Gießen Katzenfeld Data Center (B-Plan GI 05/23)
Announced
Germany · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
The Universitätsstadt Gießen's official notice, signed on 2 October 2026 and listed on 5 October 2026, states that the city council adopted Bebauungsplan GI 05/23 "Katzenfeld" as a by-law on 27 August 2026 and that the plan enters into force with the notice. The in-force plan designates a 5.94 ha Sonstiges Sondergebiet "Rechenzentrum" for a data centre of about 65 MW total power intake prepared with the developer Revikon; no operator has been selected. Announced status only: a Bebauungsplan is a land-use by-law, not a building permit, and no building permit, Federal Immission Control Act permit or physical work is established. evidence
Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) · published 2026-10-05
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 50.60361, 8.65947 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Project locator; building footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
Gießen Katzenfeld — planned data centre in the Sondergebiet Rechenzentrum
Announced last observed as of · Project announcement
The city's official-notice page (notices also appear in the Gießener Allgemeine and Gießener Anzeiger) lists "Bauleitplanung: Erlass der Wirksamkeit der 20. Änderung des Flächennutzungsplanes 'Katzenfeld' sowie des Bebauungsplans GI 05/23 'Katzenfeld'" with the date 05.10.2026 and links the notice PDF (2874_16144_1.PDF). Later entries (10, 13 and 15 October 2026) concern other matters. evidence
Universitätsstadt Gießen · publication date not stated
The statement accompanying the in-force plan lists the procedure (initiation 20.12.2018; early participation 2024; draft resolution 18.09.2025; public display 02.10.-10.11.2025; renewed limited participation 22.07.-07.08.2026; Satzungsbeschluss 27.08.2026; Ausfertigung 02.10.2026; publication of legal force 05.10.2026) and states that the plan opens a roughly 6 ha Gewerbegebiet and a roughly 6 ha Sondergebiet for a data centre within a plan area of about 16.6 ha, next to the Gießen-Nord substation. It notes that the data centre's emergency generators will require a separate Federal Immission Control Act procedure and that waste heat is to be fed into the Stadtwerke Gießen district-heating network. evidence
Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) · publication date not stated
Provision 1.2 designates a Sonstiges Sondergebiet SO "Rechenzentrum" (§ 11 BauNVO) that serves to accommodate a data centre with its ancillary facilities and parking: buildings for data-centre use, functionally linked offices and social rooms, power supply and emergency power plant, and heat-transfer installations; further provisions fix building heights, a Baumassenzahl of 10, a swallow replacement habitat and a data-line right in favour of the data-centre operator. evidence
Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) · publication date not stated
The explanatory statement records that Revikon (Gießen) bought about two thirds of the plan area from the former owners and has acted since 2018 as developer and Erschließungsträgerin; that the Magistrat aims to use an area of about 6 ha for a data centre of about 65 MW total power intake (5.94 ha Sondergebiet Rechenzentrum), supplied from the 110 kV network at the adjacent Gießen-Nord substation; that no data-centre operator had been selected by the July 2026 participation step; and lists the cadastral parcels in Gemarkung Gießen Fluren 30, 31 and 32 within the 16.6 ha plan area bounded by the K 28 (Krofdorfer Straße), the flood dike and the Weilburger Grenze path. Soil works are expected from autumn 2026. evidence
Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) · publication date not stated
The city's listing of legally binding development plans for Gießen-West links the Katzenfeld plan sheet, Textliche Festsetzungen, Begründung, Umweltbericht and Zusammenfassende Erklärung (files 2874_16130 to 2874_16134). evidence
Universitätsstadt Gießen · publication date not stated
Official basemap.de raster of the Katzenfeld area in ETRS89/UTM 32N, showing the K 28 Krofdorfer Straße, Wilhelm-Leuschner-Straße, Weilburger Grenze, the existing combined heat and power and Telekom buildings and the round building at house number 29. Used only as the georeferencing reference for the plan sheet. evidence
Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodäsie (BKG) / AdV · publication date not stated
Source and location review
- Status source
- Universitätsstadt Gießen: Amtliche Bekanntmachung — Erlass der Wirksamkeit der 20. Änderung des Flächennutzungsplanes "Katzenfeld" sowie des Bebauungsplans GI 05/23 "Katzenfeld" (signed 2 October 2026, listed 5 October 2026) evidence row
Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) · published 2026-10-05 · Government record - Locator
- Project locator · Compiled location reference · official_plan_designated_data_centre_zone_centroid evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 22 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 50.60361, 8.65947
- Geometry licence
- public-record-source-terms
- Use scope
- Project locator
- Scope class
- official_plan_designated_data_centre_zone_centroid
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- giessen_bplan_gi_05_23_sheet_100dpi_sondergebiet_rechenzentrum_area_centroid_registered_to_bkg_basemapde_epsg25832_two_building_control_points_pyproj_to_wgs84
- Derivation
- georeferenced_source_map
- Precision scope
- Area centroid of the 5.93 ha Sonstiges Sondergebiet "Rechenzentrum" drawn in the in-force plan sheet (scale 1:1000), registered to the official basemap.de raster. It locates the zone designated for the data centre, not a building footprint, the generator yard, a parcel or a works extent; zone pixels lie up to 182 m from the point.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The plan sheet is a raster scan without a coordinate grid; registration residuals of about 0.2 m at two control features do not establish the drawing or basemap accuracy, and the data-centre building position within the roughly 270 by 350 m zone is not fixed.
- Geometry evidence
- bb04e2a9
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BKG basemap.de WMS (de_basemapde_web_raster_grau), EPSG:25832 extract 475500-476300 E, 5605300-5606100 N at 0.254 m per pixel Archived copy | Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodäsie (BKG) / AdV Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | © GeoBasis-DE / BKG (2026), CC BY 4.0 | 672d3adcbcf00cf9fbfedf2f2b8c3eb90f02c81c6c31737050fadea53e09e58bRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Universitätsstadt Gießen: Amtliche Bekanntmachung — Erlass der Wirksamkeit der 20. Änderung des Flächennutzungsplanes "Katzenfeld" sowie des Bebauungsplans GI 05/23 "Katzenfeld" (signed 2 October 2026, listed 5 October 2026) Archived copy | Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) Government record | Project announcement | public-record-source-terms | Universitätsstadt Gießen | b4e16a021dff3480224bba9d3a363261271cb338b7db2151c5b1cc0e8aa130d1Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Universitätsstadt Gießen: Bebauungsplan GI 05/23 "Katzenfeld" — Begründung (in-force version) Archived copy | Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Universitätsstadt Gießen | 2924b6c793337291e79527fe1bb6ade0a6ce6a162de3868c6809fba7a6e63a01Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| Universitätsstadt Gießen: Bebauungsplan GI 05/23 "Katzenfeld" — Textliche Festsetzungen (in-force version) Archived copy | Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Universitätsstadt Gießen | 52e6b26e5679279705382f26d89dd83c4e908a749080aa9291a28f1c7eebb27aRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Universitätsstadt Gießen: Bebauungsplan Nr. GI 05/23, Gebiet "Katzenfeld" — plan sheet 1:1000 (ausgefertigt 2 October 2026) Archived copy | Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) Government record | Geometry | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Universitätsstadt Gießen | adc47b054d2a88b61e87cbdf340dacd80c48658066f645c09238bbe35a77d468Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| Universitätsstadt Gießen: Bebauungspläne Bereich Gießen-West (legally binding plans listing) Archived copy | Universitätsstadt Gießen Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Universitätsstadt Gießen | 29e35a285272399abe71b6c079f7ec8220434581d9a8b6458c2cfb0c81241c1cRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Universitätsstadt Gießen: Rathaus / Newsroom / Bekanntmachungen (official notices listing) Archived copy | Universitätsstadt Gießen Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Universitätsstadt Gießen | e8c90135c4406a66347343e31c758d2f43d27f1698eb90a35e2cc67be78c383dRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Universitätsstadt Gießen: Zusammenfassende Erklärung nach § 10a BauGB zum Bebauungsplanverfahren GI 05/23 "Katzenfeld" Archived copy | Universitätsstadt Gießen, Der Magistrat (Stadtplanungsamt) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Universitätsstadt Gießen | dcbe920a24979878ae97d4e363d4bb9752ef0cc998ed2979ff7af69a94d5458eRetained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Gießen Katzenfeld Data Center (B-Plan GI 05/23) [site vcc-site-ee16e05bea0e8acb6519]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-ee16e05bea0e8acb6519/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction