Amazon Data Services Ireland Clonshaugh data storage campus, Clonshaugh Business and Technology Park, Dublin 17
Operational
Ireland · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
The EPA industrial emissions review licence P1186-02, given under seal on 24 September 2026, states that Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited currently operates a data storage facility under licence P1186-01 in Clonshaugh Business and Technology Park, Dublin 17, and that the currently licensed installation consists of three two-storey data storage buildings (Buildings X, Y and W) and ancillary elements. This supports current operation of those three buildings on 24 September 2026. The review adds Buildings U and V to the licensed installation; their status is not part of this project, and no IT capacity or utilisation is stated. evidence
Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2026-09-24
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 53.40160, -6.22030 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
Amazon Data Services Ireland Clonshaugh data storage facility — existing Buildings W, X and Y
Operational last observed as of · Authoritative status update
The Technical Committee report, dated 10 September 2026, describes the review as an expansion of an existing data centre to include two new data storage buildings (U and V), adding 12 back-up generators for a site total of 52 generators and five data storage buildings (U, V, W, X and Y), with combined thermal input rising from 219.12 MWth to 290.95 MWth. It records the licensee's reference to maintaining the operation of the site and treats Building U 'as built' alongside W, X and Y for evaporative-cooling-water conditions. evidence
Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2026-09-24
Section 3.2 of the applicant's form gives the Site Centre Point as easting 318420 and northing 240501, in a field labelled 'Irish Grid Reference - 6 digits', matching the register's grid reference. evidence
Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited, published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2024-08-16
Spatial query of the merged national planning register (applicant-name fields not requested). Dublin City Council record 3400/19 (granted 2019) concerns a container compound 'to the south of an existing data storage facility at the former Cahill Printers building' in Clonshaugh Business and Technology Park; its register point lies 3.5 m from the EPA site-centre point. Other data-centre records in the radius are 2229/19 and 3641/21 (Units 15/16 and former Ricoh building data centre, 380 m south), 3763/20 (generators at the Eircom Building, 302 m) and WEB2814/26 and WEB2832/26 (substation at the Vodafone Critical Data Centre, Clonshaugh Industrial Estate, 382 m west). evidence
Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government and Irish local authorities (merged planning registers) · publication date not stated
Licence metadata: Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited, Clonshaugh Business and Technology Park, Dublin 17, D17 V303; review application 31 July 2024; proposed determination 30 April 2026; licence issued 24 September 2026; status Licensed; latest decision 'Final Decision'; NACE 6311. evidence
Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · publication date not stated
- Companies
- Operator: Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited (current) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- EPA Industrial Emissions review licence P1186-02, Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited, Clonshaugh Business and Technology Park, Dublin 17 (final determination, sealed 24 September 2026) evidence row
Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2026-09-24 · Government record - Locator
- Campus locator · Compiled location reference · official_regulator_register_installation_site_centre_grid_reference evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 33 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 53.40160, -6.22030
- Geometry licence
- all-rights-reserved
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- official_regulator_register_installation_site_centre_grid_reference
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- epa_register_national_grid_reference_irish_grid_tm75_to_wgs84_pyproj_3_7_1
- Derivation
- coordinate_transform
- Precision scope
- Site-centre point of the EPA-licensed Clonshaugh installation (Buildings W, X and Y and the new U and V), from the register's National Grid Reference N240501 E318420 (the applicant's 'Site Centre Point'), transformed from Irish Grid (TM75) to WGS84. It lies inside the extent of the licence's 52 generator stacks (eastings 318334-318628, northings 240130-240613, up to 425 m away). It locates the campus, not any one building, its footprint, an entrance or the installation boundary.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The register gives a single grid reference at 1 m resolution with no stated survey accuracy; it is a site-centre reference for a campus whose generator stacks extend up to about 425 m from it, so offset to any specific building is unknown. The TM75-to-WGS84 operation is rated at 1 m; the alternative operation moves the point 2.3 m. Decimal places are arithmetic precision.
- Geometry evidence
- c5c85d98
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EPA IE licence review application form LA011866, Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited, Clonshaugh (P1186-02), section 3.2 Site Geographical Location Archived copy | Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited, published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Regulatory filing | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited via EPA LEAP | 37926d5ddb9f1c300bda1fe89c2c1bf75483453e71aa6c4d4a4206a03dfe2083Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| EPA Industrial Emissions review licence P1186-02, Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited, Clonshaugh Business and Technology Park, Dublin 17 (final determination, sealed 24 September 2026) Archived copy | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Government record | Physical status, Operator claim | all-rights-reserved | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland), LEAP | cbe32a40971e415371a431cd010215473389e0cb0920929054a99171cec393e4Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| EPA LEAP licence record P1186-02 (data.epa.ie LEAP API, Licence/fulllbyid) Archived copy | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland), LEAP | 3170f6eaf4b61a23675525cf8f881940664a8deff2c7712e0b7d8eef7b589f0eRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| EPA Register of IE Licence Application No. P1186-02 (Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited, Clonshaugh Business and Technology Park) Archived copy | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Government record | Geometry | all-rights-reserved | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland), LEAP | 7c08cc6760c0d2290426da3b4066fe6415c6b102a60a85d14679a0f97b841bedRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| EPA Report of the Technical Committee on objections to proposed determination, Amazon Data Services Ireland Limited, Clonshaugh, IEL Reg P1186-02 (10 September 2026) Archived copy | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Government record | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland), LEAP | a6d130e8afa0833a73e4943834d1601f9fd8109accc8ba0a80325f80b45c6ef8Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Irish national planning applications register (IrishPlanningApplications feature service): records within 700 m of the Clonshaugh EPA site-centre point Archived copy | Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government and Irish local authorities (merged planning registers) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government; Dublin City Council | 9dfc772edb841bc5d749c47fd4fe00dd8785fc6bc48d216d88b6a5feea2b3777Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Amazon Data Services Ireland Clonshaugh data storage campus, Clonshaugh Business and Technology Park, Dublin 17 [site vcc-site-ddb25aaf67b503ba9f5e]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-ddb25aaf67b503ba9f5e/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction