Data4 Cambrai E-Valley campus
Announced
France · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Data4, the data center unit of Brookfield, is planning a campus of up to 1 GW at E-Valley on the former Cambrai military air base (BA 103) in northern France. Brookfield's February 2025 France pledge was reported to direct about EUR 15 billion to a Cambrai data center. A June 2026 local report cites a first 300 MW tranche, works from the second half of 2026 and first deliveries in 2027-2028. Enedis tendered about 29 km of medium-voltage cabling in April 2026 to feed four customer substations at the site, with the works set for 2027.
Source record as of 2026-06-11 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 50.22000, 3.17650 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Approximate site reference; the exact facility position is unverified.
Projects (1)
Data4 Cambrai E-Valley campus
Announced last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Épinoy (E-Valley, former Cambrai air base), Hauts-de-France, FR. Nominatim position of the E-Valley information board on Avenue de France, Épinoy, inside the former BA 103 base; sources identify the base and E-Valley but not the data center parcel. Enedis (via Marchés Online); info.fr
Use: Ai unspecified
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power capacity | up to 1,000 MW | Planned · Campus · Unspecified | 2026-06-11 | TechCrunch; info.fr | |
| Power capacity | 300 MW | Planned · Phase · Unspecified · First tranche | 2026-06-11 | info.fr | |
| Investment | about 15,000,000,000 EUR | Reported · Campus | 2025-02-09 | Media report (La Tribune Dimanche, relayed by TechCrunch); not stated in Brookfield's own release. | TechCrunch |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Data4 | Developer | Named as the project developer (a Brookfield subsidiary) in local news on the prefect-led steering committee; no Data4 release on Cambrai could be opened. | info.fr |
| Brookfield | Investor | Parent of Data4; early reporting (La Tribune Dimanche via TechCrunch) tied part of Brookfield's France pledge to Cambrai. | TechCrunch; info.fr |
| Enedis | Utility | Distribution operator tendering the medium-voltage connection works for the E-Valley data center site. | Enedis (via Marchés Online) |
| Préfecture du Nord | Government | The prefecture runs the project steering committee: the then sub-prefect chaired the first meeting on 2026-02-03 and the Nord prefect the second on 2026-06-09. | info.fr |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-02-09 | Announced | Actual | TechCrunch, relaying La Tribune Dimanche, reported that about EUR 15 billion of Brookfield's EUR 20 billion French pledge would go to a Cambrai data center. | TechCrunch |
| 2026-04-14 | Other | Actual | Enedis tender for about 29 km of underground HTA cabling to four customer substations, with works scheduled for 2027. | Enedis (via Marchés Online) |
| 2026-H2 | Construction started | Planned | info.fr | |
| 2027 | First operational | Planned | First deliveries expected 2027-2028. | info.fr |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Grid | Medium-voltage feeds from the Haplincourt and Prémy source substations via about 29 km of new underground cable to four customer substations. | Enedis (via Marchés Online) |
Neither Brookfield nor Data4 published a site-specific release for Cambrai that could be opened; details rest on news reports and the Enedis tender. The info.fr report is labelled as written by an AI editorial agent. It says a significant part of a further EUR 10 billion Brookfield pledge for France is meant for E-Valley; that sum is not a campus figure and is not recorded as a metric. Local officials cite about 4,000 direct and indirect jobs. The 320 hectares often quoted refer to the whole E-Valley site, not the data center plot.
Sources for these details
- Investments in French AI ecosystem reach $85B as Brookfield commits $20B — TechCrunch; 2025-02-09
- Travaux d'extension électrique HTA pour le raccordement du site Data Center EVALLEY — Enedis (via Marchés Online); 2026-04-16
- Nord : le comité de pilotage des data centers d'E-Valley réuni mardi sous l'égide du préfet — info.fr; 2026-06-11
- Companies
Source and location review
- Status source
- Nord : le comité de pilotage des data centers d'E-Valley réuni mardi sous l'égide du préfet evidence row
info.fr · published 2026-06-11 · News - Locator
- Approximate site reference · Compiled location reference · approximate_site evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 138 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 50.22000, 3.17650
- Geometry licence
- source-terms-not-recorded
- Use scope
- Approximate site reference
- Scope class
- approximate_site
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Project
- Method
- imported_reference_point
- Derivation
- imported_reference_point
- Precision scope
- Nominatim position of the E-Valley information board on Avenue de France, Épinoy, inside the former BA 103 base; sources identify the base and E-Valley but not the data center parcel.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.
- Geometry evidence
- 65504e98
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investments in French AI ecosystem reach $85B as Brookfield commits $20B Archived copy | TechCrunch News | Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Role: Investor | source-terms-not-recorded | TechCrunch | 8ede0a1afc8805357c855691185d19b30e4ca318c3e6afa95b07747677b9be7fFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Nord : le comité de pilotage des data centers d'E-Valley réuni mardi sous l'égide du préfet Archived copy | info.fr News | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: First Operational, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Role: Investor | source-terms-not-recorded | info.fr | 80f27ebc143a3ac6a5590a7a35c2ca29d7332cfeb75040221a68607d8b368304Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Travaux d'extension électrique HTA pour le raccordement du site Data Center EVALLEY Archived copy | Enedis (via Marchés Online) Utility disclosure | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Role: Utility | source-terms-not-recorded | Enedis (via Marchés Online) | a373caa5df19059ff23eac6af5ac3f3ed790ea31110910e72a766fc21f805b5fFactual source record; not the publisher page |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Data4 Cambrai E-Valley campus [site vcc-site-14a570a5f1dfb8b45e8d]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-14a570a5f1dfb8b45e8d/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction