APL Hibikino Data Center Campus, Kitakyushu
Site preparation
Japan · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Kitakyushu's mayor stated on October 15, 2026 that the land for the Hibikino data-centre project has been sold and handed over, and that land-development and power service-connection works have started. The city reports that the preparatory land works began in February 2026 and the power works in April 2026. The developer, APL Group, has deferred main-building construction from the planned November start to within the fiscal year ending March 2027. The city describes the first building, provisionally the Hibikino-kita Building, as a planned four-storey steel structure of about 31,700 m² on a 37,392 m² plot. A second building is being planned. evidence
Kitakyushu City · published 2026-10-16
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 33.89370, 130.71315 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
APL Hibikino Data Center — Hibikino-kita first building development
Site preparation last observed as of · Authoritative status update
The city's information site describes the first building, provisionally the Hibikino-kita Building new construction, at land lot Hibikino-kita 1-101, Wakamatsu-ku. Building client: Hibikino DC Kaihatsu 1 TMK; project cooperation: USI Engineering; designer: Nikken Sekkei; land-development contractor: Wakachiku Construction (Kyushu branch). The planned four-storey steel building has 31,741.59 m² gross floor area on a 37,392.30 m² plot, about 42.2 m above grade; figures may change. A second building is being planned, details undecided. The history records the October 2023 municipal land sale, February 2026 start of preparatory land-development works and April 2026 start of power service-connection works. evidence
Kitakyushu City · publication date not stated
The city's FAQ states that it already applies route and time restrictions and traffic guards for construction vehicles during school commuting hours, that the developer selected the site in 2021 from city-proposed candidates, and that the planned building is about 42.2 m high. evidence
Kitakyushu City · publication date not stated
City-made land-use plan of the Kitakyushu Science and Research Park marking the data-centre plan site (計画地) in the phase-2 university and related-facilities area east of the elementary school. Used for visual identity consistency only; it has no coordinate control. evidence
Kitakyushu City · publication date not stated
The catalog lists the 2026 Wakamatsu-ku GeoJSON, states conversion of public-coordinate MOJ map XML with JGD2011 using MIERUNE mojxml-py and GDAL, and labels the dataset Creative Commons Attribution, with attribution required. evidence
Association for Promotion of Infrastructure Geospatial Information Distribution (AIGID) · publication date not stated
APL describes a 19,000-tsubo (15.5-acre) Kitakyushu site purchased from Kitakyushu City in November 2023, with a first project able to accommodate 120 MW of total power load, committed power then targeted for September 2027 and a first 60 MW phase planned. Construction was then expected to begin as early as 2026. evidence
Asia Pacific Land (APL) Group · published 2025-01-20
- Companies
- Owner: Hibikino DC Kaihatsu 1 TMK (ひびきのDC開発1特定目的会社) (current) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- Kitakyushu mayor's October 15, 2026 regular press conference: Hibikino data centre evidence row
Kitakyushu City · published 2026-10-16 · Government record - Locator
- Campus locator · Compiled location reference · exact_city_published_lot_number_cadastral_parent_parcel evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 12 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 33.89370, 130.71315
- Geometry licence
- CC-BY
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- exact_city_published_lot_number_cadastral_parent_parcel
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- moj_aigid_exact_lot_two_piece_parcel_dissolved_planar_centroid_epsg6670_to_crs84
- Derivation
- coordinate_transform
- Precision scope
- Centroid of cadastral lot Hibikino-kita 1-101, the roughly 6.3 ha developer property. It does not locate the 37,392 m² first-building plot, a building footprint, the construction extent or a surveyed boundary.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
Registry map accuracy class 甲二 without a parcel-specific numeric horizontal accuracy; one piece comes from a datum-converted map. Six decimals describe calculation, not survey accuracy.
- Geometry evidence
- a1c4d862
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AIGID catalog: MOJ registry map data, Fukuoka Prefecture Kitakyushu Wakamatsu-ku Archived copy | Association for Promotion of Infrastructure Geospatial Information Distribution (AIGID) Third-party dataset | Site and project identity | not stated | CC-BY | AIGID catalog of Japan Ministry of Justice registry map data | ee9fb411e30dd384e146e1624a9e66e175b8b4ead8bd8e51a974dd2d4385c70fRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| APL Group and Global Compute Infrastructure announce Kyushu data-centre joint venture Archived copy | Asia Pacific Land (APL) Group Company disclosure | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | Asia Pacific Land (APL) Group | d39a529ae81a934864361d9e7d4e37a5762db6c712bbe4347a414a22dc3fcb20Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Kitakyushu City Hibikino Data Center Information Station: plan overview and project history Archived copy | Kitakyushu City Government record | Site and project identity, Owner claim | not stated | all-rights-reserved | Kitakyushu City | dce2d33857c9fce8517b50632b5f30920d41c60348f4350911d1f0b73a57b4ddRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Kitakyushu City Hibikino data centre FAQ data file Archived copy | Kitakyushu City Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | Kitakyushu City | 7893ad1e9b1a743f79f8c8ffa84c78fc06786551539e44f4e4dd46658201ec8cRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Kitakyushu mayor's October 15, 2026 regular press conference: Hibikino data centre Archived copy | Kitakyushu City Government record | Physical status | all-rights-reserved | Kitakyushu City | 0f8bdd54f61d561ca7cce566eb198f782c4e93193946a04c4789d7b552344b8bRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Kitakyushu Science and Research Park land-use plan marking the data-centre plan site Archived copy | Kitakyushu City Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | Kitakyushu City | fd37d44cde0e41e69d128e4ef69c267f9d0acd83e851c8a57de69a741f5bb900Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| MOJ / AIGID 2026 Wakamatsu-ku cadastral geometry: Hibikino-kita 1-101 Archived copy | AIGID; source registry map data by Japan Ministry of Justice Map feature | Geometry | not stated | CC-BY | Japan Ministry of Justice registry map data; AIGID GeoJSON conversion. Catalog license: Creative Commons Attribution. | 56bbfed7ba76e954774a2a8d0535df692718b37b399b2bb4c3a544da3285aab4Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). APL Hibikino Data Center Campus, Kitakyushu [site vcc-site-c81c0194b0e64300e188]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-c81c0194b0e64300e188/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction