Google Columbus Data Center Campus (225 Rathmell Road / 5076 South High Street)
Completed
United States · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
The City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services permit layer (data version of 26 October 2026) records commercial structural alteration permit ALTC2502418 for '225 RATHMELL RD UNIT CLB4' on parcel 510180711 (288,000 sq ft; valuation 110,000,000 USD; issued 1 May 2025) with status 'Final Inspection Approved' and application status 'Closed' as of 6 October 2026. CLB4's electrical, mechanical, plumbing and fire-suppression permits had already been finaled between 6 May and 23 July 2026. This government record establishes that the permitted CLB4 alteration works were completed and passed final inspection on 6 October 2026. Completion is limited to that alteration permit: the building's new-structure permit (NEWC2430776) is still shown as issued, and no certificate of occupancy, opening, operation, IT load or tenant is established. Other campus works (CLB3, two 52,500 sq ft structures, a 300,000 sq ft alteration and an office building) are not part of this project. evidence
City of Columbus, Ohio (Department of Building and Zoning Services) · published 2026-10-26
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 39.85253, -82.99681 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
Building CLB4 — 288,000 sq ft alteration works (Columbus permit ALTC2502418, final inspection approved)
Completed last observed as of · Authoritative status update
Layer 'BuildingPermits' of the City of Columbus Building_Permits feature service. Its editingInfo gives dataLastEditDate 1793005425533 (2026-10-26T09:03:45Z) and lastEditDate 2026-10-26T09:03:55Z; the field list includes permit number (B1_ALT_ID), parcel number, site address, permit status, issue date (ISSUED_DT) and status date (LAST_STATUS_DT). evidence
City of Columbus, Ohio (Department of Building and Zoning Services) · published 2026-10-26
The City's open-data item for the permit layer states that it 'shows building permits issued by the City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services', that the period of record is 2010 to present and that it 'is updated nightly as new permits are issued'; the data are dedicated to the public domain under CC0. The item (modified 2026-10-26T09:03:48Z) points to the Building_Permits feature service; the City's open-data hub lists it as dataset 'building-permits-3'. evidence
City of Columbus, Ohio (Department of Building and Zoning Services) · publication date not stated
The Franklin County Auditor parcel layer returns one record for 510-180711: site address 225 Rathmell Rd (ZIP 43137), description 'S HIGH ST', 480.431 stated acres, owner Magellan Enterprises LLC, tax mailing name Google LLC (Scottsdale, Arizona), land-use class 375 'data center', taxing district Columbus-Hamilton Local School District, building area 1,172,656 sq ft, building value 208,436,400 USD and land value 33,630,200 USD. evidence
Franklin County, Ohio (Auditor GIS) · publication date not stated
A query of the Franklin County parcel layer for land-use class 375 ('data center') returns 18 parcels. Only one has the tax mailing name Google LLC: 510-180711 (225 Rathmell Rd, owner Magellan Enterprises LLC, Columbus-Hamilton LSD). The others include Amazon Data Services Inc at 4120 Scioto Darby Crk (050-002806, City of Hilliard, 143.33 acres) and 4580-4640 Cosgray Rd (050-011455), Vadata Inc at 5109-5129 Hayden Run Rd (050-011444), Montauk Innovations LLC at 5266 Babbitt Rd (222-004984, the Atlas's Google New Albany campus), SI NAL01A ABS LLC (tax mailing name STACK INFRASTRUCTURE) at 7300 Souder Rd (222-004355), QTS New Albany III LLC, Edged Columbus LLC, Cologix COL4 LLC, Communications Realty Investments Columbus JV LLC, Compugen, Continental Broadband, CLOP Hilliard LLC, Discover, TJX, Motorists Mutual and Ohio Power Company (two parcels). evidence
Franklin County, Ohio (Auditor GIS) · publication date not stated
The explanation of Ordinance 0520-2021 states that 'Magellan Enterprises LLC is proposing to develop, construct (in one or more phases) and operate in one or more data center(s) as well as certain buildings, structures and infrastructure for accessory, supporting, associated or related uses, such as (but not limited to) offices and utility buildings' on 495.9 acres at 5076 South High Street, Columbus 43137, parcel number 510-180711, with an expected investment of about 300 million USD including an initial 150,000 sq ft building, under a 100%/15-year abatement in the Rickenbacker Community Reinvestment Area. evidence
City of Columbus, Ohio (City Council, Legistar) · published 2021-02-23
Legistar matter 116618, file 0520-2021, name 'Magellan Enterprises LLC CRA Agreement', type Ordinance, status Passed, introduced 23 February 2021 and passed 25 March 2021. evidence
City of Columbus, Ohio (City Council, Legistar) · published 2021-03-25
Source and location review
- Status source
- City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services, Building Permits layer (ArcGIS feature service Building_Permits, layer 0): all permits on parcel 510180711, 225 Rathmell Rd (version of 26 October 2026) evidence row
City of Columbus, Ohio (Department of Building and Zoning Services) · published 2026-10-26 · Government record - Locator
- Campus locator · Official source · official_tax_parcel_centroid evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 21 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 39.85253, -82.99681
- Geometry licence
- public-record-source-terms
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- official_tax_parcel_centroid
- Authority
- Official source
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- official_county_auditor_parcel_centroid_of_data_center_class_parcel
- Derivation
- direct_geometry
- Precision scope
- Planar centroid (computed in UTM 17N) of Franklin County Auditor tax parcel 510-180711 (225 Rathmell Rd / S High St, Columbus; 480.42 geodesic acres against 480.431 stated acres; about 1,192 by 2,191 m). The point lies inside the parcel, 473 m from its nearest boundary; the native EPSG:3735 cross-check differs by 0.93 m. It locates the data-centre campus parcel named in the permits and in Ordinance 0520-2021, not the CLB4 building footprint or a surveyed boundary.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The county publishes no positional accuracy for parcel polygons; the centroid represents a 480-acre campus parcel about 1.2 by 2.2 km, and the position of building CLB4 within it is not published.
- Geometry evidence
- 2b0d2423
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ArcGIS Online item 'Building Permits' (owner ColumbusOhioGIS): description and licence of the City of Columbus permit layer Archived copy | City of Columbus, Ohio (Department of Building and Zoning Services) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | CC0-1.0 | City of Columbus, Ohio, Department of Building and Zoning Services | 5930d3a626e5fe2ec110624d108c49afd5e12e607606c6ebce9518bd39ee220aRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| City of Columbus Building Permits feature service layer 0 (BuildingPermits): layer metadata at retrieval Archived copy | City of Columbus, Ohio (Department of Building and Zoning Services) Government record | Site and project identity | CC0-1.0 | City of Columbus, Ohio, Department of Building and Zoning Services | 5228724cfbcdf376d7f04ae9a562882d59e98c6d2e733c72f6610b697ee5c6b4Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services, Building Permits layer (ArcGIS feature service Building_Permits, layer 0): all permits on parcel 510180711, 225 Rathmell Rd (version of 26 October 2026) Archived copy | City of Columbus, Ohio (Department of Building and Zoning Services) Government record | Physical status | CC0-1.0 | City of Columbus, Ohio, Department of Building and Zoning Services | 2cb6cb58c6a4ce2f63d0d0e9fc3dbb9537fc202ec3578ead7d24a6b09c4a4e26Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| City of Columbus Legistar matter 0520-2021 ('Magellan Enterprises LLC CRA Agreement'): matter record Archived copy | City of Columbus, Ohio (City Council, Legistar) Government record | Site and project identity | public-record-source-terms | City of Columbus City Council | 6e2694f9faa5a8e9cb17902f48f49b09a4f20949a696f17baa8fcde0768e8648Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| City of Columbus Ordinance 0520-2021: Community Reinvestment Area Agreement with Magellan Enterprises LLC (legislation text) Archived copy | City of Columbus, Ohio (City Council, Legistar) Government record | Site and project identity | public-record-source-terms | City of Columbus City Council | f8e22f521f1cc571900d349c54951fa3a5d12cfda74273da005aa8dd6f1799f7Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Franklin County Auditor tax parcel 510-180711 (225 Rathmell Rd, Columbus) polygon in WGS84 Archived copy | Franklin County, Ohio (Auditor GIS) Government record | Geometry | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Franklin County Auditor | c510f79077b4519058452030e0eefbf68b4590f04129bf2ee6530ac3958f0230Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| Franklin County Auditor tax parcel 510-180711 (225 Rathmell Rd, Columbus; owner Magellan Enterprises LLC; class 375 data center): full parcel record Archived copy | Franklin County, Ohio (Auditor GIS) Government record | Site and project identity, Owner claim | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Franklin County Auditor | 2a77d6b03a9c9bfb017df208da3d204cfa5cf9d784ae7bf12e9e8607f363b70eRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Franklin County Auditor tax parcels with land-use class 375 'data center' (18 parcels; owner and tax mailing names) Archived copy | Franklin County, Ohio (Auditor GIS) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Franklin County Auditor | ae9ed4192696c36426fd2051b0428db5a2803eae49ec862134626e9f4b6c59b3Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| Google Data Centers: Ohio location page (captured 26 October 2026) Archived copy | Google LLC Company disclosure | Operator claim | not stated | all-rights-reserved | a04811656616c4d8c924856ee91179dec525be971b7c46fb0658aeaf7150aa1bRetained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Google Columbus Data Center Campus (225 Rathmell Road / 5076 South High Street) [site vcc-site-2f048b74f4ed91d150b5]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-2f048b74f4ed91d150b5/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction