EdgeCore Louisa County campus

Announced

United States · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure plans a hyperscale data center campus on 697 acres it bought from Louisa County in the Shannon Hill Regional Business Park, about 40 miles northwest of Richmond, Virginia. Announced in June 2025, the campus is planned for more than 1.1 GW, which EdgeCore's campus page describes as critical IT load, with investment of more than USD 17 billion. Rappahannock Electric Cooperative is expected to provide power. EdgeCore's announcement cited 3.9 million square feet, while its current campus page lists 3.1 million square feet in at least six single-tenant buildings.

Source record as of 2026-10-09 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 37.99000, -77.96000 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

County or district reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

EdgeCore Louisa County campus

Announced last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Louisa County, Virginia, US. Wikipedia coordinates for Louisa County, Virginia. EdgeCore places the campus in the Shannon Hill Regional Business Park, which no cited source locates precisely. EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure; Bisnow

Use: Ai training, Ai inference, Cloud

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Power capacitymore than 1,100 MWPlanned · Campus · It load2025-06-25The announcement gives more than 1.1 GW without a scope; EdgeCore's campus page describes the figure as critical IT load at full build-out.EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure; EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure
Investmentmore than 17,000,000,000 USDAnnounced · Campus2025-06-25Bisnow describes the investment as close to USD 17 billion.EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure
Land area697 acresAcquired · Campus2025-06-25Bisnow reports EdgeCore bought the site from the county for USD 42 million.EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure; Bisnow
Floor area3,900,000 sq_ftPlanned · Campus2025-06-25Figure in the June 2025 announcement; Bisnow reported nearly 4 million square feet.EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure
Floor area3,100,000 sq_ftPlanned · Campus2026-10-09Figure on EdgeCore's undated campus page as viewed on the access date; it is lower than the announcement's 3.9 million square feet.EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure
Buildingsat least 6 countPlanned · Campus2026-10-09Single-tenant data centers, per the undated campus page as viewed on the access date.EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
EdgeCore Digital InfrastructureDeveloperEdgeCore Digital Infrastructure; Bisnow
Partners GroupInvestorInvestment firm backing EdgeCore; not described as investing in this campus specifically.Bisnow
Rappahannock Electric CooperativeUtilityEdgeCore Digital Infrastructure; Bisnow
Louisa CountyGovernmentBought the business park land in 2018, rezoned it for technology uses and sold the site to EdgeCore.Bisnow

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2019OtherActualLouisa County rezoned the business park land, bought in 2018, for technology uses.Bisnow
2025-06-25AnnouncedActualEdgeCore Digital Infrastructure; Bisnow

Power supply

TypeDescriptionSources
GridRappahannock Electric Cooperative expects to work with EdgeCore and the county to power the campus; the release also names Hyperscale Energy as the cooperative's affiliate without giving it a role.EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure; Bisnow

Status rests on EdgeCore's undated campus page, viewed on 2026-10-09, which still describes the campus in planning terms and gives no construction or delivery dates.

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure (unknown scope) evidence
  • Investor: Partners Group (unknown scope) evidence
  • Utility: Rappahannock Electric Cooperative (unknown scope) evidence
  • Utility: Rappahannock Electric Cooperative (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Louisa County (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
Louisa County Data Centers evidence row
EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure · publication date not stated · Company disclosure
Locator
County or district reference only · Compiled location reference · admin2 evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 18 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
37.99000, -77.96000
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
County or district reference only
Scope class
admin2
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Wikipedia coordinates for Louisa County, Virginia. EdgeCore places the campus in the Shannon Hill Regional Business Park, which no cited source locates precisely.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
6857f912

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for EdgeCore Louisa County campus
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure Announces Plans to Invest $17B+ in Louisa County, VA through the Development of 1.1+ Gigawatt Data Center Campus
Archived copy
EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure
Company disclosure
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Utilitysource-terms-not-recordedEdgeCore Digital Infrastructuree6805003901be934898af5ead35164bdaf72a44e37c8612b4ef5f8fbbb084a6d
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Louisa County Data Centers
Archived copy
EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure
Company disclosure
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Power Capacitynot statedsource-terms-not-recordedEdgeCore Digital Infrastructure2ab6bc89f31d3ec3e061baea298df5089db74806321575910da21fb002185116
Factual source record; not the publisher page
New $17B Project Continues Data Center Surge In Small Virginia County
Archived copy
Bisnow
Trade publication
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Role: Investor, Role: Utilitysource-terms-not-recordedBisnoweac6f0202e09635efcdf0d74bbb6a20b1ae22ddb71b0e772ee7c0080cb37639e
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). EdgeCore Louisa County campus [site vcc-site-ebc20ddd515fd9367ea7]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-ebc20ddd515fd9367ea7/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction