CoreWeave Lancaster AI data center (Lancaster AI Hub)
This record covers several sites. It is not counted as an additional site or project.
Site records
AI data center development in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, on former LSC Communications printing plant sites, co-developed by Chirisa Technology Parks and Machine Investment Group with CoreWeave as tenant. In July 2025 CoreWeave said it intended to commit about 6 billion US dollars to equip an initial 100 MW facility expandable to 300 MW. Phase one reuses the plant at 216 Greenfield Road and was under construction by October 2025, targeting summer 2027. A new-build phase two of about 735,000 sq ft needed city land development approval; a site at 1375 Harrisburg Pike is also planned. A 4 billion US dollar joint venture with Blue Owl funds the campus.
This record reports under construction as of 2025-10-19. WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline)
Location: Lancaster, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, US. City centroid from Wikipedia (s5). Sources give addresses at 216 Greenfield Road and 1375 Harrisburg Pike, but these were not geocoded, so the point is the city centroid rather than either site. CoreWeave; Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency); WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline); Wikipedia
Use: Ai unspecified
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investment | more than 6,000,000,000 USD | Announced · Campus | 2025-07-15 | CoreWeave's intent to commit funds to equip the data center, as worded in its newsroom copy of the announcement. | CoreWeave |
| Investment | up to 6,000,000,000 USD | Announced · Campus | 2025-07-15 | The investor-relations copy of the same July 15, 2025 announcement words the commitment as up to 6 billion US dollars rather than more than 6 billion. | CoreWeave |
| Investment | 4,000,000,000 USD | Reported · Campus | 2025-09-16 | Joint venture funding from Blue Owl-managed funds and affiliates of Chirisa Technology Parks and Machine Investment Group. | Holland & Knight |
| Investment | 10,000,000,000 USD | Reported · Campus | 2025-10-19 | Total cost of the Lancaster AI Hub across the Greenfield Road and Harrisburg Pike sites as reported by LNP. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Investment | up to 2,500,000,000 USD | Reported · Phase · Phase two | 2025-10-19 | Cost to build and equip, including computer equipment. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Power capacity | 100 MW | Planned · Phase · Unspecified · Initial capacity | 2025-07-15 | CoreWeave | |
| Power capacity | up to 300 MW | Planned · Campus · Unspecified | 2025-07-15 | Potential expansion. | CoreWeave |
| Floor area | 450,000 sq_ft | Planned · Phase · Phase one (216 Greenfield Road) | 2025-08-08 | Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency) | |
| Floor area | 735,128 sq_ft | Planned · Phase · Phase two | 2025-10-19 | Two-story new building. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Jobs construction | about 600 count | Planned · Campus | 2025-07-15 | CoreWeave | |
| Jobs permanent | about 175 count | Planned · Campus | 2025-07-15 | About 70 at launch, growing to about 175 over time. | CoreWeave |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chirisa Technology Parks | Developer | CoreWeave; Holland & Knight; WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) | |
| Machine Investment Group | Developer | Named as co-developer in CoreWeave's announcement. | CoreWeave; WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Machine Investment Group | Investor | Joint venture partner in the 4 billion US dollar funding. | Holland & Knight |
| Blue Owl Capital | Investor | Funds managed by Blue Owl are joint venture partners. | Holland & Knight |
| CoreWeave | Tenant | CoreWeave; Holland & Knight; WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) | |
| CoreWeave | Investor | Described as having invested in the campus. | Holland & Knight |
| PPL | Utility | A new PPL substation and switchyard are proposed next to the phase two building. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07-15 | Announced | Actual | Announced at the Pennsylvania Energy and Innovation Summit in Pittsburgh. | CoreWeave |
| 2025 | Construction started | Actual | Demolition at the Greenfield Road phase one site was underway by early August 2025, and phase one was described as under construction in October 2025; it needed no land development plan because it reuses an existing building footprint. | Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency); WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| 2025-09-16 | Other | Actual | 4 billion US dollar joint venture with Blue Owl-managed funds announced. | Holland & Knight |
| 2027 | First operational | Planned | Phase one completion targeted for summer 2027. | Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency) |
| 2027 | Other | Planned | Developer said phase two could be online by mid to late 2027, pending city planning commission land development approval. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Grid | Grid supply from PPL with a proposed new substation and switchyard; the developer says it is spending 200 million US dollars on grid upgrades. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Other | Backup generators for power outages, located mainly between the two Greenfield Road buildings; the fuel is not stated. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
CoreWeave's two published copies of its July 15, 2025 announcement differ: the newsroom copy says more than 6 billion US dollars and the investor-relations copy says up to 6 billion; both are recorded. LNP puts the whole Lancaster AI Hub at 10 billion US dollars, a figure that may include equipment and both sites.
Sources for these details
- CoreWeave Announces Multi-Billion Dollar Commitment to AI Infrastructure in Pennsylvania — CoreWeave; 2025-07-15
- Lancaster, Pa., Hearing to Revisit Data Center Zoning Decision — Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency); 2025-08-08
- Holland & Knight Advises Chirisa Technology Parks in $4 Billion Joint Venture Partnership for Lancaster Campus — Holland & Knight; 2025-09-16
- Data center's second phase expected to cost up to $2.5 billion in Lancaster County — WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline); 2025-10-19 · Archived source
- Lancaster, Pennsylvania — Wikipedia; publication date not stated
- CoreWeave Announces Multi-Billion Dollar Commitment to AI Infrastructure in Pennsylvania — CoreWeave; 2025-07-15
Download full project records · Identity and scope decisions