Land West of Ipswich Road, Keswick, Norfolk (South Norfolk)

Announced

United Kingdom · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

South Norfolk Council's statutory planning notice dated 15 October 2026 (Eastern Daily Press) publicises full application 2026/2957, validated in the week ending 9 October 2026, for the construction of a data centre (Use Class B8) with ancillary offices, associated infrastructure, substations, backup generators, access, parking, landscaping and sustainable drainage on land west of Ipswich Road, Keswick, as a major development. This dated government record identifies the proposed data-centre development, so it is announced as of 15 October 2026. The application is undecided; no consent, site work or construction is asserted, and no applicant, operator or capacity is named in the council's records. evidence

South Norfolk Council (statutory planning notice published in the Eastern Daily Press and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) · published 2026-10-15

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 52.59276, 1.27128 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Project locator; building footprints are not mapped.

Projects (1)

Keswick data centre, Ipswich Road - proposed data centre with substations and backup generators (South Norfolk 2026/2957)

Announced last observed as of · Project announcement

The council's latest weekly list of decisions (week ending 23 October 2026, decisions dated up to 21 October 2026) contains no decision on application 2026/2957; neither do the lists for the weeks ending 2, 9 and 16 October 2026 (local copies in the same capture folder), and no data-centre decision appears in any of them. evidence

South Norfolk Council · publication date not stated

Source and location review
Status source
South Norfolk Council planning applications notice dated 15 October 2026 (Eastern Daily Press), including 2026/2957: construction of a data centre, Land West of Ipswich Road, Keswick evidence row
South Norfolk Council (statutory planning notice published in the Eastern Daily Press and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) · published 2026-10-15 · Government record
Locator
Project locator · Compiled location reference · council_published_planning_application_site_grid_reference evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 12 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
52.59276, 1.27128
Geometry licence
not stated (public council planning list)
Use scope
Project locator
Scope class
council_published_planning_application_site_grid_reference
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Campus
Method
south_norfolk_council_weekly_list_we_2026_10_09_application_2026_2957_grid_ref_621669_304466_epsg27700_pyproj_3_7_1_to_wgs84
Derivation
coordinate_transform
Precision scope
Grid reference (British National Grid E 621669, N 304466) that South Norfolk Council publishes for application 2026/2957 in its weekly list of validated applications, converted to WGS84 with pyproj 3.7.1. It is the council's map point for the application site, not a red-line boundary, building footprint or surveyed position.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The council does not state how the grid reference was placed or which part of the site it marks, and the application boundary was not obtained; the proposed data centre, substations and parking are likely to extend a few hundred metres around the point within the fields west of Ipswich Road.

Geometry evidence
2194592c

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Land West of Ipswich Road, Keswick, Norfolk (South Norfolk)
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
South Norfolk Council planning applications notice dated 15 October 2026 (Eastern Daily Press), including 2026/2957: construction of a data centre, Land West of Ipswich Road, Keswick
Archived copy
South Norfolk Council (statutory planning notice published in the Eastern Daily Press and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal)
Government record
Project announcementall-rights-reserved (statutory notice reproduced on the Public Notice Portal)South Norfolk Council; Public Notice Portal (News Media Association)026dffa586c8fe4dc6fa9284cc4abcefdc89af8a3ce1a02bb0e5e241e6718112
Retained source material; see source provenance
South Norfolk Council weekly list of planning applications validated during the week ending 9 October 2026 (includes 2026/2957, Land West Of Ipswich Road, Keswick, grid reference 621669 304466)
Archived copy
South Norfolk Council
Government record
Geometrynot statednot stated (public council planning list)South Norfolk Council2ffb31b594009db45f69414a7b19240a18cd514023a78c337205c9ce1159bff0
Retained source material; see source provenance
South Norfolk Council weekly list of planning decisions made during the week ending 23 October 2026
Archived copy
South Norfolk Council
Government record
Site and project identitynot statednot stated (public council planning list)South Norfolk Councilce04abeff2d65b79133fe460c42367c4ccaeec0d61147800cf16ca75eb180b76
Retained source material; see source provenance
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Land West of Ipswich Road, Keswick, Norfolk (South Norfolk) [site vcc-site-b02a2d3dd450716a96e3]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-b02a2d3dd450716a96e3/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction