Project Blue

Under construction

United States · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Beale Infrastructure is building a data center campus on about 290 acres of former county land just north of the Pima County Fairgrounds, in unincorporated Pima County outside Tucson's city limits. Tucson's council voted against the project in August 2025, ending annexation talks, so it went ahead under county jurisdiction with a redesigned air-cooled plan. The county puts total investment at USD 3.6 billion, with four buildings in the first phase and up to ten at full build-out. State regulators approved a Tucson Electric Power supply agreement for 286 MW in December 2025, and work on site was reported under way in April 2026.

Source record as of 2026-04-24 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 32.22190, -110.97140 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Project Blue

Under construction last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Tucson, Pima County, Arizona, US. Wikipedia coordinates for Tucson. The site is in unincorporated Pima County immediately north of the Pima County Fairgrounds and west of Houghton Road in the Southeast Employment and Logistics Center, southeast of this point; no coordinates were found in a cited source. Pima County; KOLD News 13

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Investment3,600,000,000 USDAnnounced · Campus2026-10-09Total capital investment planned over a multi-year build, per the county's undated Project Blue FAQ page as viewed on the access date; its newest listed document is dated April 2026.Pima County
Power capacity286 MWContracted · Campus · Grid connection2025-12-04Capacity TEP is to provide by 2028 under the energy supply agreement approved by the Arizona Corporation Commission; any expansion would need a new agreement.Arizona Luminaria; Arizona Capitol Times
Land areaabout 290 acresAcquired · Campus2026-04-24Pima County; KOLD News 13
Buildingsup to 10 countPlanned · Campus2026-04-24Pima County; KOLD News 13
Buildings4 countPlanned · Phase · Initial phase2026-10-09Undated county FAQ page as viewed on the access date.Pima County
Jobs permanentabout 180 countPlanned · Campus2025-12-16The county FAQ expects these jobs by the third year of operations.Pima County; KOLD News 13
Jobs constructionmore than 3,000 countPlanned · Campus2026-10-09Direct construction jobs expected between 2026 and 2028, per the undated county FAQ page as viewed on the access date.Pima County

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
Beale InfrastructureDeveloperPima County; Arizona Capitol Times; KOLD News 13
Humphrey's Peak Properties, LLCOwnerArizona Luminaria names it as the purchaser in the county land sale contract, and the county's binding memorandum of agreement is with it; AZ Capitol Times refers to the developers as Beale Infrastructure and Humphrey's Peak Power.Arizona Luminaria; Pima County
Tucson Electric PowerUtilityArizona Luminaria; Arizona Capitol Times
Pima CountyGovernmentSold the land and approved a binding community-benefits agreement with Beale.Pima County; KOLD News 13

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2025-06-17OtherActualPima County Board of Supervisors approved the sale of the county parcel to the developer.Arizona Luminaria
2025-08OtherActualTucson City Council voted against the project, ending annexation negotiations.Arizona Luminaria; Arizona's Family (KTVK/KPHO)
2025-12-03OtherActualArizona Corporation Commission approved the TEP energy supply agreement by a four-to-one vote.Arizona Capitol Times
2025-12-16OtherActualCounty board approved a binding agreement with Beale by a three-to-two vote.KOLD News 13
2025-12Site acquiredActualCounty lists land sale closing updates dated late December 2025.Pima County
2027First operationalPlannedCounty FAQ says the first building could be operational as soon as 2027.Pima County
2028First operationalPlannedApril 2026 local coverage says the campus is expected to be running by 2028, later than the county's earliest target.KOLD News 13

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
GridTucson Electric Power supply under a special energy supply agreement that TEP says uses existing resources; Beale has pledged to match all of its consumption with independently verified renewable energy.Arizona Capitol Times; KOLD News 13

AZ Capitol Times reported in December 2025 that Amazon Web Services, which public records first obtained by Arizona Luminaria had tied to the project, would no longer use it after the switch to air cooling, and that no replacement user had been named.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: Beale Infrastructure (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Beale Infrastructure (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Beale Infrastructure (unknown scope) evidence
  • Owner: Humphrey's Peak Properties, LLC (unknown scope) evidence
  • Owner: Humphrey's Peak Properties, LLC (unknown scope) evidence
  • Utility: Tucson Electric Power (unknown scope) evidence
  • Utility: Tucson Electric Power (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Pima County (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Pima County (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
Construction begins on first hyper-scale data center in Pima County evidence row
KOLD News 13 · published 2026-04-24 · News
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 186 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
32.22190, -110.97140
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Wikipedia coordinates for Tucson. The site is in unincorporated Pima County immediately north of the Pima County Fairgrounds and west of Houghton Road in the Southeast Employment and Logistics Center, southeast of this point; no coordinates were found in a cited source.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
27cd40f2

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Project Blue
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
ACC greenlights energy agreement for TEP to power Project Blue data center
Archived copy
Arizona Capitol Times
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Utilitysource-terms-not-recordedArizona Capitol Times380fe1d8c8f6020bd9f3298093d7e2fa5b430aadca355ca9b40ca8e88c44f500
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Construction begins on first hyper-scale data center in Pima County
Archived copy
KOLD News 13
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: First Operationalsource-terms-not-recordedKOLD News 13b59904404725f2515cae9af8a5b36b7ccd27fedeb02c9b91c18cedaab3923cb4
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Pima County Board of Supervisors gives green light to Project Blue
Archived copy
KOLD News 13
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedKOLD News 13923b113ba35196eb8c86aa8b70f3e6829803f4a5bb361a2284a885e19c152155
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Project Blue FAQ
Archived copy
Pima County
Government record
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: First Operational, Milestone: Site Acquired, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Owner claimnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedPima County97295c55ce08a7f561d7807aaacecd876b8ac5a4c6b8980324e1385c76ac172a
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Project Blue is back: Beale moving ahead with data center on county land
Archived copy
Arizona Luminaria
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Owner claim, Role: Utilitysource-terms-not-recordedArizona Luminariada39e257a87c5aa8b7e9765cd4727288c45457ed6b8ae81afd70afd575701d97
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Tucson rejects Amazon-linked data center amid water, energy concerns
Archived copy
Arizona's Family (KTVK/KPHO)
News
Imported: Record, Milestone: Othersource-terms-not-recordedArizona's Family (KTVK/KPHO)17d4d54ad205b56ace926b3258c87c97c044d6541180c8990b8bcc6ec11b7197
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Project Blue [site vcc-site-18500c4557e6b208669d]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-18500c4557e6b208669d/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction