La Osa Energy Center (Vermaland), Pinal County
Cancelled
United States · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Proposed AI data center and energy campus on more than 3,000 acres of rural land outside Eloy in Pinal County, Arizona, from land developer Vermaland. First reported in mid-2025 as a USD 33 billion plan for up to 3 GW, it called for nearly 60 data center buildings with on-site gas plants and battery storage. After strong local opposition, Vermaland offered in May 2026 to cut it by about 80% to 11 buildings and 1 GW of demand; the final proposal included a 500 MW gas plant, batteries and a 600 acre-foot annual freshwater cap. On 26 August 2026 the Pinal County Board of Supervisors rejected the rezoning and site plan 4-1.
Source record as of 2026-08-26 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 32.76360, -111.60000 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.
Projects (1)
La Osa Energy Center (Vermaland), Pinal County
Cancelled last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Eloy, Pinal County, Arizona, US. Coordinates are the Wikipedia centroid of Eloy (s6). Sources place the site south of Eloy along the Greene Canal (s1), off Picacho Highway (s2) and about 12 miles outside the city (s4), so the parcel lies some distance from this point. Baxtel; Construction Reporter; KJZZ; Wikipedia
Use: Ai unspecified
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power capacity | up to 3,000 MW | Planned · Campus · Unspecified | 2026-04-21 | Original plan before the May 2026 scale-back. | Baxtel; Construction Reporter |
| Power capacity | up to 1,000 MW | Planned · Campus · Unspecified | 2026-08-26 | Demand cap in the scaled-back proposal that the county rejected. | KJZZ; KJZZ; KJZZ |
| Power capacity | 500 MW | Planned · Campus · Onsite generation | 2026-08-26 | On-site gas plant in the final proposal; the developer said it had secured the gas supply and turbines, and proposed meeting the other 500 MW from nearby solar or the Palo Verde nuclear plant. | KJZZ |
| Investment | up to 33,000,000,000 USD | Reported · Campus | 2026-04-21 | Estimated cost of the original 3 GW plan; no figure was reported for the scaled-back version. | Baxtel; Construction Reporter |
| Land area | about 3,300 acres | Reported · Campus | 2026-05-28 | KJZZ's August 2026 preview describes the rezoning as covering more than 3,000 acres, about one-third of which would have stayed open space; an April 2026 report gives 3,000 acres. | Baxtel; KJZZ; KJZZ |
| Buildings | 59 count | Planned · Campus | 2026-05-28 | Original plan. | Construction Reporter; KJZZ |
| Buildings | up to 11 count | Planned · Campus | 2026-08-26 | Final, scaled-back proposal. | KJZZ; KJZZ; KJZZ |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vermaland | Developer | Phoenix-based land developer; no data center company was officially tied to the project. | Baxtel; Construction Reporter; KJZZ; KJZZ; KJZZ |
| Pinal County Board of Supervisors | Government | Rejected the rezoning and site plan by a 4-1 vote. | KJZZ; KJZZ |
| Central Arizona Irrigation and Drainage District | Utility | Reported as planning to serve the project and named as the body that would enforce Vermaland's pledge to pay the full cost of generating and delivering its energy. | KJZZ |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07 | Announced | Actual | Baxtel's August 2025 report relays azcentral (Arizona Republic) coverage dated 30 July 2025; the rezoning application had been filed about four months earlier. | Baxtel |
| 2025-07-17 | Other | Actual | County planning and zoning commission held a non-voting informational session. | Baxtel |
| 2026-05 | Other | Actual | At a supervisors' hearing the developer offered to shrink the project by about 80% and won a continuance to August. | KJZZ |
| 2026-08-26 | Cancelled | Actual | Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 to reject the rezoning and site plan requests. | KJZZ |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Natural gas onsite | Two on-site gas-fired plants in the original plan; a single 500 MW gas plant in the final proposal. | Construction Reporter; KJZZ |
| Battery storage | Utility-scale battery storage, which the developer offered to decommission if unused for 24 months. | Construction Reporter; KJZZ; KJZZ |
| Grid | The 2025 plan relied on upgrading Western Area Power Administration transmission lines; the final plan proposed sourcing half the 1 GW load from nearby solar or Palo Verde power. | Baxtel; KJZZ |
Recorded as cancelled because the county rejected the rezoning the project needed; no developer statement on an appeal or a new application was found. Before the board vote, the county planning and zoning commission had voted 7-2 in favour of the rezoning, per an April 2026 report. The water cap, noise studies and energy cost commitments were offered by Vermaland, not imposed by the county.
Sources for these details
- Vermaland Plans $33bn Data Center in Arizona — Baxtel; 2025-08-04
- Massive Proposed Southern Arizona Data Center Business Park Moving Forward — Construction Reporter; 2026-04-21
- Largest proposed data center in Arizona to be scaled back 80% after opposition — KJZZ; 2026-05-28
- Pinal County will vote on La Osa, which could become one of Arizona's largest data center projects — KJZZ; 2026-08-25
- Pinal County rejects massive La Osa data center. Residents want more rules for future projects — KJZZ; 2026-08-26 · Archived source
- Eloy, Arizona — Wikipedia; publication date not stated · Archived source
- Companies
- Developer: Vermaland (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Vermaland (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Vermaland (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Vermaland (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Vermaland (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Pinal County Board of Supervisors (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Pinal County Board of Supervisors (unknown scope) evidence
- Utility: Central Arizona Irrigation and Drainage District (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- Pinal County rejects massive La Osa data center. Residents want more rules for future projects evidence row
KJZZ · published 2026-08-26 · News - Locator
- Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 62 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 32.76360, -111.60000
- Geometry licence
- source-terms-not-recorded
- Use scope
- Locality reference only
- Scope class
- locality
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Project
- Method
- imported_reference_point
- Derivation
- imported_reference_point
- Precision scope
- Coordinates are the Wikipedia centroid of Eloy (s6). Sources place the site south of Eloy along the Greene Canal (s1), off Picacho Highway (s2) and about 12 miles outside the city (s4), so the parcel lies some distance from this point.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.
- Geometry evidence
- 792842fe
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eloy, Arizona Archived copy | Wikipedia Other | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | Wikipedia | 4dd96aa1ff37a7434c9262135a9315891c24202864756c5d7b762056322353a8Factual source record; not the publisher page | |
| Largest proposed data center in Arizona to be scaled back 80% after opposition Archived copy | KJZZ News | Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | KJZZ | d75f9e99013e11a43d320c046984278015d4a4ffcee82a7b709fba5261dbb38cFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Massive Proposed Southern Arizona Data Center Business Park Moving Forward Archived copy | Construction Reporter Trade publication | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Power Source: Battery Storage, Power Source: Natural Gas Onsite, Role: Developer | source-terms-not-recorded | Construction Reporter | 3c58b5560b65907362ce64d33dcc80899f98e6301a91802dd66858a74787de4cFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Pinal County rejects massive La Osa data center. Residents want more rules for future projects Archived copy | KJZZ News | Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Cancelled, Power Source: Battery Storage, Power Source: Grid, Power Source: Natural Gas Onsite, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | KJZZ | 79202289368a4caeca2fdd1c1e43ea5d649c4052eb0e42f2624b1cd94a159d00Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Pinal County will vote on La Osa, which could become one of Arizona's largest data center projects Archived copy | KJZZ News | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Power Source: Battery Storage, Role: Developer, Role: Utility | source-terms-not-recorded | KJZZ | 9f41bd14232e298da79e37ad3fe92a468e624edf288c738606e2277f5f6a4819Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Vermaland Plans $33bn Data Center in Arizona Archived copy | Baxtel Trade publication | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer | source-terms-not-recorded | Baxtel | d335910d3ecf43e0a63cd6199cd823eaaad6df88b5f15037fd188f489fcf234dFactual source record; not the publisher page |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). La Osa Energy Center (Vermaland), Pinal County [site vcc-site-2890b11431bd73672216]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-2890b11431bd73672216/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction