 Site (H Planning Ltd for Graven Hill Purchaser Ltd, September 2026)
Archived copy
Cherwell District Council planning register (applicant submission)
Regulatory filing
Site and project identitynot statedall-rights-reservedGraven Hill Purchaser Ltd / H Planning Ltd, published by Cherwell District Council6689173cf6d8b01fae30b4a71bf2e1a3e87b095c5c3b37826f85fe57900657ee
Retained source material; see source provenance
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Graven Hill D1 Site (Circular Road, Ambrosden, Bicester, Oxfordshire) [site vcc-site-405cb45c9b94c93cd89a]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-405cb45c9b94c93cd89a/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction