NEXTDC M4 Melbourne Data Center Campus
Announced Site preparation
Australia · 2 projects · Last reported
Summary
NEXTDC M4 Initial Early Works
The announcement explicitly dates continuing development at June 30 and separately names M4 Melbourne, GE1 Geelong and KL1 Kuala Lumpur. Its delivered KL1 portion is distinct from the remaining work selected here. evidence
NEXTDC Limited · published 2026-08-27
NEXTDC M4 Melbourne
NEXTDC plans an AI factory and technology campus, called M4, on the former Westgate Park printing complex at 127 Todd Road in Port Melbourne's Fishermans Bend precinct. Announced in June 2025 as an A$2 billion project of up to 150 MW, designed for very high-density Nvidia-class AI racks and linked with university, defence and research partners, it received development approval from the Victorian Government by January 2026, when NEXTDC cited 162 MW. Construction timing has not been published.
Source record as of 2026-01-19 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: -37.82871, 144.91146 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (2)
NEXTDC M4 Initial Early Works
Site preparation last observed as of · Authoritative status update
Source and location review
- Status source
- NEXTDC FY26 announcement: named M4, GE1 and KL1 work at June 30 evidence row
NEXTDC Limited · published 2026-08-27 · Company disclosure - Locator
- Campus locator · Official source · official_virtual_address_campus_reference_point evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed_ for_ core_ preview
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 119 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
NEXTDC M4 Melbourne
Announced last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Port Melbourne, Victoria, AU. NEXTDC gives the address 127 Todd Road, Port Melbourne. OpenStreetMap Nominatim matched Todd Road but not the house number, so coordinates are a point on Todd Road near the site. NEXTDC; NEXTDC
Use: Ai unspecified
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power capacity | up to 150 MW | Planned · Campus · Unspecified | 2025-06-12 | NEXTDC | |
| Power capacity | 162 MW | Planned · Campus · Unspecified | 2026-01-19 | Capacity stated in NEXTDC's development approval announcement; the release does not say whether the approval itself sets a power limit or whether the figure is IT load. | NEXTDC |
| Power capacity | 150 MW | Planned · Campus · It load | 2026-10 | Undated facility page, viewed October 2026, gives a target of 150 MW of IT capacity and 26,400 square meters of technical space. | NEXTDC |
| Investment | 2,000,000,000 AUD | Announced · Campus | 2025-06-12 | NEXTDC; NEXTDC | |
| Floor area | 50,000 sq_m | Planned · Campus | 2025-06-12 | Area given for mission-critical facilities. | NEXTDC |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| NEXTDC | Developer | NEXTDC; NEXTDC; NEXTDC | |
| Victorian Government | Government | Granted development approval. | NEXTDC |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-12 | Announced | Actual | NEXTDC | |
| 2026-01 | Permit approved | Actual | Development approval announced on 19 January 2026; the approval date itself was not stated. | NEXTDC |
Sources for these details
- NEXTDC Announces $2 Billion AI Factory and Technology Campus at Fishermans Bend — NEXTDC; 2025-06-12
- M4 Technology Campus Approved — NEXTDC; 2026-01-19 · Archived source
- M4 Melbourne Data Centre — NEXTDC; publication date not stated · Archived source
- Companies
Source and location review
- Status source
- M4 Technology Campus Approved evidence row
NEXTDC · published 2026-01-19 · Company disclosure - Locator
- Approximate site reference · Compiled location reference · approximate_site evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 281 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- -37.82871, 144.91146
- Geometry licence
- CC-BY-4.0
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- official_virtual_address_campus_reference_point
- Authority
- Official source
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- preserve_Vicmap_PFI214016983_point_response_in_EPSG4326_bound_to_NEXTDC_M4_127_Todd_Road
- Derivation
- exact_official_primary_virtual_address_point
- Precision scope
- Primary virtual address point for 127 Todd Road; source location descriptor PART is retained. The exact operator address and CP172440L government site record bind the campus. Not a surveyed entrance, full campus boundary, built footprint or June30 work extent; not the near-coincident non-primary entrance point.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
No feature-specific quantitative positional-accuracy estimate is supplied by the selected point source. Coordinate digits are retained without asserting survey accuracy.
- Geometry evidence
- 21e4e740 2ebacc55 a53097c1 a5f4e2d6 d023a91d
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Australian government catalogue: official Vicmap Address endpoint Archived copy | Victoria Department of Transport and Planning / Vicmap Government record | Site distinctness context, Geometry | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of Victoria, Department of Transport and Planning, Vicmap | 1c376e0ae2aea9918a6e12640db46d0afdc0819eac0355f02a375f3d3b0f8f52Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| M4 exact primary Vicmap address point at 127 Todd Road Archived copy | Victoria Department of Transport and Planning / Vicmap Government record | Site distinctness context, Geometry | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of Victoria, Department of Transport and Planning, Vicmap | 9bcd66a2ea97aace1aa0129773fe77948a6976fbaa8018012d64f76782203cddRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| M4 Melbourne Data Centre Archived copy | NEXTDC Company disclosure | Imported: Record, Metric: Power Capacity, Role: Developer | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | NEXTDC | 6a4d5446f781313c85cd1b9a4dc81ee8de883768de515747e8c784f9de4569b1Factual source record; not the publisher page | |
| M4 officer report: NEXTDC address and CP172440L parcel Archived copy | Victoria Department of Transport and Planning Government record | Geometry identity context, Site distinctness context | not stated | all-rights-reserved | Victoria Department of Transport and Planning | 1006e3452d5186c0078d82f084da3592de57345486fa2acacc73fc65b3da3d46Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| M4 Technology Campus Approved Archived copy | NEXTDC Company disclosure | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Permit Approved, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | NEXTDC | 07d668cadb81ba71aeed3b4c875116e837151bbc5fc6cebebdd8a726d6199758Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| NEXTDC Announces $2 Billion AI Factory and Technology Campus at Fishermans Bend Archived copy | NEXTDC Company disclosure | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Role: Developer | source-terms-not-recorded | NEXTDC | f6fded2437f48f999ac0f53caa6923bada6ffc587252afcaa788705788efbaebFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| NEXTDC FY26 announcement: named M4, GE1 and KL1 work at June 30 Archived copy | NEXTDC Limited Company disclosure | Geometry identity context, Site distinctness context, Physical status | all-rights-reserved | NEXTDC Limited | e803bedfe822498532c9d33d194646b4cbe00eaf77e887273ce5874297dccc9cRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| NEXTDC FY26 presentation: M4 early works and GE1/KL1 construction scope Archived copy | NEXTDC Limited Company disclosure | Geometry identity context, Site distinctness context | all-rights-reserved | NEXTDC Limited | 4cb87fe19f96f70ccd8097cc7a3ceb39e8bcfe19e87d6d674aee0e8a9369a2d4Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| NEXTDC M4 announcement: exact 127 Todd Road campus identity Archived copy | NEXTDC Limited Company disclosure | Geometry identity context, Site distinctness context | all-rights-reserved | NEXTDC Limited | f5fa90cc6d137d7db524c79ae61524491e78e3cde2ba6356e9232ce093527896Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Vicmap Address dictionary: virtual versus entrance points Archived copy | Victoria Department of Transport and Planning / Vicmap Government record | Site distinctness context, Geometry | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of Victoria, Department of Transport and Planning, Vicmap | 1c03a65ba036ecf8c9437a1e7284637316204ca7b10b4a38566b028bde15430bRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Vicmap Address layer: point schema and storage spatial reference Archived copy | Victoria Department of Transport and Planning / Vicmap Government record | Site distinctness context, Geometry | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of Victoria, Department of Transport and Planning, Vicmap | 95dec67863ee5c5ecb00924e1f74725efc226c9fd3b3ff7aa5eaf0560fc04afaRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Vicmap Address service item: publisher and current data licence Archived copy | Victoria Department of Transport and Planning / Vicmap Government record | Site distinctness context, Geometry | not stated | CC-BY-4.0 | © State of Victoria, Department of Transport and Planning, Vicmap | f3a334b20ddf6ceb9d7953cb980068d85e1db926324d6f2a6d040f0aefe34a33Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). NEXTDC M4 Melbourne Data Center Campus [site vcc-site-78289e1b65e2284a986f]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-78289e1b65e2284a986f/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction