DataVita Lanarkshire AI Growth Zone campus (Chapelhall)
Under construction
United Kingdom · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
DataVita, part of HFD Group, is expanding its data centre campus at Chapelhall near Airdrie, North Lanarkshire, which the UK government named an AI Growth Zone in January 2026, Scotland's first, with GBP 8.2bn of private investment and plans for more than 500 MW of on-site power generation within four years. CoreWeave partnered with DataVita on a GBP 1.5bn AI deployment in 2025 and has contracted the full capacity of an expanded DV1 and a new DV3 building for 15 years. DV3 was under construction in 2026, backed by a roughly GBP 300m debt facility, and in September 2026 DataVita said it had applied for planning permission in principle for a further building, DV4.
Source record as of 2026-09-02 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 55.83500, -3.94440 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Approximate site reference; the exact facility position is unverified.
Projects (1)
DataVita Lanarkshire AI Growth Zone campus (Chapelhall)
Under construction last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Chapelhall, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, GB. The UK government places the site in Airdrie; DataVita locates the DV4 expansion at Lancaster Avenue, Chapelhall, next to its existing DV1 and DV3. Coordinates are an approximate point near Lancaster Avenue; individual building plots were not identified. UK Government; DataVita
Use: Ai unspecified
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power capacity | more than 500 MW | Planned · Campus · Onsite generation | 2026-01-29 | UK government says DataVita plans more than 500 MW of on-site power generation within four years; no IT load figure is given. | UK Government |
| Investment | 8,200,000,000 GBP | Announced · Campus | 2026-01-29 | Private investment attached to the AI Growth Zone designation. | UK Government; DataVita |
| Investment | 1,500,000,000 GBP | Announced · Phase · CoreWeave AI deployment | 2025-09-17 | Investment in AI infrastructure at the Lanarkshire campus announced by DataVita with CoreWeave; the release does not say who provides the funds. | DataVita |
| Investment | 849,600,000 GBP | Announced · Phase · DV4 | 2026-09-02 | Construction investment over two years cited in the DV4 planning announcement. | DataVita |
| Jobs construction | about 600 count | Planned · Phase · DV1 expansion and DV3 | 2026-08-18 | DataVita | |
| Jobs permanent | about 100 count | Planned · Phase · DV1 expansion and DV3 | 2026-08-18 | DataVita | |
| Jobs permanent | 120 count | Planned · Phase · DV4 | 2026-09-02 | Permanent skilled roles on site, including apprenticeships. | DataVita |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| DataVita | Developer | UK Government; DataVita; DataVita | |
| DataVita | Owner | DataVita says it built, owns and runs DV1 at Chapelhall; DataVita is part of HFD Group. | DataVita |
| DataVita | Operator | DataVita says it has run the Chapelhall campus for more than ten years. | DataVita |
| CoreWeave | Tenant | Full capacity of the DV1 expansion and DV3 contracted to CoreWeave under a 15-year agreement. | DataVita; DataVita |
| National Wealth Fund | Investor | Provided a GBP 202m guarantee supporting a roughly GBP 300m debt facility from ING, ABN AMRO, Santander, the Scottish National Investment Bank and Siemens Financial Services. | DataVita |
| UK Government | Government | Designated the site an AI Growth Zone, conditional on delivery against agreed milestones. | UK Government |
| North Lanarkshire Council | Government | Planning authority for the DV4 application. | DataVita |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-09-17 | Announced | Actual | DataVita and CoreWeave announced a GBP 1.5bn renewable-powered AI infrastructure deployment at the Lanarkshire campus. | DataVita |
| 2026-01-29 | Other | Actual | UK government named the North Lanarkshire site an AI Growth Zone. | UK Government |
| 2026-08-18 | Other | Actual | DataVita secured a roughly GBP 300m debt facility to expand DV1 and build DV3; its managing director said work was well advanced on site. | DataVita |
| 2026 | Other | Planned | DataVita's managing director said the first of the two funded facilities would complete in 2026; DV1 itself has operated for more than a decade. | DataVita |
| 2026-09-02 | Other | Actual | DataVita announced it had submitted an application for planning permission in principle for DV4 to North Lanarkshire Council. | DataVita |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Other | On-site renewable generation planned, more than 500 MW within four years per the UK government; the technology mix is not specified, though nearby land is described as suitable for solar and wind. | UK Government |
Sources for these details
- More than 3,400 jobs and targeted support for local communities to help tackle the cost of living as Lanarkshire named latest AI Growth Zone — UK Government; 2026-01-29 · Archived source
- Lanarkshire AI Growth Zone — DataVita; publication date not stated · Archived source
- DataVita, CoreWeave launch £1.5bn renewable AI infrastructure in Scotland — DataVita; 2025-09-17 · Archived source
- DataVita secures £300 million for data centre rollout in Scotland's AI Growth Zone, with backing from National Wealth Fund and major lenders — DataVita; 2026-08-18
- DataVita submits plans for DV4, its third data centre at Chapelhall — DataVita; 2026-09-02 · Archived source
- Companies
- Developer: DataVita (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: DataVita (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: DataVita (unknown scope) evidence
- Owner: DataVita (unknown scope) evidence
- Operator: DataVita (unknown scope) evidence
- Tenant: CoreWeave (unknown scope) evidence
- Tenant: CoreWeave (unknown scope) evidence
- Investor: National Wealth Fund (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: UK Government (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: North Lanarkshire Council (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- DataVita secures £300 million for data centre rollout in Scotland's AI Growth Zone, with backing from National Wealth Fund and major lenders evidence row
DataVita · published 2026-08-18 · Company disclosure - Locator
- Approximate site reference · Compiled location reference · approximate_site evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 55 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 55.83500, -3.94440
- Geometry licence
- source-terms-not-recorded
- Use scope
- Approximate site reference
- Scope class
- approximate_site
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Project
- Method
- imported_reference_point
- Derivation
- imported_reference_point
- Precision scope
- The UK government places the site in Airdrie; DataVita locates the DV4 expansion at Lancaster Avenue, Chapelhall, next to its existing DV1 and DV3. Coordinates are an approximate point near Lancaster Avenue; individual building plots were not identified.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.
- Geometry evidence
- 63c621be
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DataVita secures £300 million for data centre rollout in Scotland's AI Growth Zone, with backing from National Wealth Fund and major lenders Archived copy | DataVita Company disclosure | Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Milestone: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Investor, Tenant claim | source-terms-not-recorded | DataVita | 6d7d4cc9061019d48e28e49b7c1a33133105bfc33887a53d7ae3ea42738d9700Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| DataVita submits plans for DV4, its third data centre at Chapelhall Archived copy | DataVita Company disclosure | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Milestone: Other, Role: Government, Operator claim, Owner claim | source-terms-not-recorded | DataVita | 0f9b576c7855c930cff3b385ec22a2e93646fb0acee0becd5e96e4e09a8b8cf6Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| DataVita, CoreWeave launch £1.5bn renewable AI infrastructure in Scotland Archived copy | DataVita Company disclosure | Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Announced, Tenant claim | source-terms-not-recorded | DataVita | be2c3d73ceb62b246e1d2288c2bbf6fd217619fda86b14bd0668e55d4b206b0cFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Lanarkshire AI Growth Zone Archived copy | DataVita Company disclosure | Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Role: Developer | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | DataVita | 7b89689cb9558f0a7e853cec6fce9312778caf4e1eed0bdfbffd030febfba408Factual source record; not the publisher page | |
| More than 3,400 jobs and targeted support for local communities to help tackle the cost of living as Lanarkshire named latest AI Growth Zone Archived copy | UK Government Government record | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | UK Government | 6c937e38ae60078caa838492f04a7b85d4c836800eb3e9fb9e3e5e76e6516decFactual source record; not the publisher page |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). DataVita Lanarkshire AI Growth Zone campus (Chapelhall) [site vcc-site-ad58c35abfe93060c2c2]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-ad58c35abfe93060c2c2/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction