Road 1 Data Centre, 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park
Permitted
Australia · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
On 1 October 2026 the Acting Director, Industry Assessments, as delegate of the Minister for Planning and Public Spaces, granted State significant development consent SSD-80814238 to Stockland Development Pty Ltd for the Road 1 Data Centre at 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park (Part Lot 2 DP 1043041): construction and 24/7 operation of a ten-storey 49 MW (34.3 MW IT load) data centre with back-up generators, cooling plant, fuel and battery storage, part of Road 1 and Road 23, landscaping and earthworks. No construction, completion or operation is established. evidence
NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure · published 2026-10-02
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: -33.78104, 151.12515 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
Road 1 Data Centre — approved 49 MW data centre (SSD-80814238)
Permitted last observed as of · Development consent
The signed development consent (section 4.38, delegate of the Minister, dated 1 October 2026, file EF25/3967) approves application SSD-80814238 by Stockland Development Pty Ltd for the site 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park, Part Lot 2 DP 1043041: construction and 24/7 operation of a 49 MW data centre with emergency back-up generators, cooling plant, diesel and lithium-ion battery storage, associated infrastructure, construction of part Road 1 and Road 23, landscaping and earthworks. Condition A5 lapses the consent five years after the date from which it operates unless physically commenced; A6 caps total power consumption at 49 MW and back-up generation at 55 MW. evidence
NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure · published 2026-10-02
The signed assessment report describes the 8,096 m2 E3-zoned site at 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park, legally described as Part Lot 2 DP 1043041, in the north-eastern portion of the former Johnson & Johnson lot, an irregular battle-axe lot with frontages to Khartoum Road, Waterloo Road, Talavera Road and Murrell Street; the site responds to Murrell Street and the future Road 1. It lists LDA2024/0225, a Torrens title subdivision of one lot into two. The development is a ten-storey 49 MW (34.3 MW IT load) data centre with 18 x 3 MW and 1 x 1 MW back-up generators; the Macquarie Park Data Centre (SSD-10467) adjoins to the west and the Talavera Road Data Centre Campus (SSD-24299707) to the east. evidence
NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure · published 2026-10-02
Seven-sheet detail survey (survey date 4 November 2024, AHD, GDA2020 logo) of Lot 2 DP1043041, known as 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park, site area 4.076 ha (deed). The overview sheet shows a battle-axe lot: a main block bounded by Khartoum Road and Waterloo Road, with a handle running along Murrell Street to Talavera Road. evidence
Registered surveyor for Stockland Developments Pty Ltd (EIS appendix published on the NSW Planning Portal) · published 2025-08-28
The live project record lists SSD-80814238 (City of Ryde) at the Determination stage with folders up to Determination (3) and no post-approval documents. It publishes a named GeoJSON point (151.123, -33.781), rounded to three decimals; it falls on the road reserve 16 m outside the parent lots at their western corner and is not used. evidence
NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure · publication date not stated
Named road centrelines in the envelope 151.121,-33.7835 to 151.1285,-33.7785, used to confirm that Lots 20 and 21 DP1319168 together front Khartoum Road, Waterloo Road, Talavera Road and Murrell Street (distances listed with the DP1319168 source). evidence
NSW Spatial Services (NSW_Land_Parcel_Property_Theme public feature service) · publication date not stated
Source and location review
- Status source
- NSW notice of decision: Road 1 Data Centre (SSD-80814238), consent granted 1 October 2026 evidence row
NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure · published 2026-10-02 · Government record - Locator
- Campus locator · Compiled location reference · official_cadastral_parent_lot_union_centroid_parent_property_marker evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 26 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- -33.78104, 151.12515
- Geometry licence
- no-open-license-asserted
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- official_cadastral_parent_lot_union_centroid_parent_property_marker
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- planar_centroid_of_union_of_official_nsw_cadastre_lots_20_and_21_DP1319168_in_mga56_gda2020_verified_inside
- Derivation
- direct_geometry
- Precision scope
- Parent-property marker at the centroid of the 4.12 ha former Lot 2 DP1043041, now Lots 20 and 21 DP1319168. The consented 8,096 m2 site occupies the lot's north-eastern portion fronting Murrell Street and future Road 1; the marker does not locate the building, the site boundary, the entrance or the construction extent.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The cadastral service publishes no positional accuracy; the point is a derived interior anchor of a 4.12 ha battle-axe lot (farthest vertex 249 m) and the 8,096 m2 site's position within its north-eastern portion is not georeferenced; the link from Lot 2 DP1043041 to DP1319168 rests on the shape, area and four-street frontage match and the recorded one-into-two subdivision, not on a published plan-history record.
- Geometry evidence
- 95c6784a
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSW cadastre: Lots 20 and 21 DP1319168 (former Lot 2 DP1043041), 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park Archived copy | NSW Spatial Services (NSW_Land_Parcel_Property_Theme public feature service) Government record | Geometry | not stated | no-open-license-asserted | NSW Spatial Services, Department of Customer Service | 429462498ab7be40455e5d9242827e7536749443faa660053eb8ebec2fc00d83Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| NSW Department assessment report: Road 1 Data Centre (SSD-80814238) Archived copy | NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure Government record | Site and project identity | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of New South Wales and Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure 2026 | 312743adcb30709c2c71238f5695719445fa69a5e2dd30e96bebff0c2bd588d9Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| NSW development consent instrument SSD-80814238: Road 1 Data Centre, 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park Archived copy | NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure Government record | Site and project identity | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of New South Wales and Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure 2026 | 92b96af98576648c308f78feaf69c448456ca674587765e4cb32862cea0efcbaRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| NSW notice of decision: Road 1 Data Centre (SSD-80814238), consent granted 1 October 2026 Archived copy | NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure Government record | Development consent | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of New South Wales and Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure 2026 | 7e5653dd94c253b90d08fe41208192d65a1fc00f1f3f156f72c96a2c70ca8d1eRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| NSW Planning Portal project record: Road 1 Data Centre (SSD-80814238) Archived copy | NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of New South Wales and Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure 2026 | a4089765b28a056ab6b5b22b66402f1a343241d54fdf46521baaf7c7dbe5a6a6Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| NSW road centrelines around 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park Archived copy | NSW Spatial Services (NSW_Land_Parcel_Property_Theme public feature service) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | no-open-license-asserted | NSW Spatial Services, Department of Customer Service | a14fc74a1ba3a4963f0bcdd800172e2c704ec6a0d78ca593e81ef3c29a288a59Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| SSD-80814238 EIS Appendix EE: plan of detail and levels over Lot 2 in DP1043041, 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park Archived copy | Registered surveyor for Stockland Developments Pty Ltd (EIS appendix published on the NSW Planning Portal) Regulatory filing | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | Stockland Developments Pty Ltd, via the NSW Planning Portal | bdaa1735aafb2851be2a57f4bd3e9ffefceb139c22a19c5187898453318a608bRetained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Road 1 Data Centre, 1-5 Khartoum Road, Macquarie Park [site vcc-site-58a51785d405efc9c68d]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-58a51785d405efc9c68d/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction