Spruce Lake AI Data Centre
Announced
Canada · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
Beacon New Brunswick and VoltaGrid propose a 390 MW AI data centre with four data halls in the Spruce Lake Industrial Park, Lorneville, Saint John. It would be paired with a 190 MW on-site natural-gas plant and supplied with additional grid power. On September 15, 2026, the federal Impact Assessment Agency reported that it had received a request to designate the project for federal assessment and was analysing it. The provincial environmental review, registered in April, was still in progress at the end of September. Construction in 2026 and operation in mid-2028 are forecasts. evidence
Impact Assessment Agency of Canada · published 2026-09-15
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 45.18371, -66.17632 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Project locator; building footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
Spruce Lake AI Data Centre — proposed campus and on-site generation
Announced last observed as of · Project announcement
A public request asks the federal minister to designate the project. It summarises the proposal as a 390 MW hyperscale data centre with 190 MW of behind-the-meter gas generation, two 345 kV lines drawing about 200 MW from the NB Power grid, and two 4.5 km gas laterals. The site is about 120 ha, and investment of up to $2 billion has been reported. The request says construction is expected to begin in 2026, with operation targeted for 2028, and that the provincial EIA (project 1663) is in determination review. evidence
Impact Assessment Agency of Canada (registry copy of a public request) · published 2026-08-16
The provincial registry lists project 1663, registered on April 14, 2026 by Beacon New Brunswick Inc. and VoltaGrid LLC. It describes a 390 MW data centre and a 190 MW behind-the-meter gas generation facility in the Spruce Lake Industrial Park, Saint John (Kings / Saint John counties). Its status is "Determination review in progress". The listed documents are the registration, an updated site plan and pipeline-routing addendum, and the Round 1 TRC and proponent response report. evidence
New Brunswick Department of Environment and Local Government · publication date not stated
The April 28 addendum gives measured site plans for the Data Centre PDA (the lot) at the TRC's request, and an alternative gas-pipeline route west of the data-centre facility. Lot coverage is estimated at 20.8% for power generation, data halls, data hut and substation (37.5% with ancillary areas), within the 65% maximum for the Spruce Lake Industrial zone. The data-centre site itself is not relocated. evidence
Beacon New Brunswick Inc. and VoltaGrid LLC (prepared by Stantec) · published 2026-04-28
- Companies
- Operator: Beacon New Brunswick Inc. (Beacon AI Centers) (intended) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- Canadian Impact Assessment Registry: Spruce Lake AI Data Centre Project (reference 90762) evidence row
Impact Assessment Agency of Canada · published 2026-09-15 · Government record - Locator
- Project locator · Compiled location reference · mean_of_proponent_declared_onsite_stack_coordinates_in_eia_registration evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 42 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 45.18371, -66.17632
- Geometry licence
- all-rights-reserved
- Use scope
- Project locator
- Scope class
- mean_of_proponent_declared_onsite_stack_coordinates_in_eia_registration
- Authority
- Compiled location reference
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- arithmetic_mean_of_58_generator_and_boiler_stack_utm_nad83_zone19_coordinates_table_3_3_transformed_epsg26919_to_epsg4326_with_pyproj_3_7_1
- Derivation
- coordinate_transform
- Precision scope
- Mean of the 58 modelled on-site stack positions (50 gas-engine and 8 boiler stacks) inside the roughly 89 ha Data Centre Project Development Area. It locates the proposed campus, not a building footprint or surveyed boundary. The stacks lie up to 459 m from this point. The point is 198 m from IAAC's stated-approximate registry marker.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The machine-readable Data Centre PDA outline was not published; the modelled stack coordinates span up to about 459 m around the mean, and no surveyed accuracy is given.
- Geometry evidence
- 77516a5d
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian Impact Assessment Registry: Spruce Lake AI Data Centre Project (reference 90762) Archived copy | Impact Assessment Agency of Canada Government record | Project announcement | Crown copyright; Canada.ca terms and conditions | Impact Assessment Agency of Canada | 5e818d883f3404453c6fe06de508c0d1f6c9b2ce85ec7810d1ec71f01bc1b32fRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| New Brunswick EIA registrations and determinations (1657–most recent), Internet Archive copy of 30 September 2026 Archived copy | New Brunswick Department of Environment and Local Government Government record | Site and project identity | not stated | all-rights-reserved | New Brunswick Department of Environment and Local Government; Internet Archive | 27ff0c6ba98206331f4e194dfe89da3293ef53c68c9545321d88d23d0167332bRetained source material; see source provenance | |
| Request for designation of the Spruce Lake AI Data Centre Project (IAAC registry document 1) Archived copy | Impact Assessment Agency of Canada (registry copy of a public request) Regulatory filing | Site and project identity | Crown copyright registry copy of third-party content; Canada.ca terms and conditions | Impact Assessment Agency of Canada; requester | ac50e9782a8100093618bb83a49e7e2cb74f87f15e1f228c1bebcace00e43210Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Spruce Lake AI Data Centre Project — EIA Registration (NB project 1663), Internet Archive copy of 18 September 2026 Archived copy | Beacon New Brunswick Inc. and VoltaGrid LLC (prepared by Stantec), filed with NB Department of Environment and Local Government Regulatory filing | Geometry, Operator claim | all-rights-reserved | Beacon New Brunswick Inc.; VoltaGrid LLC; Stantec; NB Department of Environment and Local Government; Internet Archive | 0eae875d14f01ffc17370e9a67accb9144a53606a18c5b9954d84a6bd6080543Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Spruce Lake AI Data Centre — Updated Site Plans and Alternate Pipeline Route (EIA 1663 addendum, 28 April 2026), Internet Archive copy Archived copy | Beacon New Brunswick Inc. and VoltaGrid LLC (prepared by Stantec) Regulatory filing | Site and project identity | all-rights-reserved | Beacon New Brunswick Inc.; VoltaGrid LLC; Stantec; Internet Archive | 7451a12ff25299f91f5f32a1cf75b7b06e4cd8a47a1158a0a02a8f719ecaf35dRetained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). Spruce Lake AI Data Centre [site vcc-site-bea6bf727e581e987a62]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-bea6bf727e581e987a62/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction