Art Data Centres Ennis campus
Announced
Ireland · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Six-hall, 200 MW data center campus planned by Art Data Centres on about 145 acres beside the Tulla Road on the eastern edge of Ennis, County Clare, near junction 13 of the M18. The national planning board granted permission in April 2024, and in March 2026 the High Court dismissed the last judicial review challenges after years of litigation. Investment is now put at more than EUR 1.6 billion over three phases. Phase 1, with a substation and two data halls, is due for commissioning by the end of 2028; enabling works start with diverting overhead power lines.
Source record as of 2026-03-25 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 52.84630, -8.98070 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.
Projects (1)
Art Data Centres Ennis campus
Announced last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Ennis, County Clare, IE. Ennis town centroid from its Wikipedia article. Clare FM places the site beside the Tulla Road on the town's eastern side near M18 junction 13, but no cited source gives coordinates. Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources; Wikipedia
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power capacity | 200 MW | Planned · Campus · Unspecified | 2026-03-13 | Industrial Info describes six data halls of slightly more than 33 MW each. | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources; BeBeez International (republishing DCD) |
| Investment | more than 1,600,000,000 EUR | Reported · Campus | 2026-03-13 | Across three phases. | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources |
| Investment | about 1,200,000,000 EUR | Reported · Campus | 2025-03-21 | Earlier reported figure, superseded by the 2026 estimate of more than EUR 1.6 billion. | BeBeez International (republishing DCD) |
| Land area | about 145 acres | Planned · Campus | 2026-03-13 | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources; BeBeez International (republishing DCD) | |
| Floor area | about 200,000 sq_ft | Planned · Phase · Each of six data halls | 2025-03-21 | Per-hall figure from the 2025 report; not summed into a campus total. | BeBeez International (republishing DCD) |
| Buildings | 6 count | Planned · Campus | 2026-03-13 | Six data halls built in three phases of two buildings each. | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources; BeBeez International (republishing DCD) |
| Jobs construction | up to 1,200 count | Planned · Campus | 2026-03-13 | Clare FM | |
| Jobs permanent | up to 1,000 count | Planned · Campus | 2026-03-13 | Developer figure reported by Clare FM. | Clare FM |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Art Data Centres | Developer | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources; BeBeez International (republishing DCD) | |
| An Bord Pleanála (now An Coimisiún Pleanála) | Government | Granted planning permission in April 2024. | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources; BeBeez International (republishing DCD) |
| EirGrid | Utility | Working with the developer on diverting overhead power lines as the first enabling works. | Clare FM |
| ESB Networks | Utility | Working with the developer on diverting overhead power lines as the first enabling works. | Clare FM |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-04 | Permit approved | Actual | Planning permission from An Bord Pleanála; the 2025 report says permission was first granted in 2022. | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources; BeBeez International (republishing DCD) |
| 2025-03 | Other | Actual | The court found the judicial review grounds, including those concerning Leisler's bat, lacked merit; the remaining grounds were to be relisted later. | BeBeez International (republishing DCD); Clare FM |
| 2026-03 | Other | Actual | High Court dismissed the remaining judicial review challenges, ending almost six years of legal challenges and clearing the way for enabling works. | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources |
| 2028 | First operational | Planned | Phase 1 (substation, data halls 2 and 3 and site works) due for completion and commissioning by the end of 2028; the 2025 report had targeted the first halls by the end of 2027. | Clare FM; Industrial Info Resources |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Grid | An 83 MVA connection to the Ennis substation, per Industrial Info. | Industrial Info Resources |
| Wind | Industrial Info says an off-grid substation would be supplied by wind, solar and biogas. | Industrial Info Resources |
| Solar | Solar is one of the sources Industrial Info lists for the off-grid substation. | Industrial Info Resources |
| Other | Biogas is one of the sources Industrial Info lists for the off-grid substation. | Industrial Info Resources |
No construction start had been reported by the sources opened; Clare FM says enabling works can now begin. Investment figures have risen across reports (EUR 1.2 billion in 2025, more than EUR 1.6 billion in 2026). Clare FM and Industrial Info give the campus as 145 acres or 1.3 million sq ft, presenting the two as equivalent although 145 acres is about 6.3 million sq ft; because neither says what the 1.3 million sq ft measures, it is not recorded as floor area. Industrial Info's six halls of slightly more than 33 MW each are not summed. The judicial review was brought by Friends of the Irish Environment, Futureproof Clare and several individuals.
Sources for these details
- High Court Clears Way For Construction Of €1.6bn Ennis Data Centre Project — Clare FM; 2026-03-13 · Archived source
- Court Clears Way for Major Irish Data Center — Industrial Info Resources; 2026-03-25
- Art Data Centres Ennis campus judicial review gets dismissed — BeBeez International (republishing DCD); 2025-03-21
- Ennis — Wikipedia; publication date not stated
- Companies
- Developer: Art Data Centres (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Art Data Centres (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Art Data Centres (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: An Bord Pleanála (now An Coimisiún Pleanála) (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: An Bord Pleanála (now An Coimisiún Pleanála) (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: An Bord Pleanála (now An Coimisiún Pleanála) (unknown scope) evidence
- Utility: EirGrid (unknown scope) evidence
- Utility: ESB Networks (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- High Court Clears Way For Construction Of €1.6bn Ennis Data Centre Project evidence row
Clare FM · published 2026-03-13 · News - Locator
- Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 216 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 52.84630, -8.98070
- Geometry licence
- source-terms-not-recorded
- Use scope
- Locality reference only
- Scope class
- locality
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Project
- Method
- imported_reference_point
- Derivation
- imported_reference_point
- Precision scope
- Ennis town centroid from its Wikipedia article. Clare FM places the site beside the Tulla Road on the town's eastern side near M18 junction 13, but no cited source gives coordinates.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.
- Geometry evidence
- 80ea5db6
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Art Data Centres Ennis campus judicial review gets dismissed Archived copy | BeBeez International (republishing DCD) Trade publication | Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Permit Approved, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | BeBeez International (republishing DCD) | a4d67f88673082b782653a5fd4158527187bd9cc5673cfcfaf407f0411c696fbFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Court Clears Way for Major Irish Data Center Archived copy | Industrial Info Resources Trade publication | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: First Operational, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Permit Approved, Power Source: Grid, Power Source: Other, Power Source: Solar, Power Source: Wind, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | Industrial Info Resources | 64d3066fc1a42230f1e19e9b526e938b31c29272653d7652c39cc64f28bbebcfFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Ennis Archived copy | Wikipedia Other | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | Wikipedia | bd917b8d03b6a0c75d6c751f1a7ee1112e15f7be8bca684abadbe6fd61df3a84Factual source record; not the publisher page | |
| High Court Clears Way For Construction Of €1.6bn Ennis Data Centre Project Archived copy | Clare FM News | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: First Operational, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Permit Approved, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Role: Utility | source-terms-not-recorded | Clare FM | 56d6f8e3e69d3b346da291ad650d1b74fb2015503911a3bdbf0e71e1d4ceb59eFactual source record; not the publisher page |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Art Data Centres Ennis campus [site vcc-site-a94efdae4ca44082dd5e]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-a94efdae4ca44082dd5e/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction