Crossroads Technology Campus (Mills Drive / Eagle Drive, Spotsylvania County)

Announced

United States · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Spotsylvania County's Planning Department public-hearing cases status report of 14 October 2026 (Planning Commission packet for 21 October 2026) lists SUP26-0003, RCK Digital Crossroads LLC c/o Kettler, 'Crossroads Technology Park', a special use permit request 'to develop a data center campus' with data center buildings and three substations north of Mills Drive (Route 17) and west of Benchmark Road, and records that the Planning Commission 'recommended approval 4-2 on 9/16/2026', with the Board of Supervisors hearing scheduled for 17 November 2026. The 16 September staff report describes up to 2,087,000 square feet in seven data center buildings with three substations on about 555 acres (parcels 37-A-20, 37-A-21 and 37-A-17D), of which about 192 acres would be disturbed. This records a proposed development identified by dated county records on 16 September 2026; a Planning Commission recommendation is not a special use permit, site plan or building permit, and no physical work is asserted (the land is vacant and forested). evidence

Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal) · published 2026-10-14

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 38.23334, -77.45073 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.

Projects (1)

Crossroads Technology Campus — proposed seven-building data center campus (special use permit SUP26-0003)

Announced last observed as of · Project announcement

Executive summaries and staff report for '(VOTE ONLY) Crossroads Technology Campus 2232 Comprehensive Plan Review' and 'SUP26-0003: "Crossroads Technology Campus" RCK DIGITAL CROSSROADS LLC'. The applicant requests a special use permit for a data center campus of up to 2,087,000 square feet of data center buildings with three electrical substations on about 555 acres, tax parcels 37-A-20 (3215 Eagle Drive), 37-A-21 and 37-A-17D, on the north side of Eagle Drive (Route 736), Lee Hill School Drive (Route 635) and Mills Drive (Route 17), adjacent on the west to the CSX railroad; the land is currently vacant and forested; the Generalized Development Plan (Kimley-Horn, 26 August 2026) shows seven data center buildings (no more than 75 feet, two-storey configuration), three substations, utility buildings and water tanks, with about 192 acres disturbed. Staff recommend approval with conditions; the proposed conditions tie the Facility to parcels 37-A-20, 37-A-21 and 37-A-17D. Staff note that one transmission option would extend a line from near the PowerHouse 95 site along Route 17. The attached Rappahannock Electric Cooperative High Energy Use Facility form (submitted 7 August 2026) gives the applicant's estimated electric load as 894 MW, to be served by three new 230/34.5 kV 298 MVA distribution substations, with Dominion Energy as transmission provider; REC notes the load is the applicant's unverified estimate. evidence

Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal) · published 2026-09-16

Public hearing items include '(VOTE ONLY) Crossroads Technology Campus 2232 Comprehensive Plan Review' and 'SUP26-0003: "Crossroads Technology Campus" RCK DIGITAL CROSSROADS LLC'. evidence

Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal) · published 2026-09-16

The listing shows the 16 September 2026 Planning Commission meeting (event 818) with its agenda (file 2801) and agenda packet (file 2802), both published 2026-09-16T15:23Z, and the 21 October 2026 Planning Commission meeting (event 819) with its agenda (file 2822) and agenda packet (file 2823), both published 2026-10-14T14:55Z. The 7 October 2026 Planning Commission agenda (file 2808) lists approval of the draft minutes of 16 September 2026; no minutes file for the 16 September meeting is published. evidence

Spotsylvania County, Virginia (CivicClerk meeting portal API) · publication date not stated

The public hearings are SUP26-0005 (Tabernacle Church) and CPA25-0002 (2026 Comprehensive Plan); SUP26-0003 (Crossroads Technology Campus) is not on the agenda, consistent with the status report's Board hearing date of 17 November 2026. evidence

Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal) · published 2026-10-22

Source and location review
Status source
Spotsylvania County Planning Commission: agenda packet for the meeting of 21 October 2026 (Planning Department Public Hearing Cases Status Report dated 14 October 2026) evidence row
Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal) · published 2026-10-14 · Government record
Locator
Campus locator · Official source · official_tax_parcel_union_centroid evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 41 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
38.23334, -77.45073
Geometry licence
public-record-source-terms
Use scope
Campus locator
Scope class
official_tax_parcel_union_centroid
Authority
Official source
Source entity
Campus
Method
official_parcel_union_centroid
Derivation
direct_geometry
Precision scope
Planar centroid of the union of Spotsylvania County tax parcels 37-A-20, 37-A-21 and 37-A-17D, the three parcels named in the SUP26-0003 staff report, the applicant's narrative and the proposed conditions (one contiguous polygon of 546.64 geodesic acres against the application's 555 acres, about 2143 by 1990 m). It locates the application property; the seven building and three substation positions within it are not documented here, and only about 192 acres would be disturbed.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The county publishes no positional accuracy for its parcel polygons ('graphic representation only'); the centroid represents a 547-acre application property and the building positions within it are not documented.

Geometry evidence
2caf481f

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Crossroads Technology Campus (Mills Drive / Eagle Drive, Spotsylvania County)
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Spotsylvania County Board of Supervisors: agenda for the meeting of 27 October 2026
Archived copy
Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal)
Government record
Site and project identitypublic-record-source-termsSpotsylvania County, Virginiafb119e1435387748098fc756ba1ca9433a500b6a5013610e4a822e24acb415a4
Retained source material; see source provenance
Spotsylvania County CivicClerk event listing, 1 August to 26 October 2026 (published files and publication times)
Archived copy
Spotsylvania County, Virginia (CivicClerk meeting portal API)
Government record
Site and project identitynot statedpublic-record-source-termsSpotsylvania County, Virginia3de8cf7e423092e85f05f49f8aa17f9e3c51d89b352828cf46bced174af43398
Retained source material; see source provenance
Spotsylvania County Planning Commission: agenda for the meeting of 16 September 2026
Archived copy
Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal)
Government record
Site and project identitypublic-record-source-termsSpotsylvania County, Virginia07f0145c2423bed3ab561356b87c4905a48aec32735d4cb29e2769e840d75ca7
Retained source material; see source provenance
Spotsylvania County Planning Commission: agenda packet for the meeting of 16 September 2026 (Crossroads Technology Campus 2232 review and SUP26-0003 staff report, applicant narrative and attachments)
Archived copy
Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal)
Government record
Site and project identitypublic-record-source-termsSpotsylvania County, Virginia746ecd57ad8e1825f5cfd40b8f165db202992ce3a3e9b90316e74da496e43d01
Retained source material; see source provenance
Spotsylvania County Planning Commission: agenda packet for the meeting of 21 October 2026 (Planning Department Public Hearing Cases Status Report dated 14 October 2026)
Archived copy
Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors meeting records on the county CivicClerk portal)
Government record
Project announcementpublic-record-source-termsSpotsylvania County, Virginia0080a00069eaaaead308fad2e1a9c3c796ba2f6d69e141d5b19c37abd090d9d6
Retained source material; see source provenance
Spotsylvania County tax parcels 37-A-20, 37-A-21, 37-A-17D and 37-A-64 (Crossroads Technology Campus application parcels)
Archived copy
Spotsylvania County, Virginia (GIS Division; ArcGIS Online organisation SpotsyGIS)
Government record
Geometrynot statedpublic-record-source-termsSpotsylvania County, Virginiad88a9bd99af0a1ad16252a53291f8dd82b24b4acd84450d3887322f153bbea87
Retained source material; see source provenance
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Crossroads Technology Campus (Mills Drive / Eagle Drive, Spotsylvania County) [site vcc-site-c520ff5af3bcfa254443]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-c520ff5af3bcfa254443/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction