Amazon Web Services Hobart data center campus

Announced

United States · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Planned Amazon data center campus on hundreds of acres of undeveloped land in Hobart, Lake County, Indiana. Hobart confirmed an agreement for the campus less than a day after Amazon announced USD 15 billion for new northern Indiana campuses in November 2025. The city council approved the project, reported at USD 11 billion, in January 2026 with a ten-year tax abatement and a long IT equipment exemption; Amazon has paid the city USD 47 million, with further payments tied to construction milestones. The mayor has estimated up to 25 buildings, with work slated to start in 2026 and finish in 2028. A resident's lawsuit over the approval process was still described as ongoing in August 2026.

Source record as of 2026-08-25 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 41.52860, -87.26750 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Amazon Web Services Hobart data center campus

Announced last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Hobart, Lake County, Indiana, US. Coordinates are the Hobart city coordinates from its Wikipedia page. The cited sources name the city but give no parcel or street location. 21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Business; FOX 32 Chicago; Wikipedia

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Investment11,000,000,000 USDReported · Campus2026-02-05Figure reported for the project approved by the Hobart City Council; the source does not say who produced it.FOX 32 Chicago
Buildingsup to 25 countPlanned · Campus2026-02-08The mayor's estimate; the city and Amazon had not confirmed the number or size of buildings.FOX 32 Chicago; FOX 32 Chicago
Jobs permanentmore than 400 countPlanned · Campus2026-02-05Amazon's figure to the city.FOX 32 Chicago; FOX 32 Chicago
Jobs permanentabout 1,000 countPlanned · Campus2025-11-25The mayor's estimate of long-term jobs when the agreement was confirmed; differs from Amazon's later figure of more than 400.21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Business

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
Amazon Web ServicesDeveloperHobart reports name the company only as Amazon; Amazon's Indiana announcement refers to AWS.Amazon; 21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Business; FOX 32 Chicago
City of HobartGovernmentThe council approved the project and an economic revitalization area designation; the plan commission approved a fill permit. A resident and her group are suing the city over the approval process.21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Business; FOX 32 Chicago; FOX 32 Chicago

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2025-11-25AnnouncedActualHobart confirmed an agreement for a campus less than a day after Amazon's USD 15 billion northern Indiana announcement.21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Business
2026-01Zoning approvedActualCity council approval, which Fox 32 describes as re-zoning the property as an economic revitalization area, with tax abatements.FOX 32 Chicago
2026-02Permit approvedActualThe plan commission approved a fill permit for soil testing; residents sought an injunction in Lake County court.FOX 32 Chicago
2026Construction startedPlanned21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Business; FOX 32 Chicago
2028Fully operationalPlannedTargeted completion of construction.FOX 32 Chicago

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
GridExpected to rely on the local utility's power; Amazon's November 2025 northern Indiana announcement set up a framework with NIPSCO under which Amazon pays fees for existing lines and covers new plants and lines, though sources do not tie it to Hobart explicitly. Residents raised reliability concerns after an August 2026 storm outage.Amazon; 21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Business; WBUR (Here & Now)

Amazon's USD 15 billion and 2.4 GW figures cover all of its new northern Indiana campuses, whose locations Amazon did not name; they are not recorded as Hobart metrics. Amazon's framework with NIPSCO's new generation subsidiary covers those campuses, but no opened source explicitly ties it to Hobart, so NIPSCO is not listed as a party. Fox 32 reports the Hobart project at USD 11 billion without saying who produced the estimate. No source opened confirms that construction had begun by October 2026; a fill permit for soil testing was approved in February 2026.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: Amazon Web Services (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Amazon Web Services (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Amazon Web Services (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: City of Hobart (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: City of Hobart (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: City of Hobart (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
'We want transparency before approvals happen': Residents oppose proposed $11 billion Amazon data center evidence row
FOX 32 Chicago · published 2026-02-05 · News
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 63 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
41.52860, -87.26750
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Coordinates are the Hobart city coordinates from its Wikipedia page. The cited sources name the city but give no parcel or street location.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
0eda5c21

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Amazon Web Services Hobart data center campus
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
'We want transparency before approvals happen': Residents oppose proposed $11 billion Amazon data center
Archived copy
FOX 32 Chicago
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: Fully Operational, Milestone: Zoning Approved, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedFOX 32 Chicagoe59aaf3f29a20f5a7e17367f8ea4cf1487d28672d863f2a0a32476ec162f5f05
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Amazon to invest $15 billion in Indiana for new data centers
Archived copy
Amazon
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedAmazon4a486168717d87fc51e9a7e363781d9282c36b347ead8fbe15aaef9b2a4ce238
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Hobart reaches agreement with Amazon for next-gen data center
Archived copy
21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Business
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: Construction Started, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recorded21Alive News (WPTA), from Inside INdiana Businessa0a7a8e8b26e0dbc7b9108bd32edf297c904ae8b0393135a0c62fad64cab868b
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Hobart, Indiana
Archived copy
Wikipedia
Other
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Recordnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedWikipedia9b4202c2a03bc13b522a3596de5bf5f342b2256d8ea8650c572cac9aa7418cbc
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Indiana power outage raises concerns about data centers
Archived copy
WBUR (Here & Now)
News
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Power Source: Gridsource-terms-not-recordedWBUR (Here & Now)a9d410f4e3b4c7eebe38897254b14184522bd07b164f47bc1e2217b390a38204
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Lawsuit seeks to block Amazon data center permit in Hobart, Ind.
Archived copy
FOX 32 Chicago
News
Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Milestone: Permit Approved, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedFOX 32 Chicago252cf832ce8631d828ffd516c79e4ef346e5a184cf7366581700d025ded6364b
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Amazon Web Services Hobart data center campus [site vcc-site-c51acbb151880f9815b8]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-c51acbb151880f9815b8/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction