Box2Bit Epilon data center campus (Épila)

Announced

Spain · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

AI-focused data center campus proposed by the Spanish company Box2Bit in Épila, Zaragoza, beside the A-2 motorway. On 28 January 2026 the Aragón government declared it an investment of regional and general interest, citing EUR 3.9 billion in total: EUR 1.125 billion for a first phase due in 2029 and EUR 2.775 billion for later phases. The first phase covers about 33 hectares, two data buildings and 150 MW with guaranteed grid access; later phases could take the site to about 100 hectares and 520 MW, but the additional power is not yet secured. The move followed the exclusion of Box2Bit's earlier Cariñena site from national grid planning.

Source record as of 2026-06-15 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 41.60000, -1.28300 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Box2Bit Epilon data center campus (Épila)

Announced last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Épila, Zaragoza, Aragón, ES. Town coordinates from the Épila Wikipedia article. Aragón Digital says the site has two accesses from the A-2 near the bonÀrea development; no parcel boundary is published. Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital; Wikipedia

Use: Ai unspecified

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Investment3,900,000,000 EURAnnounced · Campus2026-01-28Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital; elDiario.es; Forbes España
Investment1,125,000,000 EURAnnounced · Phase · First phase2026-01-28Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital
Investment2,775,000,000 EURAnnounced · Phase · Later phases2026-01-28Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital
Power capacity150 MWContracted · Phase · Grid connection · First phase2026-01-28Aragón Digital says the first phase has guaranteed grid access for 150 MW; the government spokesperson said the first phase is secured and the second is still pending.Aragón Digital; Forbes España
Power capacityup to 520 MWPlanned · Campus · Unspecified2026-01-28Capacity the later phases could reach; the additional supply has not been secured.Aragón Digital; Forbes España
Land areaabout 33 hectaresPlanned · Phase · First phase2026-01-28Aragón Digital
Land areaabout 100 hectaresPlanned · Campus2026-01-28Expansion area available if needed.Aragón Digital
Floor area66,100 sq_mPlanned · Phase · First phase2026-01-28Aragón Digital
Floor areaup to 227,300 sq_mPlanned · Campus2026-01-28Floor area once all phases are complete.Aragón Digital
Buildings2 countPlanned · Phase · First phase2026-01-28Data processing buildings; the first phase also includes an access-control building.Aragón Digital
Jobs construction550 countPlanned · Phase · First phase2026-01-28Direct construction jobs; the government adds 1,000 indirect jobs. The regional president cited about 1,500 construction jobs in total.Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital; elDiario.es
Jobs permanent63 countPlanned · Phase · First phase2026-01-28Direct operating jobs; the government adds 200 indirect jobs.Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
Box2BitDeveloperAragón Digital describes the promoter as an independent Spanish company within a group whose parent is Quantum Global Assets.Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital; elDiario.es
Gobierno de AragónGovernmentDeclared the project an investment of regional interest with general interest of Aragón in January 2026.Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2026-01-28AnnouncedActualThe Aragón Governing Council approved the regional-interest declaration the same day the regional president announced the investment.Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); elDiario.es
2029First operationalPlannedTarget for completing the first phase.Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy); Aragón Digital; Forbes España

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
GridHoy Aragón says supply is guaranteed through the Calatorao substation, where Red Eléctrica's expansion was in its final phase; Aragón Digital says the campus can run on up to 100% renewable energy.Aragón Digital; Hoy Aragón

Hoy Aragón reports that Box2Bit's earlier EUR 3.4 billion Cariñena plan was left out of Red Eléctrica's 2025-2030 grid planning; the government spokesperson called Épila complementary to Cariñena (Aragón Digital), while elDiario.es said the company had given Cariñena up. Hoy Aragón says the declaration lets the campus be processed through a PIGA, that it could not advance with certainty before the end of 2027, and that it lies a few hundred metres from Blackstone's planned site (record blackstone-calatorao). Forbes España (June 2026) repeats the EUR 3.9 billion, 150 MW, 520 MW and 2029 figures without naming the town; status_as_of uses that report.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: Box2Bit (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Box2Bit (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Box2Bit (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Gobierno de Aragón (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Gobierno de Aragón (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
Respaldo del Gobierno de Aragón al proyecto de Box2Bit que creará más de 1.800 puestos de trabajo en Épila evidence row
Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy) · published 2026-01-28 · Government record
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 134 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
41.60000, -1.28300
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Town coordinates from the Épila Wikipedia article. Aragón Digital says the site has two accesses from the A-2 near the bonÀrea development; no parcel boundary is published.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
7e303358

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Box2Bit Epilon data center campus (Épila)
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
El motivo real por el que Box2Bit abandona Cariñena y se va a Épila con 3.900 millones
Archived copy
Hoy Aragón
News
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Power Source: Gridsource-terms-not-recordedHoy Aragón5532e579c5c0fe48f615e84a8cb9032dbb59f0270af89c1fbd07ff0c577bedd1
Factual source record; not the publisher page
La DGA precisa los detalles del centro de datos de Box2Bit en Épila: primera fase de 1.125 millones
Archived copy
Aragón Digital
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: First Operational, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedAragón Digital73fb2c6b6a6be77a0c6c5386d272d0e788b66aa3da856b6c90d814b16934afe2
Factual source record; not the publisher page
La empresa Box2Bit invertirá 3.900 millones de euros en un centro de datos en Épila tras renunciar al de Cariñena
Archived copy
elDiario.es
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Milestone: Announced, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedelDiario.es1817884691deb4b7b2e0743193759d3c89127e758f766bb6952713f4f4147ca1
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Morgan Stanley eleva un 55% su previsión de capacidad de centros de datos en España, impulsada por Aragón
Archived copy
Forbes España
News
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: First Operationalsource-terms-not-recordedForbes España2c3ff03774d6557be3732345e37ed88869c47bcadc1d8c7912703c306ac61e98
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Respaldo del Gobierno de Aragón al proyecto de Box2Bit que creará más de 1.800 puestos de trabajo en Épila
Archived copy
Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy)
Government record
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: First Operational, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedGobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy)49c19854c752279dab8cef48eae22c1bd06191459f99ef02ea8ff77fc202db8a
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Épila
Archived copy
Wikipedia
Other
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Recordnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedWikipediac2baf41302fe2462742c513c734ea345061fb0fb52e4d18e588fb3e9d0326ca6
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Box2Bit Epilon data center campus (Épila) [site vcc-site-60428cb258a38898ef68]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-60428cb258a38898ef68/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction