CoreWeave/Chirisa Lancaster Greenfield Road Campus
Under construction
United States · 1 project · Last reported
Summary
AI data center development in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, on former LSC Communications printing plant sites, co-developed by Chirisa Technology Parks and Machine Investment Group with CoreWeave as tenant. In July 2025 CoreWeave said it intended to commit about 6 billion US dollars to equip an initial 100 MW facility expandable to 300 MW. Phase one reuses the plant at 216 Greenfield Road and was under construction by October 2025, targeting summer 2027. A new-build phase two of about 735,000 sq ft needed city land development approval; a site at 1375 Harrisburg Pike is also planned. A 4 billion US dollar joint venture with Blue Owl funds the campus.
Source record as of 2025-10-19 · Details and sources
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 40.04869, -76.25609 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (1)
CoreWeave/Chirisa Lancaster Greenfield Phase 1 Adaptive-Reuse Project
Under construction last observed as of · Authoritative status update
This record reports under construction as of 2025-10-19. WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline)
Location: Lancaster, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, US. City centroid from Wikipedia (s5). Sources give addresses at 216 Greenfield Road and 1375 Harrisburg Pike, but these were not geocoded, so the point is the city centroid rather than either site. CoreWeave; Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency); WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline); Wikipedia
Use: Ai unspecified
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investment | more than 6,000,000,000 USD | Announced · Campus | 2025-07-15 | CoreWeave's intent to commit funds to equip the data center, as worded in its newsroom copy of the announcement. | CoreWeave |
| Investment | up to 6,000,000,000 USD | Announced · Campus | 2025-07-15 | The investor-relations copy of the same July 15, 2025 announcement words the commitment as up to 6 billion US dollars rather than more than 6 billion. | CoreWeave |
| Investment | 4,000,000,000 USD | Reported · Campus | 2025-09-16 | Joint venture funding from Blue Owl-managed funds and affiliates of Chirisa Technology Parks and Machine Investment Group. | Holland & Knight |
| Investment | 10,000,000,000 USD | Reported · Campus | 2025-10-19 | Total cost of the Lancaster AI Hub across the Greenfield Road and Harrisburg Pike sites as reported by LNP. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Investment | up to 2,500,000,000 USD | Reported · Phase · Phase two | 2025-10-19 | Cost to build and equip, including computer equipment. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Power capacity | 100 MW | Planned · Phase · Unspecified · Initial capacity | 2025-07-15 | CoreWeave | |
| Power capacity | up to 300 MW | Planned · Campus · Unspecified | 2025-07-15 | Potential expansion. | CoreWeave |
| Floor area | 450,000 sq_ft | Planned · Phase · Phase one (216 Greenfield Road) | 2025-08-08 | Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency) | |
| Floor area | 735,128 sq_ft | Planned · Phase · Phase two | 2025-10-19 | Two-story new building. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Jobs construction | about 600 count | Planned · Campus | 2025-07-15 | CoreWeave | |
| Jobs permanent | about 175 count | Planned · Campus | 2025-07-15 | About 70 at launch, growing to about 175 over time. | CoreWeave |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chirisa Technology Parks | Developer | CoreWeave; Holland & Knight; WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) | |
| Machine Investment Group | Developer | Named as co-developer in CoreWeave's announcement. | CoreWeave; WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Machine Investment Group | Investor | Joint venture partner in the 4 billion US dollar funding. | Holland & Knight |
| Blue Owl Capital | Investor | Funds managed by Blue Owl are joint venture partners. | Holland & Knight |
| CoreWeave | Tenant | CoreWeave; Holland & Knight; WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) | |
| CoreWeave | Investor | Described as having invested in the campus. | Holland & Knight |
| PPL | Utility | A new PPL substation and switchyard are proposed next to the phase two building. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-07-15 | Announced | Actual | Announced at the Pennsylvania Energy and Innovation Summit in Pittsburgh. | CoreWeave |
| 2025 | Construction started | Actual | Demolition at the Greenfield Road phase one site was underway by early August 2025, and phase one was described as under construction in October 2025; it needed no land development plan because it reuses an existing building footprint. | Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency); WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| 2025-09-16 | Other | Actual | 4 billion US dollar joint venture with Blue Owl-managed funds announced. | Holland & Knight |
| 2027 | First operational | Planned | Phase one completion targeted for summer 2027. | Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency) |
| 2027 | Other | Planned | Developer said phase two could be online by mid to late 2027, pending city planning commission land development approval. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
Power supply
| Type | Description | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Grid | Grid supply from PPL with a proposed new substation and switchyard; the developer says it is spending 200 million US dollars on grid upgrades. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
| Other | Backup generators for power outages, located mainly between the two Greenfield Road buildings; the fuel is not stated. | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) |
CoreWeave's two published copies of its July 15, 2025 announcement differ: the newsroom copy says more than 6 billion US dollars and the investor-relations copy says up to 6 billion; both are recorded. LNP puts the whole Lancaster AI Hub at 10 billion US dollars, a figure that may include equipment and both sites.
Sources for these details
- CoreWeave Announces Multi-Billion Dollar Commitment to AI Infrastructure in Pennsylvania — CoreWeave; 2025-07-15
- Lancaster, Pa., Hearing to Revisit Data Center Zoning Decision — Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency); 2025-08-08
- Holland & Knight Advises Chirisa Technology Parks in $4 Billion Joint Venture Partnership for Lancaster Campus — Holland & Knight; 2025-09-16
- Data center's second phase expected to cost up to $2.5 billion in Lancaster County — WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline); 2025-10-19 · Archived source
- Lancaster, Pennsylvania — Wikipedia; publication date not stated
- CoreWeave Announces Multi-Billion Dollar Commitment to AI Infrastructure in Pennsylvania — CoreWeave; 2025-07-15
Source and location review
- Status source
- Chirisa Technology Parks data center locations evidence row
Chirisa Technology Parks · publication date not stated · Company disclosure - Locator
- Campus locator · Official source · official_census_address_locator_point evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed_ for_ core_ preview
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 97 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 40.04869, -76.25609
- Geometry licence
- public-domain-us-government
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- official_census_address_locator_point
- Authority
- Official source
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- census_public_ar_current_street_range_interpolation
- Derivation
- official_address_geocode
- Precision scope
- Official Census Public_AR_Current address-match point used only to locate the source-linked parent campus. Street-range interpolation can differ from a parcel, building, entrance, or surveyed position. The address identifies the adaptive-reuse property, but the Census point is not the existing shell or Phase 1 footprint.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The captured Census match supplies no bounded horizontal-accuracy value, and a street-range interpolation point is not asserted to fall within the campus, parcel, building, or project extent.
- Geometry evidence
- 6600dddb
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chirisa Technology Parks data center locations Archived copy | Chirisa Technology Parks Company disclosure | Campus address context, Physical status | not stated | all-rights-reserved | Chirisa Technology Parks | 6217db82caf16b110532ddd7ef4a4888f1803a8d590d4920289394b29392cdf3Retained source material; see source provenance | |
| CoreWeave Announces Multi-Billion Dollar Commitment to AI Infrastructure in Pennsylvania Archived copy | CoreWeave Company disclosure | Context: Multi Site Program, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment | source-terms-not-recorded | CoreWeave | 193bd3bbbc77a9e72fafc48c2bd628cf4de8e3fcf39ffd47700de7e67b743ca6Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| CoreWeave Announces Multi-Billion Dollar Commitment to AI Infrastructure in Pennsylvania Archived copy | CoreWeave Company disclosure | Context: Multi Site Program, Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: Announced, Role: Developer, Tenant claim | source-terms-not-recorded | CoreWeave | 3be2df33a24bd0edd66b48c068023e3c3d894e8f35b6d4fb76b41e7b722fb0d7Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Data center's second phase expected to cost up to $2.5 billion in Lancaster County Archived copy | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) News | Context: Multi Site Program, Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: Other, Power Source: Grid, Power Source: Other, Role: Developer, Tenant claim, Role: Utility | source-terms-not-recorded | WITF (LNP | LancasterOnline) | ec2509437e139b284b0e32f312afdddfeefe5ab9157ec4183b0855eca61a934bFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Holland & Knight Advises Chirisa Technology Parks in $4 Billion Joint Venture Partnership for Lancaster Campus Archived copy | Holland & Knight Other | Context: Multi Site Program, Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Other, Role: Developer, Role: Investor, Tenant claim | source-terms-not-recorded | Holland & Knight | 3f23f922af1ddd43e8578478c38a82e21d1e8800c2394f09a28408a26f626e3aFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Lancaster, Pa., Hearing to Revisit Data Center Zoning Decision Archived copy | Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency) News | Context: Multi Site Program, Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: First Operational | source-terms-not-recorded | Government Technology (LNP via Tribune Content Agency) | 90562201b5441202e32685e3943eb976100b20781a9526eb39f7e73d597ed864Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Lancaster, Pennsylvania Archived copy | Wikipedia Other | Context: Multi Site Program, Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | Wikipedia | c53ac8935dc3976dd5177444586e9e41adf4aaafb9d688c41b861d785b3e40fcFactual source record; not the publisher page | |
| United States Census Geocoder Public_AR_Current exact-address matches for the v0.12 locator batch Archived copy | United States Census Bureau Government record | Geometry | not stated | public-domain-us-government | United States Census Bureau | db625d4738dc9a0eed46bd54216090509b1882f16c8b57578f43ac0fa76b0905Retained source material; see source provenance |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). CoreWeave/Chirisa Lancaster Greenfield Road Campus [site vcc-site-9b9b5ef71cedda52fd47]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-9b9b5ef71cedda52fd47/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction