Green Mountain LON-East data centre campus (Romford North Data Centre), King George Close, Romford (Havering)
Completed
United Kingdom · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Green Mountain's release dated 1 September 2026 announces a customer agreement for 14 MW at its LON-East campus in Romford, East London, under which a neocloud operator will occupy 'the recently delivered 14 MW of AI-ready capacity'. This dated operator disclosure supports completed status, as of 1 September 2026, for the 14 MW expansion: in Green Mountain's December 2023 description, six data halls built in two 7 MW phases inside the existing building. Completion keeps that scope. The customer's occupation is future, so operation of the new capacity is not asserted, and the campus's 37 MW planned total, its legacy 7 MW operation and the planned further building across King George Close are outside this project. evidence
Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS / Green Mountain DC UK Limited) · published 2026-09-01
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 51.58702, 0.16767 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
Green Mountain LON-East (Romford) - 14 MW AI-ready data-hall expansion inside the existing building (delivered)
Completed last observed as of · Authoritative status update
The Environment Agency's general compliance visit to 'Romford North Data Centre' (permit FP3630EU, operator and permit holder Green Mountain DC UK Limited) on 29 April 2026 recorded no breaches. It notes the permit variation EPR/FP3630EU/V002 (received 19 February 2026) for 'Phase VI' with eight new emergency generators with SCR abatement, whose integrated commissioning was at its final stage and not yet handed over to the operator; water and cooling plant for 'the new data halls'; some expansion construction in the back yard; and a planned future 'LON2' expansion with four data halls and twelve engines across King George Close, where a substation is already in place and for which no permit application had yet been made. evidence
Environment Agency · published 2026-05-07
Green Mountain announced on 8 June 2026 that it had acquired the freehold of its 8-acre data-centre campus in Romford, East London, 'also known as LON-East'. It states that 7 MW has been operational on the site since 2010, that an additional 14 MW 'has been delivered recently', that the campus has a planned total of 37 MW, and that Green Mountain will continue to operate the existing data centre while unlocking the remaining capacity. evidence
Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS / Green Mountain DC UK Limited) · published 2026-06-08
Green Mountain announced in December 2023 that a new 14 MW expansion was under construction at its LON-East campus in Romford, built in two 7 MW phases inside the existing building with over 5,500 sq m of white space (three data halls supporting 7 MW of IT load per phase), after it incorporated Infinity Data Centres into its portfolio in January 2023 and renamed the site LON-East; an additional 16 MW build-to-suit opportunity on an adjacent plot had power and planning permission. evidence
Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS) · published 2023-12-08
The Datahub record of Havering full permission P1238.23 (validated 11 August 2023, approved under delegated powers 6 October 2023) at 3 King George Close, Romford RM7 7PN, for the 'Erection of external fin wall to the front of the existing data storage facility', with a 3.47 ha site polygon and centroid 51.5871651, 0.1678894. evidence
Greater London Authority (London Planning Datahub; records supplied by the London Borough of Havering) · publication date not stated
The Datahub records section 73 application P1029.26 at 5 King George Close, Romford RM7 7PS, validated 28 August 2026 and 'Application Under Consideration' (decision target 27 November 2026), to vary conditions 1, 3, 4, 9, 13 and 14 of permission P0614.20 (14 January 2021), itself a variation of P1137.11 (2012) for a 'New data storage development consisting of new data storage warehouse and new emergency energy centre building'. Its centroid (51.586246, 0.169782) lies about 160 m south-east of the existing facility. evidence
Greater London Authority (London Planning Datahub; records supplied by the London Borough of Havering) · publication date not stated
Green Mountain's LON-East page describes a data centre in Romford, East London, with space in an existing 11,000 m2 building (build year 2009, designed and built to Tier III specifications, dedicated on-site substation, 8.6-acre land footprint) and a planned building of 5,760 m2 (eight 2 MW data halls on 4 acres), 37 MW of secured power capacity, HVO-fuelled automatic standby generators and ISO 9001, 20000, 27001, 45001 and 14001 certification. evidence
Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS) · publication date not stated
- Companies
Source and location review
- Status source
- Green Mountain: 'Green Mountain Global Signs Contract with Major Neocloud Operator at LON-East Campus' (press release, 1 September 2026) evidence row
Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS / Green Mountain DC UK Limited) · published 2026-09-01 · Company disclosure - Locator
- Campus locator · Official source · environmental_permit_register_site_location evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 56 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 51.58702, 0.16767
- Geometry licence
- Open Government Licence v3.0 (Environment Agency conditional licence as stated in the register metadata)
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- environmental_permit_register_site_location
- Authority
- Official source
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- environment_agency_public_register_published_site_latitude_longitude_for_permit_EPR_FP3630EU
- Derivation
- direct_geometry
- Precision scope
- Site location published by the Environment Agency's installations register for permit EPR/FP3630EU (holder Green Mountain DC UK Limited, 'Romford North Data Centre, Unit 3 King George close, Romford, RM7 7PN'): grid reference TQ5027089800, latitude 51.587017, longitude 0.167675, copied without transformation. It lies inside Havering's 3.47 ha planning polygon for the existing data storage facility at 3 King George Close and locates the campus's existing building; it is not a building outline or surveyed position.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The register publishes no positional accuracy; the point lies inside the 3.47 ha existing-facility planning polygon, and the 14 MW data halls occupy part of the existing building around it, not a separately located structure.
- Geometry evidence
- bedfc130
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Environment Agency Compliance Assessment Report FP3630EU/0598676: site inspection at Romford North Data Centre (Green Mountain DC UK Limited), 29 April 2026, issued 7 May 2026 Archived copy | Environment Agency Government record | Site and project identity | Open Government Licence v3.0 (Environment Agency public register document) | Environment Agency | 08ca923230ade98b543af9d9ee92021e0832863a34873f00c706700453893677Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Environment Agency public register (Environmental Permitting Regulations - Installations for England): registration EPR/FP3630EU, Green Mountain DC UK Limited, Romford North Data Centre, Unit 3 King George Close, Romford RM7 7PN Archived copy | Environment Agency Government record | Geometry, Operator claim | not stated | Open Government Licence v3.0 (Environment Agency conditional licence as stated in the register metadata) | Environment Agency | ae3656b317dacea52004c97086f663c9b31b5e201efdc9c7a73a932048ec5151Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| Green Mountain: 'Green Mountain breaks ground on new data centre expansion in London' (8 December 2023) Archived copy | Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS) Company disclosure | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved (operator website) | Green Mountain | 6ecaf7080721075b9c433c9e02ac99df462bcbfc30f74c261969b40ef70b71f7Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Green Mountain: 'Green Mountain Global Signs Contract with Major Neocloud Operator at LON-East Campus' (press release, 1 September 2026) Archived copy | Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS / Green Mountain DC UK Limited) Company disclosure | Physical status, Owner claim | all-rights-reserved (operator press release) | Green Mountain | 616a5b818f60be20ac071d875eb423453aeea05b3bdabf0c63ef277c90af141aRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Green Mountain: 'Green Mountain UK acquires freehold of Romford data center campus' (8 June 2026) Archived copy | Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS / Green Mountain DC UK Limited) Company disclosure | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved (operator website) | Green Mountain | 57fa80414a9251596a9963a43fdfd5b100a1b8f5f41a948280581e92bd841205Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Green Mountain: LON-East data center location page Archived copy | Green Mountain (Green Mountain AS) Operator website | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved (operator website) | Green Mountain | 4409dd0f6d0fe24a8a994083e02b2e5701dc211e968f8fd96b8c5b3f70fceb0dRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| London Planning Datahub (Greater London Authority): Havering application P1029.26, variation of conditions of P0614.20 (new data storage warehouse and emergency energy centre), 5 King George Close, Romford RM7 7PS Archived copy | Greater London Authority (London Planning Datahub; records supplied by the London Borough of Havering) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | not stated by the API (London Planning Datahub public data) | Greater London Authority, London Planning Datahub; London Borough of Havering | e0be72c770d605d10b153501c4cee74af5f93c36ab435d909b09941dab5d4999Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| London Planning Datahub (Greater London Authority): Havering planning permission P1238.23, external fin wall to the front of the existing data storage facility, 3 King George Close, Romford RM7 7PN Archived copy | Greater London Authority (London Planning Datahub; records supplied by the London Borough of Havering) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | not stated by the API (London Planning Datahub public data) | Greater London Authority, London Planning Datahub; London Borough of Havering | a0e0598929cd4105798f2331da954eb8ff70e59c0429e991dd7a5daaf2848415Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Green Mountain LON-East data centre campus (Romford North Data Centre), King George Close, Romford (Havering) [site vcc-site-bcb0361cec82a4bf1063]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-bcb0361cec82a4bf1063/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction