Red Admiral data centre campus, Rochfortbridge
Proposed
Ireland · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Proposed six-unit data centre campus with a decentralised energy resource and a solar farm on a 600-acre site near Rochfortbridge, County Westmeath, Ireland. The applicant is Red Admiral DC Ltd, and the Westmeath Examiner says the development is part of the Lumcloon Energy Group's wider plans; it reports the project at EUR 1 billion. Westmeath County Council granted a ten-year permission with 32 conditions in early June 2026 despite more than 50 submissions. Third-party appeals were lodged with An Coimisiún Pleanála, with a decision due by 27 October 2026. The energy element needs an EPA industrial emissions licence.
Source record as of 2026-10-09 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 53.41600, -7.29600 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.
Projects (1)
Red Admiral data centre campus, Rochfortbridge
Proposed last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Rochfortbridge, County Westmeath, IE. Rochfortbridge village centroid from its Wikipedia article. The application covers several townlands around Rochfortbridge (Gneevebane, Oldtown, Farthingstown, Castlelost and Kiltotan, and Collinstown), but no cited source gives site coordinates. An Coimisiún Pleanála; Westmeath Examiner; Wikipedia
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investment | 1,000,000,000 EUR | Reported · Campus | 2026-07-03 | Reported as the value of the Rochfortbridge data centre development. | Westmeath Examiner |
| Land area | 600 acres | Reported · Campus | 2026-07-03 | Site including the solar farm, across several townlands. | Westmeath Examiner |
| Buildings | 6 count | Planned · Campus | 2026-07-03 | Six data centre units with data halls about 72 feet high. | Westmeath Examiner |
| Jobs permanent | about 760 count | Planned · Campus | 2026-07-03 | Direct permanent jobs; about 1,000 indirect jobs were also cited for the five-year construction phase. | Westmeath Examiner |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Red Admiral DC Limited | Developer | Planning applicant. | An Coimisiún Pleanála; Westmeath Examiner |
| Lumcloon Energy Group | Developer | The Westmeath Examiner says the development forms part of the group's wider plans; the corporate link to Red Admiral DC Limited is not stated. | Westmeath Examiner |
| Westmeath County Council | Government | Planning authority that granted permission in June 2026. | An Coimisiún Pleanála; Westmeath Examiner |
| An Coimisiún Pleanála | Government | Deciding third-party appeals against the permission. | An Coimisiún Pleanála; Westmeath Examiner |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-06 | Permit approved | Actual | Westmeath County Council granted ten-year permission subject to 32 conditions (council reference 2560344). | Westmeath Examiner; An Coimisiún Pleanála |
| 2026-06-23 | Other | Actual | Third-party appeals lodged with An Coimisiún Pleanála (case PL25M.501596); the case page gives 23 June 2026 as the lodged date. The Westmeath Examiner reports that one appeal was ruled invalid over its fee on 17 June. | An Coimisiún Pleanála; Westmeath Examiner |
| 2026-10-27 | Other | Planned | Date by which An Coimisiún Pleanála is due to decide the appeals. | An Coimisiún Pleanála; Westmeath Examiner |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Other | The application includes a decentralised energy resource whose operation requires an EPA industrial emissions licence; its fuel is not stated in the sources opened. | An Coimisiún Pleanála; Westmeath Examiner |
| Solar | A solar farm is part of the development. | Westmeath Examiner |
Status date is the access date: the appeal board's undated case page still showed the appeal as lodged and undecided on 2026-10-09. No MW figure was found in the sources opened. Objectors argued the campus would burden the national grid, questioned its climate impact and visual effect, and said no emissions statement was provided. Separately, Lumcloon plans to seek changes to an approved energy storage facility to add a reserve gas-fired generator; the Westmeath Examiner does not say whether that facility is part of this campus.
Sources for these details
- Case reference PL25M.501596 — An Coimisiún Pleanála; publication date not stated
- Data centre appeals to An Coimisiún Pleanála — Westmeath Examiner; 2026-07-03
- Rochfortbridge — Wikipedia; publication date not stated
- Companies
- Developer: Red Admiral DC Limited (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Red Admiral DC Limited (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Lumcloon Energy Group (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Westmeath County Council (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Westmeath County Council (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: An Coimisiún Pleanála (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: An Coimisiún Pleanála (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- Case reference PL25M.501596 evidence row
An Coimisiún Pleanála · publication date not stated · Regulatory filing - Locator
- Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 18 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 53.41600, -7.29600
- Geometry licence
- source-terms-not-recorded
- Use scope
- Locality reference only
- Scope class
- locality
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Project
- Method
- imported_reference_point
- Derivation
- imported_reference_point
- Precision scope
- Rochfortbridge village centroid from its Wikipedia article. The application covers several townlands around Rochfortbridge (Gneevebane, Oldtown, Farthingstown, Castlelost and Kiltotan, and Collinstown), but no cited source gives site coordinates.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.
- Geometry evidence
- 8d2bc043
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Case reference PL25M.501596 Archived copy | An Coimisiún Pleanála Regulatory filing | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Permit Approved, Power Source: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Government | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | An Coimisiún Pleanála | 9a16423669f156675da9bfc57c8a6d2f0932ee59c66e69a972f666c4f25f7dddFactual source record; not the publisher page | |
| Data centre appeals to An Coimisiún Pleanála Archived copy | Westmeath Examiner News | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Permit Approved, Power Source: Other, Power Source: Solar, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | Westmeath Examiner | 250f774d62ba0ab55fa6163b9776ce979afe3f46460b9ea97c46b528ab4573f3Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Rochfortbridge Archived copy | Wikipedia Other | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | Wikipedia | 11a9e89e0de982c1e30f0267b93671ce244063d3e72519d7328343800a0d8673Factual source record; not the publisher page |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Red Admiral data centre campus, Rochfortbridge [site vcc-site-a2932dfc186e6f2538c8]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-a2932dfc186e6f2538c8/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction