Herbata data centre campus (Naas)

Announced

Ireland · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Proposed EUR 3 billion data centre campus by Herbata Ltd beside the M7 motorway at Naas, County Kildare, Ireland, in the townlands of Halverstown, Jigginstown and Newhall. The plan has six data halls of 30 MW each, 180 MW in total, and would not draw from the national grid: half its power would come from renewable purchase agreements and the rest from on-site gas turbines, gas engines and batteries. Kildare County Council granted permission in August 2025. An Taisce and two environmental groups appealed, as did Herbata over some conditions; in September 2026 the appeals still awaited a decision by An Coimisiún Pleanála.

Source record as of 2026-10-09 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 53.21700, -6.66300 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Herbata data centre campus (Naas)

Announced last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Naas, Kildare, IE. Town coordinates from the Naas Wikipedia article. The appeal case lists the townlands of Halverstown, Jigginstown and Newhall, and reports place the site next to the M7 and a business park; no parcel point is published. An Coimisiún Pleanála; The Irish Times; Wikipedia

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Investment3,000,000,000 EURReported · Campus2026-09-04Kildare Nationalist; The Irish Times
Power capacity180 MWPlanned · Campus · Unspecified2025-09-09Six data halls of 30 MW each at completion.Industrial Info Resources
Power capacity240 MWPlanned · Campus · Unspecified2025-09-25Continuous electricity demand cited by the appellants, who say it would roughly triple metered demand in County Kildare; not a developer figure.Kildare Nationalist
Buildings6 countPlanned · Campus2025-09-25Large two-storey data hall buildings.Kildare Nationalist; Industrial Info Resources

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
Herbata LtdDeveloperThe Kildare Nationalist says the plans were lodged by a co-owner of the forklift maker Combilift.Kildare Nationalist; An Coimisiún Pleanála; The Irish Times
Kildare County CouncilGovernmentGranted planning permission (reference 2460787 per the appeals board case page) in August 2025; the Irish Times says dozens of conditions were attached, many on energy use.Kildare Nationalist; Industrial Info Resources; An Coimisiún Pleanála; The Irish Times
An Coimisiún PleanálaGovernmentPlanning appeals board handling case PL09.323677.Kildare Nationalist; An Coimisiún Pleanála

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2025-08Permit approvedActualKildare County Council granted permission with conditions, many relating to energy use according to the Irish Times; the grant was then appealed.Kildare Nationalist; The Irish Times
2025-09-16OtherActualAppeals lodged with An Coimisiún Pleanála by An Taisce, by Friends of the Irish Environment and Friends of the Earth Ireland, and by Herbata against conditions on hedgerows, bats and watercourses.Kildare Nationalist; Friends of the Earth Ireland; An Coimisiún Pleanála
2026-01-28OtherPlannedDecision due date shown on the appeals board case page; the Irish Times (September 2026) said a ruling was expected by January, without giving a year.An Coimisiún Pleanála

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
Natural gas onsiteOn-site gas turbines and gas engines to supply about half of demand; appellants dispute the emissions estimates and the planned later move to hydrogen.Kildare Nationalist; Industrial Info Resources; Friends of the Earth Ireland
Battery storageBattery energy storage systems on site.Industrial Info Resources
SolarAbout 1.5 MW of rooftop solar from some 3,000 panels.Industrial Info Resources
OtherRenewable power purchase agreements for about half of demand; Herbata says the campus will not draw electricity from the national grid.Industrial Info Resources; The Irish Times

Status is announced because the permission is not in force while appeals are pending. The undated appeals board case page showed no decision when read on 2026-10-09, though its 28 January 2026 due date had passed, so status_as_of is that access date. Industrial Info gives US$3 billion where Irish reports give EUR 3 billion, likely the same figure with a different currency label; it is not recorded as a separate metric. Industrial Info quotes Herbata's chief executive saying a redesign cut lifetime emissions from about 28 to 4.5 million tonnes of CO2. The Irish Times notes a separate Microsoft campus planned near Jigginstown, which is not part of this record.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: Herbata Ltd (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Herbata Ltd (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Herbata Ltd (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Kildare County Council (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Kildare County Council (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Kildare County Council (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Kildare County Council (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: An Coimisiún Pleanála (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: An Coimisiún Pleanála (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
Case reference PL09.323677 evidence row
An Coimisiún Pleanála · publication date not stated · Regulatory filing
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 18 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
53.21700, -6.66300
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Town coordinates from the Naas Wikipedia article. The appeal case lists the townlands of Halverstown, Jigginstown and Newhall, and reports place the site next to the M7 and a business park; no parcel point is published.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
da93ca09

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Herbata data centre campus (Naas)
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
'We just don't want them': Hundreds gather in a Kildare town over data centre plans
Archived copy
The Irish Times
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Permit Approved, Power Source: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedThe Irish Times651dd49137940ea806faa36e6331a36b203ac04eb20a40da02d0f27733a1e24c
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Campaigners appeal Herbata Data Centre decision in Naas
Archived copy
Friends of the Earth Ireland
Other
Imported: Record, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Natural Gas Onsitesource-terms-not-recordedFriends of the Earth Ireland94672723e0b03d4acee8656cbc1a1fddfe420a4beb39ed16e5e6932afcbac25d
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Case reference PL09.323677
Archived copy
An Coimisiún Pleanála
Regulatory filing
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Milestone: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedAn Coimisiún Pleanála6a16a08ccb2aa030d5f4a44d7521f8e34adf638a0338c65af0284a1c9910e9f6
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Green Light for US$3 Billion Data Campus in Kildare
Archived copy
Industrial Info Resources
Trade publication
Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Power Capacity, Power Source: Battery Storage, Power Source: Natural Gas Onsite, Power Source: Other, Power Source: Solar, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedIndustrial Info Resources67139b3c344f5c3c2aba8a77b5251c57ac5ef630c8d4f34af1ce15081e88d366
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Naas
Archived copy
Wikipedia
Other
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Recordnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedWikipedia247b8addf0c98b6678e1d50d44a2b5f323e90945494462a68e39367c281ead79
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Plans for €3bn data centre campus stalled
Archived copy
Kildare Nationalist
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Permit Approved, Power Source: Natural Gas Onsite, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedKildare Nationalistbe5886540ae25134a4c2def7a460f83c4dbe89e2bcf40c794029377a28a8e212
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Herbata data centre campus (Naas) [site vcc-site-d1b09eaeac654b3c56f6]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-d1b09eaeac654b3c56f6/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction