Microsoft Union City data center campus (EdgeConneX)

Under construction

United States · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

Data center campus on 136 acres at 4810 Stonewall Tell Road in Union City, Fulton County, on metro Atlanta's Southside. In July 2024 Microsoft was confirmed as the company seeking a USD 75 million, ten-year property tax break for three planned buildings, and a regional-impact filing described about 2.1 million sq ft in a project a trade report, crediting the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, headlined at USD 1.8 billion. In August 2026 the Atlanta Journal-Constitution described it as an EdgeConneX-developed campus, still under construction, in which Microsoft leases space, with a price tag of nearly USD 2 billion.

Source record as of 2026-08-06 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 33.60500, -84.49360 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

Microsoft Union City data center campus (EdgeConneX)

Under construction last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Union City, Fulton County, Georgia, US. The July 2024 regional-impact report gives the street address 4810 Stonewall Tell Road but no coordinates. The point is the Union City coordinate from its Wikipedia article, so it marks the city rather than the parcel. Southern Business & Development (via Atlanta Business Chronicle); Southern Business & Development (via The Atlanta Journal-Constitution); The Atlanta Journal-Constitution; Wikipedia

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Investment1,800,000,000 USDReported · Campus2024-07-25Appears only in the headline of a Southern Business & Development report that credits the Atlanta Journal-Constitution as its source; the figure is not attributed to the company or a filing.Southern Business & Development (via The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)
Investmentabout 2,000,000,000 USDReported · Campus2026-08-06Given in a photo caption as a price tag of nearly USD 2 billion.The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Buildings3 countPlanned · Campus2024-07-02Planned buildings as reported by the Atlanta Business Chronicle and relayed by Southern Business & Development.Southern Business & Development (via Atlanta Business Chronicle)
Floor areaabout 2,100,000 sq_ftPlanned · Campus2024-07-25From the Development of Regional Impact filing, as reported by Southern Business & Development crediting the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.Southern Business & Development (via The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)
Land area136 acresReported · Campus2026-08-06The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
EdgeConneXDeveloperThe August 2026 report (which spells it EdgeConnex) says the company developed the campus; it does not say who owns it.The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
MicrosoftTenantDescribed in August 2026 as leasing space at the campus, which it does not own. The July 2024 report (s1) instead described three buildings that Microsoft would own and operate.The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
MicrosoftDeveloperRole as reported in July 2024, when a Microsoft executive said the company had purchased additional Fulton County property to support data center construction already under way. Later reporting (s3) describes the campus as EdgeConneX-developed and leased.Southern Business & Development (via Atlanta Business Chronicle)
Development Authority of Fulton County (Develop Fulton)GovernmentWas scheduled to discuss the USD 75 million ten-year tax abatement in July 2024. The 2026 report says the break was ultimately granted by Union City's development authority after Develop Fulton first considered it.Southern Business & Development (via Atlanta Business Chronicle); The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2024-07OtherActualMicrosoft was confirmed, per the Atlanta Business Chronicle as relayed by Southern Business & Development, as the company seeking a USD 75 million, ten-year property tax abatement from the Development Authority of Fulton County.Southern Business & Development (via Atlanta Business Chronicle)
2024-07OtherActualA Development of Regional Impact filing describing the roughly 2.1 million sq ft campus was made public.Southern Business & Development (via The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)
2026-08OtherActualWhen Microsoft moved to unwind tax incentives for its own metro Atlanta projects in East Point, Palmetto and Douglasville, tax breaks tied to leased facilities such as the Union City campus were reported as unaffected.The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

No megawatt figure was found in the sources that could be opened. Ownership is described differently over time: in July 2024 the buildings were to be Microsoft owned and operated (s1), while in August 2026 the campus is EdgeConneX-developed with Microsoft leasing space (s3); each framing is kept with its own source and date. The July 2024 report put site development costs at about USD 43.5 million. The July 2024 regional-impact report said Microsoft had paid at least USD 171 million that year for more than 480 acres on Atlanta's Southside, including the Union City site; that is a multi-site figure, not a campus figure.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: EdgeConneX (unknown scope) evidence
  • Tenant: Microsoft (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: Microsoft (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Development Authority of Fulton County (Develop Fulton) (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Development Authority of Fulton County (Develop Fulton) (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
Microsoft works to unwind tax breaks for its metro Atlanta data centers evidence row
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution · published 2026-08-06 · News
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 82 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
33.60500, -84.49360
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
The July 2024 regional-impact report gives the street address 4810 Stonewall Tell Road but no coordinates. The point is the Union City coordinate from its Wikipedia article, so it marks the city rather than the parcel.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
d9584c37

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for Microsoft Union City data center campus (EdgeConneX)
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Microsoft confirmed as company seeking tax break for Fulton County, Ga. data center
Archived copy
Southern Business & Development (via Atlanta Business Chronicle)
Trade publication
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Milestone: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedSouthern Business & Development (via Atlanta Business Chronicle)b520ac008575754ba3f1e0733d1b068af82c8a4020daaa8bd5523ea52f1f9c6a
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Microsoft works to unwind tax breaks for its metro Atlanta data centers
Archived copy
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Tenant claimsource-terms-not-recordedThe Atlanta Journal-Constitution8b0060fa961811213e696e9679b669f5eb62c5048e02d546655954cadfd84c1a
Factual source record; not the publisher page
New details revealed about Microsoft's $1.8B data center near Atlanta
Archived copy
Southern Business & Development (via The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)
Trade publication
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Othersource-terms-not-recordedSouthern Business & Development (via The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)f892e10941630b3f8b67bf7ebc403b1507e5a95c479884944c6c389a51b17b3c
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Union City, Georgia
Archived copy
Wikipedia
Other
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Recordnot statedsource-terms-not-recordedWikipediaa03c0acee51f78d452384a29f1ee40f04d4ee70e3867f3de82afc5a4d42c5f01
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). Microsoft Union City data center campus (EdgeConneX) [site vcc-site-deed58b28fabd02848f5]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-deed58b28fabd02848f5/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction