AWS Zaragoza - La Cartuja Data Center Campus (sector Acampo del Marqués)
Announced
Spain · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Amazon Data Services Spain plans a new data centre, CAR, at La Cartuja Baja in the municipality of Zaragoza, on sector Acampo del Marqués within the regional AWS expansion plan. INAGA granted its environmental impact statement and integrated environmental authorisation on 10 July 2026 (published 27 July). On 8 October 2026 the regional gazette opened public information on the re-submitted reparcelling project for the sector and on a fibre link between the El Burgo de Ebro and La Cartuja data centres. The La Cartuja building project has not received the definitive plan approval that would make it executable, and no physical work is established. evidence
Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) · published 2026-10-08
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 41.57153, -0.80602 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
AWS CAR data centre, Zaragoza - La Cartuja
Announced last observed as of · Project announcement
BOA no. 143 of 27 July 2026 publicises the INAGA resolution of 10 July 2026 that issues the environmental impact statement and grants the integrated environmental authorisation for the data-storage centre named CAR, to be located in La Cartuja Baja, municipality of Zaragoza, promoted by Amazon Data Services Spain, SL (file INAGA 500301/02/2024/12133). evidence
Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) · published 2026-07-27
The resolution concerns high-voltage networks and a metering centre to supply a new data centre designated CAR, located in the paraje "Acampo del Marqués", municipality of Zaragoza, promoted by Amazon Data Services Spain, SL. Its text refers to the "La Cartuja" data centre and to the new sector Acampo del Marqués of 1,432,277 m2. evidence
Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) · published 2025-11-05
The Agreement of 22 May 2024 declares the AWS regional expansion in Zaragoza, Huesca, Villanueva de Gállego, El Burgo de Ebro and La Sotonera. It describes site ZAZ102 in the municipality of Zaragoza, about 13 km south-east of the city centre and about 145 ha, as an expansion of the El Burgo de Ebro availability zone, and its annex I titles the site "ZARAGOZA - LA CARTUJA". evidence
Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) · published 2024-06-10
The national cadastre returns parcel 50900A07200005, described as Polígono 72 Parcela 5 Acampo Marqués del, Zaragoza, at the WGS84 point -0.8060209, 41.571531, the area centroid of the published ZAZ102 delimitation polygon. evidence
Dirección General del Catastro · publication date not stated
- Companies
- Owner: Amazon Data Services Spain, SL (intended) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- BOA notice: public information on the reparcelling project of sector "Acampo del Marqués" (AWS Zaragoza - La Cartuja) and the El Burgo de Ebro - La Cartuja fibre link evidence row
Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) · published 2026-10-08 · Government record - Locator
- Campus locator · Compiled location reference · official_declaration_published_delimitation_polygon_centroid evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 19 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 41.57153, -0.80602
- Geometry licence
- public-sector-information
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- official_declaration_published_delimitation_polygon_centroid
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- boa_annex_zaz102_parcel_72_5_vertex_ring_epsg25830_inferred_area_centroid_pyproj_to_wgs84
- Derivation
- coordinate_transform
- Precision scope
- Area centroid of the 147.7 ha included area of cadastral parcel 50900A07200005 published as the delimitation of AWS site ZAZ102 (Zaragoza - La Cartuja) in 2024. It marks the declared campus area of sector Acampo del Marqués, not the CAR building footprint, substation, entrance or a surveyed construction extent; the 2026 reparcelling may adjust parcel boundaries.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The published delimitation carries no stated accuracy and its reference system is inferred (verified against Catastro). The building position within the 147.7 ha area is not published; the farthest boundary vertex is about 1280 m from the centroid.
- Geometry evidence
- 254b84ce
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOA notice: INAGA environmental impact statement and integrated environmental authorisation for the AWS data-storage centre "CAR", La Cartuja Baja, Zaragoza Archived copy | Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) Government record | Site and project identity | public-sector-information | Gobierno de Aragón, Boletín Oficial de Aragón | 34270102852a63690c5738c8f394eeea3c23e4cb02be6127b49672331ae0e106Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| BOA notice: public information on the reparcelling project of sector "Acampo del Marqués" (AWS Zaragoza - La Cartuja) and the El Burgo de Ebro - La Cartuja fibre link Archived copy | Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) Government record | Project announcement, Owner claim | public-sector-information | Gobierno de Aragón, Boletín Oficial de Aragón | c94e524f548441a000bfc917c4073704fbb197c321413c234c3962d74112c6a3Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Catastro coordinate lookup at the centroid of the ZAZ102 delimitation (polygon 72 parcel 5, Acampo Marqués del, Zaragoza) Archived copy | Dirección General del Catastro Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | public-sector-information | Dirección General del Catastro | 98e6682da7861f761460fa4b2d0b1961b02e1ca225359d1d68a7e622f3fb002aRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| INAGA resolution of 6 October 2025: environmental impact statement for the high-voltage supply of the new AWS data centre "CAR" in the paraje Acampo del Marqués, Zaragoza Archived copy | Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) Government record | Site and project identity | public-sector-information | Gobierno de Aragón, Boletín Oficial de Aragón | 722b425fef71c8c80acd953ca70aacbcd4b7dc8e14c12313bc47b90729b4a993Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| ORDEN EEI/579/2024: declaration of the "Expansión Región AWS Aragón" investment of regional and general interest (sites ZAZ080-ZAZ162) Archived copy | Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) Government record | Site and project identity | public-sector-information | Gobierno de Aragón, Boletín Oficial de Aragón | c3e3b28aa6c91dbab14e7e2579ee02d6d0a71e4d74b5e43f2d18329f38f02aa2Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| ORDEN PEJ/1072/2024 annex I: readjusted delimitation of AWS site ZAZ102 "Zaragoza - La Cartuja" with published boundary coordinates Archived copy | Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) Government record | Geometry | public-sector-information | Gobierno de Aragón, Boletín Oficial de Aragón | 0f1a44babe74079dd3dea20938d0bc078cafa57aa9942a21503d8f3309d76c64Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). AWS Zaragoza - La Cartuja Data Center Campus (sector Acampo del Marqués) [site vcc-site-4812cee9b68dbae470cd]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-4812cee9b68dbae470cd/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction