DataBank SLC1 Downtown Salt Lake City Data Center (179 E Social Hall Ave)
Operational
United States · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
DataBank's SLC1 page, in its version modified on 29 September 2026, gives 'Downtown Salt Lake City Data Center (SLC1) 179 E Social Hall Ave Suite #200 - Salt Lake City, UT 84111' and says 'The site is also the primary carrier hotel for the Salt Lake City area, populated with multiple Tier-1 and Tier-2 network providers entering the building through multiple access points', with 10,610 IT square feet, 0.5 MW critical IT load, 38 onsite carriers, colocation and 7x24x365 hours of operation. This records the facility as operating on 29 September 2026, the modification day of the captured version (bounded below by the Internet Archive copy of 12 July 2026, modified 14 May 2026, which lists 40 onsite carriers, and above by the live capture of 26 October 2026); it is not an opening date, and 0.5 MW is a design rating, not observed load. evidence
DataBank, Ltd. · published 2026-09-29
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 40.76852, -111.88584 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Site locator; building footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
DataBank SLC1 — existing downtown data-centre and carrier-hotel operations
Operational last observed as of · Authoritative status update
The archived version (dateModified 2026-05-14T19:00:25Z) has the same SLC1 address, description, 10,610 IT sq ft and 0.5 MW figures as the 29 September 2026 version but lists 40 onsite carriers instead of 38. evidence
DataBank, Ltd. (archived by the Internet Archive) · published 2026-05-14
The sitemap gives lastmod 2026-09-29T22:05:14+00:00 for https://www.databank.com/data-centers/salt-lake-city/179-e-social-hall-avenue/ (the SLC1 page), matching its structured-data dateModified, and 2026-09-26T16:07:34+00:00 for the Salt Lake City market page. evidence
DataBank, Ltd. · publication date not stated
The press-release sitemap (204 items) has no release about SLC1 or 179 E Social Hall Ave; its Salt Lake items concern the 2017 integration of the C7 data centers and the Bluffdale Granite Point campus (SLC5, SLC6 and the substation), several re-saved in September 2026, and the latest items (12-13 October 2026) are company awards. evidence
DataBank Holdings, Ltd. · publication date not stated
- Companies
- Operator: DataBank (current) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- DataBank: Downtown Salt Lake City Data Center (SLC1), 179 E Social Hall Ave page (version modified 29 September 2026) evidence row
DataBank, Ltd. · published 2026-09-29 · Company disclosure - Locator
- Reviewed site locator · Official source · official_tax_parcel_centroid evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 28 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 40.76852, -111.88584
- Geometry licence
- public-record-source-terms
- Use scope
- Reviewed site locator
- Scope class
- official_tax_parcel_centroid
- Authority
- Official source
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- official_county_parcel_centroid_of_operator_address
- Derivation
- direct_geometry
- Precision scope
- Centroid of Salt Lake County parcel 16-06-102-017 (situs 179 E Social Hall Ave, Salt Lake City; 0.40 geodesic acres, about 39 by 42 m; commercial, built 1967; owner of record City Creek Reserve, Inc.). It locates the host building's parcel at the operator's address, not DataBank's suite.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The county publishes no positional accuracy for parcel polygons; the centroid represents the 0.4-acre host building parcel, and the suite's position within the building is not published.
- Geometry evidence
- b26f77dd
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DataBank: db_data_center sitemap (facility and campus pages with lastmod times) Archived copy | DataBank, Ltd. Operator website | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | DataBank, Ltd. | 4825354bce334532148647f790400c0e5a49a24ae276be7638bc07be7cd4a5feRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| DataBank: Downtown Salt Lake City Data Center (SLC1), 179 E Social Hall Ave page (version modified 29 September 2026) Archived copy | DataBank, Ltd. Company disclosure | Physical status, Operator claim | all-rights-reserved | DataBank, Ltd. | 05a9b1b9c5e62301139595b4dc4f533d2c5249466704e5afd13ee7ca36937675Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| DataBank: press-release sitemap (captured 26 October 2026) Archived copy | DataBank Holdings, Ltd. Operator website | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | DataBank | ec7750dd43cbb5cdeb773ccf6313e8921236a80d160e3c66f814a5b236706285Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| DataBank: SLC1 179 E Social Hall Ave page, Internet Archive copy of 12 July 2026 (version modified 14 May 2026) Archived copy | DataBank, Ltd. (archived by the Internet Archive) Company disclosure | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | DataBank, Ltd.; copy preserved by the Internet Archive Wayback Machine | 1a3930d0b98c59405ae72988d6aa1921c84064a28dd53aed900c99c39dea06b7Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Salt Lake County parcel 16-06-102-017 at 179 E Social Hall Ave, Salt Lake City (Land MapServer layer 1) Archived copy | Salt Lake County, Utah (county GIS, Land/Parcels layer) Government record | Geometry | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Salt Lake County, Utah | c75476f6c2ab1abb48258ca4694ca0e42c134d5030e792b463bf642c08194783Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). DataBank SLC1 Downtown Salt Lake City Data Center (179 E Social Hall Ave) [site vcc-site-4d899f62f639bc060a4d]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-4d899f62f639bc060a4d/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction