QTS Fayetteville campus

Partially operational

United States · 1 project · Last reported

Summary

QTS is building a multi-building data center campus on about 615 acres along Georgia Highway 54 West in Fayetteville, Georgia, about 25 miles south of Atlanta. QTS bought the site from the Fayette County Development Authority in 2022, when the campus was first unveiled as Project Excalibur, and Bisnow reported it was expected to cost QTS more than USD 1 billion. City filings describe about 7 million square feet of data center and office space. The first building received a certificate of occupancy in May 2025, and by November 2025 two buildings were operating with four more under development. Microsoft has been reported, but not confirmed, as a tenant.

Source record as of 2025-11-21 · Details and sources

Location

The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 33.44780, -84.46170 (Point locator, WGS 84).

View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser

Town or locality reference only; the facility position is not established.

Projects (1)

QTS Fayetteville campus

Partially operational last observed as of · Reported status

Location: Fayetteville, Fayette County, Georgia, US. Wikipedia coordinates for Fayetteville, Georgia. The campus is at 1435 Highway 54 West, bounded by Highway 54 West, Tyrone Road and Flat Creek Trail; no cited source gives site coordinates. The Citizen (Fayette County); The Citizen (Fayette County)

Use: Colocation

Capacity, investment and other figures

MeasureValueScopeAs ofNotesSources
Land areaabout 615 acresAcquired · Campus2022-08-15The 2023 city development agreement describes the site as 612 acres.REBusinessOnline; The Citizen (Fayette County)
Investmentmore than 1,000,000,000 USDReported · Campus2022-09-19Bisnow's 2022 report that the project was expected to cost QTS more than USD 1 billion; the AJC later describes the investment only as billions of dollars. The separate land price was USD 153.8 million.Bisnow
Floor areaup to 7,000,000 sq_ftPlanned · Campus2025-11-21Includes supporting office space; Bisnow's 2022 breakdown was about 6.6 million square feet of data center space plus about 400,000 square feet of offices.The Citizen (Fayette County); The Citizen (Fayette County); The Atlanta Journal-Constitution; Bisnow
Buildings16 countPlanned · Campus2022-09-21Count from the 2022 Development of Regional Impact filing.Bisnow; The Citizen (Fayette County)
Buildings9 countPlanned · Campus2025-11-15The Citizen's 2025 account of nine planned data center buildings conflicts with the 16 in the 2022 filing and with its own reference to a Building 10.The Citizen (Fayette County)
Buildings2 countOperational · Campus2025-11-15The Citizen (Fayette County)
Buildings4 countUnder construction · Campus2025-11-15Buildings 3, 5, 9 and 10 were described as under development.The Citizen (Fayette County)
Jobs permanent800–1,000 countPlanned · Campus2025-11-15The Citizen (Fayette County)
Jobs construction4,500–5,000 countReported · Campus2025-11-15Construction workers on site on a typical day in late 2025.The Citizen (Fayette County)

Companies and organizations

NameRoleNotesSources
QTS Data CentersDeveloperBlackstone subsidiary. The Citizen says the land was bought by QTS Fayetteville 1, LLC, and the city's 2023 development agreement names National Acquisition Company, LLC as the other party.Bisnow; The Citizen (Fayette County); The Citizen (Fayette County); The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Fayette County Development AuthorityGovernmentSold the 615-acre site to QTS.REBusinessOnline
City of FayettevilleGovernmentIts planning and zoning commission approved the conceptual site plan and its council adopted a development agreement for the campus in 2023.The Citizen (Fayette County)
MicrosoftTenantReported, not confirmed by the companies. The Citizen cites a 2024 Bloomberg report that Microsoft signed on as a tenant; the AJC infers from city records that Microsoft's Fayetteville facility is on this campus. QTS does not disclose customers and Microsoft did not give a location. Microsoft's facility is covered by the separate record microsoft-fairwater-atlanta.The Citizen (Fayette County); The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Timeline

DateEventActual or plannedNotesSources
2022-08AnnouncedActualCampus first unveiled as Project Excalibur.The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
2022Site acquiredActualPurchase of 615 acres from the Fayette County Development Authority for about USD 153.8 million, reported on 15 August 2022; the article gives no closing date.REBusinessOnline
2023-02-02OtherActualFayetteville Planning and Zoning Commission approved the conceptual site plan. The year is derived: the June 2023 article dates the approval to 2 February earlier that year.The Citizen (Fayette County)
2023-06-15OtherActualFayetteville City Council unanimously adopted the development agreement for the campus.The Citizen (Fayette County)
2025-05First operationalActualCity issued a certificate of occupancy for the first building, followed by a construction completion certificate on 25 September. The AJC, writing in November 2025, gives these dates without a year; they are read as 2025.The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
2027Fully operationalPlannedCompletion target reported in November 2025.The Citizen (Fayette County)
2032Fully operationalPlannedEarlier build-out year in the 2022 regional impact filing.Bisnow; The Citizen (Fayette County)

The AJC places Microsoft's Fayetteville Fairwater AI facility on this campus because city records show it as the only Fayetteville site permitted for data center occupancy; neither company has confirmed this. That facility is recorded separately as microsoft-fairwater-atlanta, and its statements are not repeated here.

Related projects: microsoft fairwater atlanta

Sources for these details
Companies
  • Developer: QTS Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: QTS Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: QTS Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Developer: QTS Data Centers (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: Fayette County Development Authority (unknown scope) evidence
  • Government: City of Fayetteville (unknown scope) evidence
  • Tenant: Microsoft (unknown scope) evidence
  • Tenant: Microsoft (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
Status source
QTS unveils new multi-use path as part of expanding community partnership in Fayetteville evidence row
The Citizen (Fayette County) · published 2025-11-15 · News
Locator
Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
Source checks

Not reviewed against imagery not_reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verification

Status age at review: 340 days before the data update on 2026-10-27

Location details
Coordinates
33.44780, -84.46170
Geometry licence
source-terms-not-recorded
Use scope
Locality reference only
Scope class
locality
Authority
Compiled location reference
Source entity
Project
Method
imported_reference_point
Derivation
imported_reference_point
Precision scope
Wikipedia coordinates for Fayetteville, Georgia. The campus is at 1435 Highway 54 West, bounded by Highway 54 West, Tyrone Road and Flat Creek Trail; no cited source gives site coordinates.
Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported

The source record provides no measured horizontal uncertainty; original coordinate precision and note are preserved.

Geometry evidence
25e20e63

A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.

Evidence

Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.

Evidence for QTS Fayetteville campus
TitlePublisherRolesPublishedRetrievedLicenceAttributionContent hash (SHA-256)
Fayetteville approves development agreement for 612-acre QTS Data Center on Hwy. 54 West
Archived copy
The Citizen (Fayette County)
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Milestone: Other, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedThe Citizen (Fayette County)cb98cb8797cacb50c752e533961414a5870c7429fb66e32f168b001c603be722
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Microsoft's newest AI 'superfactory' opens at sprawling Fayetteville campus
Archived copy
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
News
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Floor Area, Milestone: Announced, Milestone: First Operational, Role: Developer, Tenant claimsource-terms-not-recordedThe Atlanta Journal-Constitutioncd07efa56b8e1e90cde14d028136b2329b7d0d33e8244e1e1ed2ab585ed7726e
Factual source record; not the publisher page
QTS Buys 615 Acres in Fayetteville, Georgia for 'World's Largest Multi-Tenant Data Center Campus'
Archived copy
REBusinessOnline
Trade publication
Imported: Record, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Site Acquired, Role: Governmentsource-terms-not-recordedREBusinessOnline745dae37ff818d57365f74c3946451887e33926088559e48a8c5383633f32497
Factual source record; not the publisher page
QTS unveils new multi-use path as part of expanding community partnership in Fayetteville
Archived copy
The Citizen (Fayette County)
News
Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Jobs Construction, Metric: Jobs Permanent, Milestone: Fully Operational, Role: Developer, Tenant claimsource-terms-not-recordedThe Citizen (Fayette County)4f8cb1003a42990933842064b5da119884663c7f081edc8d994f40762b102182
Factual source record; not the publisher page
QTS' 'Project Excalibur' To Span 7M SF In Fayetteville
Archived copy
Bisnow
Trade publication
Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Fully Operational, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedBisnow60065a2721fb30a67c8b3bbc36c93cc525381d9fa6405f67697c316b13b34c2a
Factual source record; not the publisher page
State reviewing massive Fayetteville data center plans
Archived copy
The Citizen (Fayette County)
News
Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Fully Operational, Role: Developersource-terms-not-recordedThe Citizen (Fayette County)194284c010f3cc8036f11548a00c2eb10eb091b9aa77d6b6326df099e8b18ee1
Factual source record; not the publisher page
Cite this site

Kyars, K. (2026). QTS Fayetteville campus [site vcc-site-32a95caf9128d7dd56c8]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-32a95caf9128d7dd56c8/

Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction