SoftBank Hokkaido Tomakomai AI Data Center

Under construction

Japan · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

SoftBank Corp. and its subsidiary IDC Frontier are building a large AI data center in Tomakomai, Hokkaido, as the core site of SoftBank's Brain DataCenter concept. The plan, selected for a Japanese government regional data center subsidy in 2023, starts with a data center of about 50 MW, with receiving capacity expected to grow past 300 MW on a site of about 700,000 square meters. Ground was broken in April 2025 and SoftBank targets opening in fiscal 2026. The company intends to run the facility on renewable electricity sourced within Hokkaido.

Source record as of 2026-06-23 · Details and sources

SoftBank's October 21, 2026 news article describes the Hokkaido Tomakomai AI Data Center as under construction by SoftBank in Tomakomai, aiming to open within FY2026, and declares its information current at publication. The record stays at the general construction stage; no building completion, energization, installed capacity or opening is established. evidence

SoftBank Corp. · published 2026-10-21

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 42.63410, 141.60550 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

SoftBank Hokkaido Tomakomai AI Data Center

Under construction last observed as of · Authoritative status update

This record reports under construction as of 2026-06-23. SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News); SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)

Location: Tomakomai, Hokkaido, JP. Sources name Tomakomai City only; coordinates are the OpenStreetMap Nominatim centroid of the city boundary. SoftBank Corp.; SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News); W.Media

Use: Ai unspecified

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Power capacityabout 50 MWPlanned · Phase · Unspecified · Initial phase targeted for FY20262023-11-07SoftBank describes the first stage as a data center of about 50 MW scale, without saying whether this is receiving capacity or IT load.SoftBank Corp.
Power capacity50 MWPlanned · Phase · Unspecified · Phase 1 (completion scheduled 2026)2025-04-30Trade press figure at groundbreaking; scope not stated.W.Media
Power capacity10 MWPlanned · Phase · Grid connection · Initial receiving capacity (trade press)2023-11-07Dempa reported 10 MW of total initial receiving power; SoftBank's own release describes the first stage as a 50 MW-scale data center, and the reason for the difference was not found.Dempa Digital (Dempa Shimbun)
Power capacitymore than 300 MWPlanned · Campus · Grid connection2023-11-07Projected future receiving capacity; SoftBank's 2025 groundbreaking article repeats a capacity expected to exceed 300 MW.SoftBank Corp.; Dempa Digital (Dempa Shimbun); SoftBank Corp.
Investmentmore than 65,000,000,000 JPYReported · Campus2023-11-07Total project cost reported by trade press at the subsidy announcement; the government subsidy covers about half.Dempa Digital (Dempa Shimbun)
Investmentabout 65,000,000,000 JPYReported · Campus2025-04-30W.Media
Land areaabout 70 hectaresPlanned · Campus2025-05-01Reported as about 700,000 square meters at full build-out.SoftBank Corp.; SoftBank Corp.; SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
SoftBank Corp.DeveloperSoftBank Corp.; SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News); SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News); SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)
IDC Frontier Inc.DeveloperSoftBank subsidiary; co-selected with SoftBank as development operator under the subsidy program and named as co-builder at groundbreaking.SoftBank Corp.; SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)
Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (Japan)GovernmentProvides a subsidy under its FY2023 regional data center program; trade press reported a maximum of 30 billion yen, about half the project cost.Dempa Digital (Dempa Shimbun); W.Media; SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)
SB Power Corp.Power supplierSoftBank Corp.
Hokkaido Electric Power CompanyPower supplierSoftBank Corp.

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2023-11-07AnnouncedActualPlan announced as SoftBank and IDC Frontier were selected for the government subsidy.SoftBank Corp.; Dempa Digital (Dempa Shimbun)
2025-04-15Construction startedActualGroundbreaking ceremony.SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News); W.Media
2027-03First operationalPlannedSoftBank targets opening in fiscal 2026, which ends in March 2027; the date shown is the end of that window.SoftBank Corp.; SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News); SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
GridElectricity to be supplied through SoftBank's retail subsidiary SB Power and Hokkaido Electric Power.SoftBank Corp.
OtherSoftBank plans to run the facility on 100% renewable electricity procured within Hokkaido.SoftBank Corp.; SoftBank Corp.; SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)
Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: SoftBank Corp. (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: SoftBank Corp. (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: SoftBank Corp. (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: SoftBank Corp. (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: IDC Frontier Inc. (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: IDC Frontier Inc. (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (Japan) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (Japan) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (Japan) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Power Supplier: SB Power Corp. (unknown scope) evidence
  • Power Supplier: Hokkaido Electric Power Company (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
SoftBank News (October 21, 2026): woodland on the Hokkaido Tomakomai AI Data Center site certified as a nature-coexistence site evidence row
SoftBank Corp. · published 2026-10-21 · Company disclosure
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 6 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
42.63410, 141.60550
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Sources name Tomakomai City only; coordinates are the OpenStreetMap Nominatim centroid of the city boundary.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
d00b5a09

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for SoftBank Hokkaido Tomakomai AI Data Center
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Building for the AI Era: An Inside Look at SoftBank Corp.'s Next-generation AI Data Center in Hokkaido
Archived copy
SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Milestone: First Operational, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedSoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)271fe43961156ea91376cbe4bf61fcbde647e880dbc849fc15376364f53adf33
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Laying the Foundation for the AI Era: Construction Begins on "Hokkaido Tomakomai AI Data Center"
Archived copy
SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: First Operational, Power Source: Other, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedSoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)72355ba32f5b328c8bee706475f5381b29d2d5713dcf208b8876247af9bc1591
Factual source record; not the publisher page
SoftBank breaks ground for AI data center in Hokkaido
Archived copy
W.Media
Trade publication
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Construction Started, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedW.Mediae7becffca6172d3d4b6ce53064485694e7e25aef0d5adf22ead520d25019705c
Factual source record; not the publisher page
SoftBank Corp.'s 40th Annual General Meeting of Shareholders: Building on Telecommunications Foundation to Unlock Potential of AI
Archived copy
SoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedSoftBank Corp. (SoftBank News)d228033f8c9504b67653fcf29e33ac0402fc8380a31db5d8856b6805b7db5d68
Factual source record; not the publisher page
SoftBank News (October 21, 2026): woodland on the Hokkaido Tomakomai AI Data Center site certified as a nature-coexistence site
Archived copy
SoftBank Corp.
Company disclosure
Physical statusall-rights-reservedSoftBank Corp.55d90c284ce3d5d1b548e34202b7bb82cc4af03e00d9f2c60302e6f143165880
Retained source material; see source provenance
SoftBank news: Tomakomai construction progressing and nature coexistence
Archived copy
SoftBank Corp.
Company disclosure
Physical statusall-rights-reservedSoftBank Corp.1682e713ba8080ad7a8a47c4e2bd4c9a802b291d8e89e858383601b8a978dd70
Retained source material; see source provenance
北海道苫小牧データセンター
Archived copy
SoftBank Corp.
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Power Source: Othernot statedsource-terms-not-recordedSoftBank Corp.06cb4ee391bcedc7642bede6f36e155b9fc9573bb5b8ccb27ab30d2c95ace43a
Factual source record; not the publisher page
次世代社会インフラ構想の要となる大規模な計算基盤を備えたデータセンター「Core Brain」を構築
Archived copy
SoftBank Corp.
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: First Operational, Power Source: Grid, Power Source: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Power Suppliersource-terms-not-recordedSoftBank Corp.db96655f695b85ec7edc705d6d31c0408d08a979110715e563946f0e1435af22
Factual source record; not the publisher page
経産省、北海道苫小牧市のデータセンターに300億円補助 ソフトバンクが建設予定
Archived copy
Dempa Digital (Dempa Shimbun)
Trade publication
Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedDempa Digital (Dempa Shimbun)e3e54ebeb8e638d6c0a011c8a5a46cb1b0f4f2022a880312d4d665c9a2fdd2a1
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). SoftBank Hokkaido Tomakomai AI Data Center [site vcc-site-6fc591eaf0edc175a75c]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-6fc591eaf0edc175a75c/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction