DataBank Ashburn Campus (IAD1, IAD3 and IAD4, Red Rum Drive)
Operational
United States · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
DataBank's Ashburn Campus page, in its version modified on 17 September 2026, states that the 18-acre campus 'is home to IAD1, IAD3 and IAD4 data centers with rich campus cross-connect and interconnection options' and is served by an off-site utility substation providing 70 MW, and lists IAD1 at 21635 Red Rum Drive (85,330 IT sq ft, 9.9 MW) and IAD3 at 21630 Red Rum Drive (200,000 IT sq ft, 40 MW), each with 18 onsite carriers (updated from 20 and 19 in the archived May 2026 copy). DataBank's IAD4 page (version of 13 August 2026) calls IAD1 and IAD3 the 'two existing facilities ... already in operation', and the IAD3 page (version of 28 September 2026) says IAD3 opened in 2023. This records IAD1 and IAD3 as operating on 17 September 2026, the modification day of the captured campus page; it is not an opening date. IAD4's status is not established, and the capacities are design figures, not load in service. evidence
DataBank Holdings, Ltd. · published 2026-09-17
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 39.01652, -77.48215 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
DataBank Ashburn Campus — existing IAD1 and IAD3 data-centre operations
Operational last observed as of · Authoritative status update
The archived Ashburn Campus page (dateModified 2024-08-01) already lists IAD1 (21635 Red Rum Drive), IAD3 (21630 Red Rum Drive) and IAD4 (21625 Red Rum Drive) on the 18-acre campus, with 'Raised Square Footage' labels and 20, 19 and 20 onsite carriers. evidence
DataBank Holdings, Ltd. (Internet Archive copy) · publication date not stated
DataBank's IAD4 page (21625 Red Rum Drive) says that 'IAD4 and surrounding 5-acres of land will join the two existing facilities (IAD1, IAD3) already in operation on the existing 13-acre campus' and that IAD4 will add 20 MW and 60,000 IT square feet, bringing the campus to 18 acres and 70 MW; its specification block gives 70,000 IT square feet, 20 MW and 17 onsite carriers. evidence
DataBank Holdings, Ltd. · published 2026-08-13
DataBank's IAD3 page (21630 Red Rum Drive) states: 'Opened in 2023, IAD3 is the newest addition to DataBank's 18-acre Ashburn Campus, expanding the site to 355,000 IT square feet and 70MW of critical IT power', and lists 200,000 IT square feet, 40 MW critical IT load, 18 onsite carriers, a 100% uptime SLA and 7x24x365 hours of operation and remote hands. evidence
DataBank Holdings, Ltd. · published 2026-09-28
DataBank's IAD1 page (21635 Red Rum Drive) says that 'DataBank's IAD1 facility anchors our Ashburn Campus' and that 'This site offers customizable solutions from 5kW cabinets to full 2MW deployments', listing 85,330 IT square feet, 9.9 MW critical IT load, 18 onsite carriers and 7x24x365 hours of operation. evidence
DataBank Holdings, Ltd. · published 2026-08-13
The LandMARC Permits Issued layer (snapshot 22 October 2026) lists 59 permits on the two parcels, including electrical permits described 'data bank iad 3 data hall 9' (21630 Red Rum Dr) and 'data bank iad 3 data hall 10', interior alterations for an existing tenant space 'Databank' (2024), repeated hot-aisle-containment alterations in existing data halls at 21630 (2023-2026), a building permit 'BUILDING 2ND FLOOR OFFICE TENANT FIT OUT - DATABANK' at 21635 Red Rum Dr (issued 23 July 2026) and a 'Red Rum Data Center Fit-out' zoning permit at 21625 (issued 12 February 2026). No demolition, closure or new data-centre building permit is recorded. evidence
Loudoun County, Virginia (Office of Mapping and Geographic Information / Building and Development) · published 2026-10-22
The county Address Points layer returns 14 addresses on Red Rum Drive. 21625, 21631 and 21635 Red Rum Dr carry MCPI 088381462000 and 21630 Red Rum Dr carries MCPI 088481748000; all four lie inside the locator parcels, 99-153 m from the union centroid. 21741 and 21745 Red Rum Dr (MCPI 088389930000, the adjacent Sabey Ashburn campus) and 21735 Red Rum Dr (MCPI 088397199000) are on other parcels. evidence
Loudoun County, Virginia (Office of Mapping and Geographic Information / Building and Development) · publication date not stated
- Companies
- Operator: DataBank (current) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- DataBank: Ashburn Campus (IAD) page (version modified 17 September 2026) evidence row
DataBank Holdings, Ltd. · published 2026-09-17 · Company disclosure - Locator
- Campus locator · Official source · official_tax_parcel_union_centroid evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 40 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 39.01652, -77.48215
- Geometry licence
- public-record-source-terms
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- official_tax_parcel_union_centroid
- Authority
- Official source
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- official_parcel_union_centroid
- Derivation
- direct_geometry
- Precision scope
- Planar centroid of the union of Loudoun County parcels MCPI 088381462000 (Red Rum Land Condo, 15.19 geodesic acres) and 088481748000 (11.00 geodesic acres) on either side of Red Rum Drive (two parts, 26.19 geodesic acres, about 345 by 535 m). It locates the campus property carrying IAD1, IAD3 and IAD4, not a building footprint; the union is larger than the 18 acres DataBank states and includes an unattributed address point (21631 Red Rum Dr) on the land-condominium parcel.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The county publishes no positional accuracy for its parcel polygons; the centroid represents a two-parcel, 26-acre property that differs from the operator's 18-acre campus figure.
- Geometry evidence
- 4512ec2f
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DataBank: Ashburn Campus (IAD) page (version modified 17 September 2026) Archived copy | DataBank Holdings, Ltd. Company disclosure | Physical status, Operator claim | all-rights-reserved | DataBank | 153e8ce73fce997da5d6246c4cb593bff87ff764ec1808a0b9543e2c649a67e6Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| DataBank: IAD1 Ashburn Campus data center page (version modified 13 August 2026) Archived copy | DataBank Holdings, Ltd. Company disclosure | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | DataBank | 374f106583b535cdb839d75e1077c2e20549990dd9c92a0ffb64715de9121a31Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| DataBank: IAD3 Ashburn Campus data center page (version modified 28 September 2026) Archived copy | DataBank Holdings, Ltd. Company disclosure | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | DataBank | da29be3d402e795bffb3f38a6a1d32b6c4ab7270f68238e5f81783dbc37ee7f6Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| DataBank: IAD4 Ashburn Campus data center page (version modified 13 August 2026) Archived copy | DataBank Holdings, Ltd. Company disclosure | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | DataBank | b0922c7f2dadbf1176951a048204798632d623a836d1d77f6ab607ddd558175dRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Internet Archive copy (12 May 2026) of the DataBank Ashburn Campus page Archived copy | DataBank Holdings, Ltd. (Internet Archive copy) Company disclosure | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | DataBank; copy held by the Internet Archive | 07c5b47f7c35c9e786d6ee6eddeccd9ff4fec44b74386dd467380035b2179466Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| Loudoun County address points on Red Rum Drive, Ashburn Archived copy | Loudoun County, Virginia (Office of Mapping and Geographic Information / Building and Development) Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Loudoun County, Virginia | bb510a6113c70ecc7ce60f8985737b307421cb9d214829b7a060687477364923Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| Loudoun County LandMARC issued permits on parcels 088381462000 and 088481748000 (DataBank Ashburn Campus), snapshot of 22 October 2026 Archived copy | Loudoun County, Virginia (Office of Mapping and Geographic Information / Building and Development) Government record | Site and project identity | public-record-source-terms | Loudoun County, Virginia | 5b858a42ed2713159adaca65c361190ba309afc46cbdb39ab966968e5f761508Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Loudoun County parcel boundaries MCPI 088381462000 (Red Rum Land Condo) and 088481748000 (Red Rum Drive, Ashburn; DataBank IAD1, IAD3 and IAD4) Archived copy | Loudoun County, Virginia (Office of Mapping and Geographic Information / Building and Development) Government record | Geometry | not stated | public-record-source-terms | Loudoun County, Virginia | 7d0f155af692e86067af2c68c7bcf760f0e7430277a6bad9835a53d2b4dae452Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). DataBank Ashburn Campus (IAD1, IAD3 and IAD4, Red Rum Drive) [site vcc-site-9621cf551283f98bcd19]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-9621cf551283f98bcd19/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction