Crag Digital Avoca (Echelon DUB20) data centre campus, Avoca River Park, Arklow, Co. Wicklow
Announced
Ireland · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
On 25 August 2026 Crag Digital Avoca Limited, through its agent, wrote to the EPA on industrial emissions licence application P1240-01 under the project name 'DUB20 IE Licence Application', consenting to the Agency's 17 August request to extend the period for a proposed determination. The application, received on 30 June 2026 and still under assessment, is for a new installation at Avoca River Park, Arklow that the applicant's non-technical summary describes as three ICT facility (data centre) buildings with 60 emergency diesel generators, planned for construction under Wicklow County Council permission 23/72 as amended by 25/60806. This dated regulatory filing identifies the project and supports announced status as of 25 August 2026. The national planning register records 23/72 as granted on 25 July 2023 (expiry 24 July 2028) and 25/60806 as granted on 13 January 2026, but no in-window record of those consents is used, so permitted status is not asserted. No site works, construction, completion or operation is claimed. evidence
Crag Digital Avoca Limited (agent Sweco Ireland Ltd), published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2026-08-25
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 52.81161, -6.17934 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
Crag Digital Avoca DUB20 — three ICT facility (data centre) buildings with 60 emergency generators (Wicklow 23/72 as amended by 25/60806; EPA IE licence application P1240-01)
Announced last observed as of · Project announcement
The Agency refers to the licence application received on 30 June 2026 from Crag Digital Avoca Limited for an installation located at Avoca River Park, Arklow, County Wicklow, and asks the applicant to consent to extending the period for a proposed determination so that it can complete a full assessment. evidence
Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2026-08-17
Crag Digital Avoca Limited applies for an IE licence for the operation of a new installation that 'will include 3 no. Information and Communication Technology (ICT) facilities', planned for construction on a brownfield site in the Avoca River Park industrial estate near Arklow. The ICT facility will comprise three ICT buildings housing IT equipment in data storage rooms, supported by 60 emergency diesel generators (each up to 7.6 MWth) on the south side of the buildings with flues up to 22 m. It states that Wicklow County Council granted planning permission for the data centre in June 2023 (WCC Ref 23/72), amended by WCC Ref 25/60806 with a final grant in November 2025. The Avoca River lies about 30 m south of the site. evidence
Crag Digital Avoca Limited (prepared by Sweco Ireland Ltd), published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2026-07-09
Licence metadata: Crag Digital Avoca Limited, Avoca River Park, Arklow, Wicklow; new application received 30 June 2026 (EIAR received the same day); licence status Applied; assessment status Under Assessment; no proposed determination or licence issued; NACE 6311 (data processing, hosting and related activities). evidence
Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · publication date not stated
The document list (67 items) runs from the application documents of 9 July 2026 to the applicant's Regulation 14(2) reply of 25 August 2026; it includes the EPA extension notice of 17 August 2026 and a reminder of 18 August 2026, and no proposed determination, inspection report or later filing. evidence
Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · publication date not stated
The agent's email of 7 July 2026 explains that Wicklow planning application 26/60038, then at further-information stage, concerns services infrastructure (foul sewer and water mains) for the wider Avoca River business park and that the Crag Digital Avoca site is intended to be connected to it, subject to that grant; the attachment is Wicklow County Council's correspondence on the status of 26/60038. evidence
Crag Digital Avoca Limited (agent Sweco Ireland Ltd), published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2026-07-09
Register records (applicant-name fields not requested): 20/1285, demolition of industrial buildings and three data centre buildings at Avoca River Park (granted 22 March 2021, expiry 21 March 2026); 23/72, three ICT facility buildings of c. 16,206 sq m each (c. 48,618 sq m) on a c. 9.69 ha site, occupying part of and superseding the 20/1285 site, for which ten-year permission was sought (decision 14 June 2023, grant 25 July 2023, register expiry 24 July 2028); 25/60806, amendments to the three permitted 23/72 ICT facility buildings, including an additional roof-mounted landlord generator on each and an enlarged generator compound, noting that operation will require an EPA IE licence (grant 13 January 2026, expiry 12 January 2031); 26/60038, a foul pump station, c. 2.2 km watermain, foul rising main and fibre connecting Avoca River Park to public services (decision 13 August 2026, grant 15 September 2026); 25/60594, a separate ICT facility development of one c. 36,655 sq m and two c. 4,428 sq m buildings at and to the east of Avoca River Park (grant 2 June 2026); 21/1080 and 23/843, energy centres east of the permitted data storage facility site. The 20/1285, 23/72 and 25/60806 points lie 28-93 m from the EPA site-centre point. evidence
Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government and Irish local authorities (merged planning registers) · publication date not stated
- Companies
- Operator: Crag Digital Avoca Limited (intended) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- Regulation 14(2) reply on behalf of Crag Digital Avoca Ltd to the EPA on IE licence application P1240-01 ('DUB20 IE Licence Application'), 25 August 2026 evidence row
Crag Digital Avoca Limited (agent Sweco Ireland Ltd), published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) · published 2026-08-25 · Regulatory filing - Locator
- Campus locator · Compiled location reference · official_regulator_register_installation_site_centre_grid_reference evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 63 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 52.81161, -6.17934
- Geometry licence
- all-rights-reserved
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- official_regulator_register_installation_site_centre_grid_reference
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- epa_register_national_grid_reference_irish_grid_tm75_to_wgs84_pyproj_3_7_1
- Derivation
- coordinate_transform
- Precision scope
- Site-centre point of the EPA licence-application installation P1240-01 (three ICT facility buildings and their generator compounds) at Avoca River Park, Arklow, from the register's National Grid Reference N174918 E322814 (the same values as the application form's Site Centre Point), read as TM75 / Irish Grid and transformed to WGS84. It locates the planned installation as a whole, not an individual building, a footprint, an entrance or the site boundary.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The register gives a single site-centre grid reference at 1 m resolution with no stated survey accuracy for a site of several hectares (23/72 states c. 9.69 ha); the offset to any building is unknown. The TM75-to-WGS84 operation is rated at 1 m; the alternative operation moves the point 2.0 m. Decimal places are arithmetic precision.
- Geometry evidence
- 4cb7909c
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Attachment 1.2 Non-Technical Summary, DUB20 Industrial Emissions Licence Application, Crag Digital Avoca Limited (P1240-01, 30 June 2026) Archived copy | Crag Digital Avoca Limited (prepared by Sweco Ireland Ltd), published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Regulatory filing | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | Crag Digital Avoca Limited via EPA LEAP | 9548f1a2a2c5f82e971a7eadc65009b9f8c6f9548a9734f8ea8732fd8a77e708Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Attachment 6-3-8 Planning Consideration (June 2026) with the applicant's agent's covering email of 7 July 2026 to the EPA, IE licence application P1240-01 Archived copy | Crag Digital Avoca Limited (agent Sweco Ireland Ltd), published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Regulatory filing | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | Crag Digital Avoca Limited via EPA LEAP | ff49d67df4ab648015358d60de81ca590c8d29e4629c209459ecf6a139a70f74Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| EPA IE licence application form LA020319 (P1240-01), Crag Digital Avoca Limited: organisation (section 2) and site geographical location (section 3.2) Archived copy | Crag Digital Avoca Limited, published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Regulatory filing | Operator claim | all-rights-reserved | Crag Digital Avoca Limited via EPA LEAP | 656588998230b353b3baca723b9e27a7bb6bdaf505b5905b2a53e326327c752dRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| EPA LEAP document list for IE licence application P1240-01 (data.epa.ie LEAP API, Document/listbylicenceidfullfiltered) Archived copy | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland), LEAP | bd3b26b3ad8d4e9411c03de18cb88a5b8b4588bb1b7251861438f1a3a35490d1Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| EPA LEAP licence record P1240-01 (data.epa.ie LEAP API, Licence/fulllbyid) Archived copy | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland), LEAP | 295d08cb68f7d79d3dfde5d7b0b8716e97b4fa8e130441790f3a8a56854113fdRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| EPA notice of 17 August 2026 (Section 87(3), EPA Act 1992; Regulation 14(2)) on the licence application from Crag Digital Avoca Limited for an installation at Avoca River Park, Arklow, County Wicklow (P1240-01) Archived copy | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Government record | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland), LEAP | b9111d0da9026ff7ff7ef36f9d82d72d787c469efbb087b43d1edf2e403012dcRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| EPA Register of IE Licence Application No. P1240-01 (Crag Digital Avoca Limited, Avoca River Park, Arklow) Archived copy | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Government record | Geometry | all-rights-reserved | Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland), LEAP | c8dd5392ef1109775ab27b2edf584e20374c4fbc655a36337f62db0f4371bc4cRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Irish national planning applications register (IrishPlanningApplications feature service): Wicklow County Council records at Avoca River Park, Shelton Abbey and Kilbride, Arklow, including 20/1285, 23/72, 25/60806, 25/60594, 21/1080, 23/843 and 26/60038 Archived copy | Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government and Irish local authorities (merged planning registers) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government; Wicklow County Council | dc0d118f35288335fc707ba8bc76f4b456994a4b59365adf8b30d647bdc09a8dRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Regulation 14(2) reply on behalf of Crag Digital Avoca Ltd to the EPA on IE licence application P1240-01 ('DUB20 IE Licence Application'), 25 August 2026 Archived copy | Crag Digital Avoca Limited (agent Sweco Ireland Ltd), published by the Environmental Protection Agency (Ireland) Regulatory filing | Project announcement | all-rights-reserved | Crag Digital Avoca Limited via EPA LEAP | bcfe90e2514dd4231ed58e8e4eb70ed32d3e48d8e16e3ebf5c5e3d0fd9264bc6Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Crag Digital Avoca (Echelon DUB20) data centre campus, Avoca River Park, Arklow, Co. Wicklow [site vcc-site-e19fd3b1049113579ba8]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-e19fd3b1049113579ba8/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction