Amazon Web Services King George County campus (Birchwood site)
Proposed
United States · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Proposed Amazon Web Services data center campus on about 869 acres at the former Birchwood coal power plant on State Route 3 in the Sealston area of King George County, Virginia. Rezoned in September 2023, it is planned at 7.25 to 7.5 million sq ft, with a first phase of up to eight buildings and about 4 million sq ft and nine more buildings in later phases, and is reported as a USD 6 billion project. The county approved tax incentives in December 2023, but a new board voted in January 2024 to renegotiate them; Amazon sought a vested rights review in 2025, and as of March 2026 the case was pending in circuit court with no construction reported.
Source record as of 2026-10-09 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 38.26140, -77.33190 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.
Projects (1)
Amazon Web Services King George County campus (Birchwood site)
Proposed last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Sealston, King George County, Virginia, US. Coordinates are the Sealston community coordinates from its Wikipedia page. Sources place the campus at the former Birchwood power plant on State Route 3 in the Sealston area but give no parcel coordinates. Bisnow; Fredericksburg Free Press; Wikipedia
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investment | about 6,000,000,000 USD | Reported · Campus | 2024-01-08 | Proposed investment reported when the county approved tax incentives in December 2023 and in later local coverage; the sources do not describe it as a commitment in the performance agreement. | Bisnow; Fredericksburg Free Press; Baxtel |
| Land area | about 869 acres | Reported · Campus | 2024-01-08 | Site area; the rezoning counsel gives about 870 acres. | Bisnow; Hirschler; Bisnow; Fredericksburg Free Press; Baxtel |
| Floor area | up to 7,500,000 sq_ft | Planned · Campus | 2024-01-08 | Full build-out over about 15 years. | Bisnow; Bisnow; Baxtel |
| Floor area | 7,250,000 sq_ft | Planned · Campus | 2024-03-23 | Figure given by the rezoning counsel and local press. | Hirschler; Fredericksburg Free Press |
| Floor area | about 4,000,000 sq_ft | Planned · Phase · Phase 1 | 2024-01-08 | Bisnow; Bisnow | |
| Buildings | up to 8 count | Planned · Phase · Phase 1 | 2024-01-08 | Data center buildings, plus two electrical substations. | Bisnow; Bisnow |
| Buildings | 9 count | Planned · Phase · Later phases | 2023-08-14 | Later phases on neighbouring parcels, adding about 3.5 million sq ft. | Bisnow; Baxtel |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Web Services | Developer | Named as Amazon Data Center Services by its rezoning counsel and as Amazon Web Services (AWS) in local press. | Hirschler; Fredericksburg Free Press |
| Amazon Web Services | Owner | Bought nine parcels for USD 168.8 million in December 2023, per Baxtel; a county supervisor said AWS owns the land. | Fredericksburg Free Press; Baxtel |
| Birchwood Power Partners | Developer | Subsidiary of J-Power that first proposed the campus at the former power plant site in July 2023. | Bisnow; Bisnow |
| King George County Board of Supervisors | Government | Approved the rezoning and a December 2023 performance agreement; a reconstituted board voted in January 2024 to renegotiate it. | Bisnow; Fredericksburg Free Press |
| Dominion Energy | Utility | Said new substations and transmission lines would be needed but it was not proposing power plants in the county. | Fredericksburg Free Press |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-07 | Announced | Actual | Birchwood Power Partners proposed the campus; Amazon was identified as the intended user soon after. | Bisnow; Bisnow |
| 2023-09 | Zoning approved | Actual | Hirschler; Bisnow | |
| 2023-12-19 | Other | Actual | The outgoing Board of Supervisors approved a performance agreement with tax incentives for the campus. | Bisnow; Fredericksburg Free Press |
| 2023-12 | Site acquired | Actual | Amazon bought nine parcels for USD 168.8 million, per Baxtel. | Baxtel |
| 2024-01 | Other | Actual | A reconstituted board voted on 2 January to renegotiate the performance agreement; a letter from Amazon's lawyer argued the vote did not affect the agreement's enforceability. | Bisnow; Fredericksburg Free Press |
| 2025-04 | Other | Actual | Amazon filed a court petition seeking a vested rights review; the county Board of Zoning Appeals denied its request in mid-2025 and the case was pending in circuit court as of March 2026, per Baxtel. | Baxtel |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Grid | Dominion Energy said new substations and transmission lines would be needed to support data center growth in the county and that it was not proposing power plants there; the first phase plans include two on-site electrical substations. | Bisnow; Fredericksburg Free Press |
Status comes from Baxtel's undated third-party listing (accessed 2026-10-09), which labels the project in doubt; its latest entry, for March 2026, says the case was pending in King George County Circuit Court with no ruling. No later ruling was found. Total floor area is reported as 7.5 million sq ft by Bisnow and Baxtel and 7.25 million sq ft by the rezoning counsel and local press. Baxtel gives a total of 19 buildings, which does not match its own phase breakdown of eight plus nine, so no campus building total is recorded. The site was the 258 MW Birchwood coal plant, decommissioned in 2021.
Sources for these details
- Amazon Data Center Campus Planned For King George County, Virginia, As Project Clears Key Hurdle — Bisnow; 2023-08-14
- Hirschler Secures Historic Rezoning for Massive Data Center Campus in King George County, Virginia — Hirschler; 2023-09
- Amazon Dealt Setback In Plan For $6B Virginia Data Center Campus — Bisnow; 2024-01-08
- King George supervisors ready to 'go to war' with Amazon — Fredericksburg Free Press; 2024-03-23
- Amazon: King George, VA Data Center — Baxtel; publication date not stated
- Sealston, Virginia — Wikipedia; publication date not stated
- Companies
- Developer: Amazon Web Services (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Amazon Web Services (unknown scope) evidence
- Owner: Amazon Web Services (unknown scope) evidence
- Owner: Amazon Web Services (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Birchwood Power Partners (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: Birchwood Power Partners (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: King George County Board of Supervisors (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: King George County Board of Supervisors (unknown scope) evidence
- Utility: Dominion Energy (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- Amazon: King George, VA Data Center evidence row
Baxtel · publication date not stated · Other - Locator
- Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 18 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 38.26140, -77.33190
- Geometry licence
- source-terms-not-recorded
- Use scope
- Locality reference only
- Scope class
- locality
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Project
- Method
- imported_reference_point
- Derivation
- imported_reference_point
- Precision scope
- Coordinates are the Sealston community coordinates from its Wikipedia page. Sources place the campus at the former Birchwood power plant on State Route 3 in the Sealston area but give no parcel coordinates.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.
- Geometry evidence
- 77cb3c3a
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Data Center Campus Planned For King George County, Virginia, As Project Clears Key Hurdle Archived copy | Bisnow Trade publication | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Announced, Role: Developer | source-terms-not-recorded | Bisnow | 31ce62acad4ac56d9aa735bff0e55e8bc030928b88d3746f85b80a26b55fd572Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Amazon Dealt Setback In Plan For $6B Virginia Data Center Campus Archived copy | Bisnow Trade publication | Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Zoning Approved, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | Bisnow | 10b313e64f7822d76ea820596b99023bd8415172bb4bd5d1e652727cc7a65861Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Amazon: King George, VA Data Center Archived copy | Baxtel Other | Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Site Acquired, Owner claim | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | Baxtel | 28e5b388e109cb1c7093de3834d0d3fdde9d9047180e1d6ae2bdbe42ef0024cfFactual source record; not the publisher page | |
| Hirschler Secures Historic Rezoning for Massive Data Center Campus in King George County, Virginia Archived copy | Hirschler Other | Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Zoning Approved, Role: Developer | source-terms-not-recorded | Hirschler | b88221054831892cdb0cad6f2151a64c58b3209bd7160b40e87e6488fc86ce11Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| King George supervisors ready to 'go to war' with Amazon Archived copy | Fredericksburg Free Press News | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Owner claim, Role: Utility | source-terms-not-recorded | Fredericksburg Free Press | 272338bd630124bac15b8e4153444bdd85b41b10446c41222425d3a48351f2e1Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Sealston, Virginia Archived copy | Wikipedia Other | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | Wikipedia | 73bdc7e65dde60efd0e9069cbb5d075754984c53d360580a7995114d7141b0efFactual source record; not the publisher page |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Amazon Web Services King George County campus (Birchwood site) [site vcc-site-9c23979ae731456903ea]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-9c23979ae731456903ea/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction