QTS Calatorao data center campus

Announced

Spain · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Blackstone, through its data center company QTS, proposes a 224-hectare data center campus on industrial land beside the A-2 motorway near Calatorao in Zaragoza province, Aragon. Announced in October 2024 at up to EUR 7.5 billion and reported at 300 MW of electrical capacity at full build-out, it received a regional general-interest declaration (DIGA) in October 2024 and initial approval of its regional general-interest plan (PIGA) in August 2025. QTS describes it as a proposed development and has not published a construction schedule.

Source record as of 2025-08-27 · Details and sources

The Government of Aragón approved part of the Plan of General Interest for Proyecto Rhodes, the data-centre campus planned on 223.4 ha of industrial land beside the A-2 in Calatorao, on 28 September 2026 (published 30 September). The approval covers the planning documents, reparcelling, urbanisation and external power, water and drainage connections, which become executable. The phase 1 data-centre project of eight buildings is not approved while its integrated environmental authorisation is pending. The campus remains announced; no data-centre development consent or physical work is established. evidence

Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) · published 2026-09-30

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 41.52220, -1.34640 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

QTS Calatorao data center campus

Announced last observed as of · Project announcement

This record reports announced as of 2025-08-27. elDiario.es; QTS Data Centers

Location: Calatorao, Zaragoza, Aragón, ES. Nominatim centroid of the municipality of Calatorao; sources place the site on industrial land beside the A-2 about 7 km from the town centre, without a parcel. Brainsre.news; Investment Monitor; QTS Data Centers

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Investmentup to 7,500,000,000 EURAnnounced · Campus2024-10-14Investment Monitor, citing Reuters, reported that half the site would be developed first and a further EUR 7.5 billion invested later for the remainder; that second tranche is not added here.Brainsre.news; Investment Monitor; Merca2
Power capacity300 MWPlanned · Campus · Unspecified2024-10-16Reported electrical capacity when fully operational; not confirmed on the QTS page.Investment Monitor
Land area224 hectaresPlanned · Campus2024-10-14Brainsre.news; Investment Monitor; Merca2; QTS Data Centers

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
QTS Data CentersDeveloperQTS Data Centers; QTS Data Centers
QTS Data CentersOperatorQTS Data Centers; QTS Data Centers
BlackstoneInvestorFunds managed by Blackstone affiliates finance the project; QTS is a Blackstone portfolio company.Brainsre.news; Investment Monitor; QTS Data Centers; QTS Data Centers
Gobierno de AragónGovernmentGranted the DIGA declaration and the initial PIGA approval.Brainsre.news; elDiario.es

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2024-10-14AnnouncedActualAnnounced by Aragon's regional president.Brainsre.news
2024-10OtherActualAragon's cabinet approved a declaration of regional general interest (DIGA), starting the planning process.Brainsre.news; Merca2
2025-08OtherActualInitial (not final) approval of the regional general-interest plan (PIGA), published in the Boletín Oficial de Aragón in late August 2025.elDiario.es

Aragon cites up to 1,400 direct jobs in technology, construction and other sectors, and QTS about 1,400 direct plus up to 2,000 indirect jobs; these are not split by phase, so no jobs metric is recorded. No 2026 status update could be found; QTS's undated pages describe a proposed development worth several billion euros.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: QTS Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: QTS Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Operator: QTS Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Operator: QTS Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Investor: Blackstone (unknown scope) evidence
  • Investor: Blackstone (unknown scope) evidence
  • Investor: Blackstone (unknown scope) evidence
  • Investor: Blackstone (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Gobierno de Aragón (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Gobierno de Aragón (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
ORDEN VFL/1400/2026: partial definitive approval of the PIGA "Proyecto Rhodes" data-centre campus, Calatorao evidence row
Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón) · published 2026-09-30 · Government record
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 27 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
41.52220, -1.34640
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Nominatim centroid of the municipality of Calatorao; sources place the site on industrial land beside the A-2 about 7 km from the town centre, without a parcel.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
1503cf45

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for QTS Calatorao data center campus
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Aragón, la mina de oro española de los centros de datos: Microsoft, AWS, Meta y Blackstone
Archived copy
Merca2
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Othersource-terms-not-recordedMerca2e2893c6bc0ea3b1da5d22bad654b0920a0921f1f7099e9f937eeb01f7820d980
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Blackstone invertirá hasta 7.500 millones en un data center en Aragón
Archived copy
Brainsre.news
Trade publication
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: Other, Role: Government, Role: Investorsource-terms-not-recordedBrainsre.news512ccaab5844e5f631756c99eee4584b808c9293061728b19c3b49f117ead5a5
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Blackstone to make $8.2bn data centre investment in Spain
Archived copy
Investment Monitor
Trade publication
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Role: Investorsource-terms-not-recordedInvestment Monitor1d5b05f5eddbb80a9414e1f0ce366722769f9148f6bd85a759f1f8f2b3aa53ef
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Calatorao data centre campus
Archived copy
QTS Data Centers
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Land Area, Role: Developer, Role: Investor, Operator claimnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedQTS Data Centers63885ea623d5e050b5bc8150d851787bb0c638549d2bc10c60bc8393a295c56e
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Campus de centros de datos de Calatorao
Archived copy
QTS Data Centers
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Role: Developer, Role: Investor, Operator claimnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedQTS Data Centers37f890869b1119e3a64e55b3ccde618ba9b8a2334308f01ef3ffc6123efc2134
Factual source record; not the publisher page
La explosión de los centros de datos en Aragón: entre la opacidad, el choque institucional y el riesgo de colapso
Archived copy
elDiario.es
News
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Milestone: Other, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedelDiario.ese34407249b0c908201fe9fcd4e1bfd82f6aad85305bf4f1a5d2b80bb096d093b
Factual source record; not the publisher page
ORDEN VFL/1400/2026: partial definitive approval of the PIGA "Proyecto Rhodes" data-centre campus, Calatorao
Archived copy
Boletín Oficial de Aragón (Gobierno de Aragón)
Government record
Project announcementpublic-sector-informationGobierno de Aragón, Boletín Oficial de Aragónc31b1cf617ac05bcaca6658f2d5f8c5e0e514f4fa477bf3cafffb31fef82c898
Retained source material; see source provenance
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). QTS Calatorao data center campus [site vcc-site-62511f2ff7c107b083ea]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-62511f2ff7c107b083ea/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction