Nebius Independence AI factory

Under construction

United States · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Nebius is building what it calls its first gigawatt-scale AI infrastructure project in the US on about 400 acres in eastern Independence, Missouri, near Route 78 and Little Blue Parkway. The project page describes up to 1.2 GW across four buildings built over five to seven years, with 800 MW from Independence Power & Light and 400 MW of possible on-site generation still under evaluation. Nebius bought the land in December 2025, the City Council approved a Chapter 100 incentive in March 2026, and ground was broken in May 2026 with ARCO as general contractor.

Source record as of 2026-10-09 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 39.09250, -94.41390 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Nebius Independence AI factory

Under construction last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Independence, Missouri, US. City centroid from the Wikipedia infobox for Independence (s3). The groundbreaking release places the roughly 400-acre site in eastern Independence and the project page puts it at Route 78 and Little Blue Parkway, but no geocoder was used, so the point is the city centroid rather than the site. The city spans Jackson and Clay counties, so no county is given. Nebius; Nebius; Wikipedia

Use: Ai unspecified

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Power capacityup to 1,200 MWPlanned · Campus · Unspecified2026-10-09Total capacity on the undated project page, accessed on this date; the groundbreaking release calls the project gigawatt-scale without a figure.Nebius
Power capacity800 MWPlanned · Campus · Grid connection2026-10-09Share of the 1.2 GW the project FAQ attributes to Independence Power & Light; a further study for additional utility power is expected in early 2029.Nebius
Power capacity400 MWPlanned · Campus · Onsite generation2026-10-09On-site generation share in the FAQ; the same page says on-site generation is still being evaluated for a future phase.Nebius
Land areaabout 400 acresAcquired · Campus2026-05-12Nebius; Nebius
Buildings4 countPlanned · Campus2026-10-09Nebius
Jobs constructionabout 1,200 countPlanned · Campus2026-05-12The project page says more than 1,000.Nebius
Jobs permanentabout 130 countPlanned · Campus2026-05-12Nebius; Nebius

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
NebiusDeveloperNebius; Nebius
NebiusOwnerThe project page says Nebius bought the land from Northpoint in December 2025.Nebius
ARCO National ConstructionBuilderGeneral contractor for phase 1.Nebius; Nebius
Independence Power & LightUtilityTo supply 800 MW through the Southwest Power Pool grid and deliver initial power in the second half of 2026.Nebius
City of IndependenceGovernmentCity Council approved the Chapter 100 industrial development incentive in March 2026.Nebius

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2025-12Site acquiredActualLand purchased from Northpoint.Nebius
2026-03OtherActualIndependence City Council approved the Chapter 100 industrial development incentive application.Nebius
2026-05-12Construction startedActualGroundbreaking; construction of the first phase underway.Nebius; Nebius
2026-H2OtherPlannedIndependence Power & Light expected to deliver initial power.Nebius

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
GridPower from Independence Power & Light, a city utility in the Southwest Power Pool, with Nebius paying full costs; a privately financed plant by Independence Power Partners at the retired Blue Valley plant site is described as part of the supply plan.Nebius
OtherPossible on-site generation of about 400 MW for a future phase, technology not specified and still under evaluation.Nebius
Diesel backupTwo diesel emergency generators per building.Nebius

The Independence project page is undated; status_as_of and the as_of dates of figures taken only from it are the date it was accessed, when it said construction had begun.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: Nebius (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Nebius (unknown scope) evidence
  • Owner: Nebius (unknown scope) evidence
  • Builder: ARCO National Construction (unknown scope) evidence
  • Builder: ARCO National Construction (unknown scope) evidence
  • Utility: Independence Power & Light (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: City of Independence (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
Nebius breaks ground on gigawatt-scale AI factory in Independence, Missouri evidence row
Nebius · published 2026-05-12 · Company disclosure
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 18 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
39.09250, -94.41390
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
City centroid from the Wikipedia infobox for Independence (s3). The groundbreaking release places the roughly 400-acre site in eastern Independence and the project page puts it at Route 78 and Little Blue Parkway, but no geocoder was used, so the point is the city centroid rather than the site. The city spans Jackson and Clay counties, so no county is given.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
3e2c6a6a

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Nebius Independence AI factory
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Independence, Missouri
Archived copy
Wikipedia
Other
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Recordnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedWikipediaf126adf6a07d772677a31fd6dc93d71d504accf84ee58a4ac611c2e249c02ab8
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Nebius breaks ground on gigawatt-scale AI factory in Independence, Missouri
Archived copy
Nebius
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Construction Started, Role: Builder, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedNebiusc75e19780ed649661b298c710d655a50d63d865f13a9e3f0aa6ba455849d8294
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Nebius in Independence, Missouri project page
Archived copy
Nebius
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: Other, Milestone: Site Acquired, Power Source: Diesel Backup, Power Source: Grid, Power Source: Other, Role: Builder, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Owner claim, Role: Utilitynot statedsource-terms-not-recordedNebius3268e94e18a2b0885fa7f885db4a92a9514d66aea176c1e3bfdfd71202877c47
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Nebius Independence AI factory [site vcc-site-acf731facf63970bd84b]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-acf731facf63970bd84b/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction