QTS Cambois Data Centre Campus
Announced Civil works Under construction
United Kingdom · 3 projects · Last reported
Summary
QTS Cambois 2026 Earthworks
QTS's current Cambois page says east- and south-side earthworks continue during 2026, while first-building construction remains subsequent work. evidence
QTS Data Centers · published 2024-11-04T16:41:55+00:00
QTS Cambois Data Centre Campus
QTS, the Blackstone-owned data centre company, is building its first UK campus on the former Blyth Power Station site at Cambois, Northumberland, with up to GBP 10bn of investment. Plans cover ten three-storey buildings and up to 540,000 square metres, with the architect citing 720 MW of IT capacity. Northumberland County Council approved the scheme in March 2025 and phase-one reserved matters for the first two buildings in December 2025. Work on site began in October 2025, and ground improvement for the first two data centres was under way in August 2026. The site sits in the UK's North East AI Growth Zone.
Source record as of 2026-08-06 · Details and sources
QTS Cambois Phase 2 - two data centre buildings (Northumberland reserved matters 26/03028/REM)
Northumberland County Council's statutory notice dated 25 September 2026 publicises reserved matters application 26/03028/REM by Renaissance Land Limited for appearance, landscaping, layout and scale of two data centre buildings with ancillary offices (Use Class B8) and associated landscaping and infrastructure on Phase 2 of the Cambois data centre campus, pursuant to outline permission 24/04112/OUTES. This dated government record identifies the Phase 2 project, so it is announced as of 25 September 2026. The reserved matters are undecided in the notice, so permitted status is not asserted for Phase 2 (the 2025 outline consent alone leaves its detailed design unapproved and predates the window), and no works on Phase 2 are implied. evidence
Northumberland County Council (statutory planning notice published in the Northumberland Gazette and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) · published 2026-09-25
Location
The interactive map needs JavaScript. Display anchor: 55.15092, -1.53363 (Point locator, WGS 84).
View location: OpenStreetMap · Google Maps · Bing aerial · Copernicus Browser
Campus reference; individual project footprints are not mapped.
Projects (3)
QTS Cambois 2026 Earthworks
Civil works last observed as of · Authoritative status update
Source and location review
- Status source
- Cambois evidence row
QTS Data Centers · published 2024-11-04T16:41:55+00:00 · Company disclosure - Locator
- Campus locator · Official source · government_hosted_applicant_report_wider_campus_reference_point evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed_ for_ core_ preview
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 118 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
QTS Cambois Data Centre Campus
Under construction last observed as of · Reported status
Location: Cambois, Northumberland, England, GB. Sources place the campus on the former Blyth Power Station site at Cambois. Nominatim did not return the power station site, so the Cambois village centroid is used. Place North East; Keller
Capacity, investment and other figures
| Measure | Value | Scope | As of | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power capacity | 720 MW | Planned · Campus · It load | 2026 | Architect Corgan lists 720 MW, with each of ten buildings providing 72 MW of IT capacity. Data Centre Review also reports about 720 MW across ten facilities if fully built, without stating scope; W.Media's description of phase one as two 720 MW facilities conflicts with both and is not recorded. | Corgan |
| Investment | up to 10,000,000,000 GBP | Announced · Campus | 2025-03-05 | Some sources give GBP 10bn without 'up to'; the UK government describes it as projected investment by Blackstone funds. | UKTN; ACE Infrastructure Intelligence; UK Government; Data Centre Review |
| Floor area | up to 540,000 sq_m | Planned · Campus | 2025-03-05 | UKTN; ACE Infrastructure Intelligence; Corgan | |
| Land area | 100 hectares | Reported · Campus | 2026 | Corgan | |
| Land area | more than 133 acres | Reported · Campus | 2026-08-06 | Keller's description of the site; differs slightly from Corgan's 100 hectares. | Keller |
| Buildings | 10 count | Planned · Campus | 2026-08-06 | Corgan; Keller | |
| Buildings | 2 count | Under construction · Phase · Phase one | 2026-08-06 | Reserved matters approved in December 2025 for the first two buildings; ground improvement for data centres one and two under way in August 2026. | Place North East; Keller |
| Jobs construction | 1,200 count | Planned · Campus | 2025-08-27 | Described as construction jobs over several years; the March 2025 report gave more than 1,000. | ACE Infrastructure Intelligence |
Companies and organizations
| Name | Role | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| QTS | Developer | UKTN; ACE Infrastructure Intelligence; Place North East | |
| QTS | Operator | Place North East | |
| Blackstone | Investor | Owner of QTS; the UK government credited Blackstone funds with a projected GBP 10bn investment in the campus. | UKTN; UK Government |
| Renaissance Land | Investor | Blackstone-owned entity described as financing the project. | Place North East |
| Keller | Builder | Ground improvement and piling subcontractor for data centres one and two. | Keller |
| Northumberland County Council | Government | Planning authority. | UKTN; W.Media |
Timeline
| Date | Event | Actual or planned | Notes | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03 | Zoning approved | Actual | Northumberland County Council approved the planning application for the campus. | UKTN |
| 2025-08 | Permit approved | Actual | Approval reported for preparatory works such as a site compound, vegetation clearance and earthworks. | ACE Infrastructure Intelligence |
| 2025-09-16 | Other | Actual | UK government release quoted Blackstone saying its Northumberland campus had been designated an AI Growth Zone. | UK Government |
| 2025-10 | Construction started | Actual | Trade press reports that construction began in October 2025, after the August approval. | W.Media |
| 2025-12-02 | Zoning approved | Actual | Council approval of reserved matters for phase one, covering the first two buildings. | W.Media; Place North East |
| 2026-08 | Other | Actual | Ground improvement with vibro stone columns and CFA piles for data centres one and two was under way, due to finish later in August 2026. | Keller |
| 2028 | First operational | Planned | Corgan says phase one is projected to open in early 2028. | Corgan |
| 2035 | Fully operational | Planned | Campus completion and tenant onboarding expected by 2035. | Corgan |
Related projects: tbc partners cambois
Sources for these details
- Northumberland Council approves plans for £10bn data centre — UKTN; 2025-03-05 · Archived source
- New milestone reached on £10bn data centre project — ACE Infrastructure Intelligence; 2025-08-27 · Archived source
- US-UK pact will boost advances in drug discovery, create tens of thousands of jobs and transform lives — UK Government; 2025-09-16 · Archived source
- QTS gained approval for data center project in Northumbria — W.Media; 2025-12-09
- QTS Data Center Campus Cambois — Corgan; publication date not stated
- QTS doubles down as OpenAI pauses North East data centre ambitions — Place North East; 2026-04-13 · Archived source
- QTS reaffirms commitment to North East AI Growth Zone — Data Centre Review; 2026-04-14
- Keller lays foundations for huge data centre — Keller; 2026-08-06
Northumberland County Council publicises 26/02818/FUL by Renaissance Land Limited: application for 11/33kV temporary substations and associated development for the construction and early operation of the proposed Cambois Data Centre Campus, on Land East of Sleekburn Business Centre, West Sleekburn (affecting a public right of way). evidence
Northumberland County Council (statutory planning notice published in the Northumberland Gazette and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) · published 2026-09-04
Northumberland County Council publicises 26/02919/FUL by Renaissance Land Limited: application for a 60kV temporary substation and associated development for the construction and early operation of the proposed Cambois Data Centre Campus (Application Reference: 24/04112/OUTES), Land at the Former Power Station Site on the Northern Side of Cambois, Cambois near Blyth, NE22 7BL (major application). It ties the outline reference 24/04112/OUTES and the applicant Renaissance Land Limited to the former power station site at Cambois. evidence
Northumberland County Council (statutory planning notice published in the Northumberland Gazette and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) · published 2026-10-09
- Companies
- Developer: QTS (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: QTS (unknown scope) evidence
- Developer: QTS (unknown scope) evidence
- Operator: QTS (unknown scope) evidence
- Investor: Blackstone (unknown scope) evidence
- Investor: Blackstone (unknown scope) evidence
- Investor: Renaissance Land (unknown scope) evidence
- Builder: Keller (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Northumberland County Council (unknown scope) evidence
- Government: Northumberland County Council (unknown scope) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- QTS doubles down as OpenAI pauses North East data centre ambitions evidence row
Place North East · published 2026-04-13 · News - Locator
- Locality reference only · Compiled location reference · locality evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 82 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
QTS Cambois Phase 2 - two data centre buildings (Northumberland reserved matters 26/03028/REM)
Announced last observed as of · Project announcement
Northumberland County Council publicises 26/02919/FUL by Renaissance Land Limited: application for a 60kV temporary substation and associated development for the construction and early operation of the proposed Cambois Data Centre Campus (Application Reference: 24/04112/OUTES), Land at the Former Power Station Site on the Northern Side of Cambois, Cambois near Blyth, NE22 7BL (major application). It ties the outline reference 24/04112/OUTES and the applicant Renaissance Land Limited to the former power station site at Cambois. evidence
Northumberland County Council (statutory planning notice published in the Northumberland Gazette and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) · published 2026-10-09
QTS describes Cambois as its first data centre campus in the UK, redeveloping land at the former Power Station Site in Cambois, near Blyth, and states that, with the investment of funds managed by affiliates of Blackstone, QTS is proud to develop and operate this project. Its construction-timeline text says that, following approval of the outline planning permission, QTS has begun to submit further details for approval by Northumberland County Council. evidence
QTS Realty Trust, LLC · published 2024-11-04
- Companies
- Operator: QTS (intended) evidence
Source and location review
- Status source
- Northumberland County Council planning applications notice of 25 September 2026 (Northumberland Gazette), including 26/03028/REM: reserved matters for two data centre buildings on Phase 2 of the data centre campus, former power station site, Cambois evidence row
Northumberland County Council (statutory planning notice published in the Northumberland Gazette and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) · published 2026-09-25 · Government record - Locator
- Campus locator · Official source · government_hosted_applicant_report_wider_campus_reference_point evidence
- Source checks
Not reviewed against imagery not_
reviewed
No imagery review is recorded for this project. Its status rests only on the dated authoritative source. · no independent imagery verificationStatus age at review: 32 days before the data update on 2026-10-27
Location details
- Coordinates
- 55.15092, -1.53363
- Geometry licence
- all-rights-reserved-fact-extraction-only
- Use scope
- Campus locator
- Scope class
- government_hosted_applicant_report_wider_campus_reference_point
- Authority
- Official source
- Source entity
- Campus
- Method
- applicant_report_osgb36_national_grid_reference_to_wgs84
- Derivation
- official_coordinate_transform
- Precision scope
- Government-hosted applicant report's approximate centre for the wider Cambois Campus, transformed once from NGR NZ 29820 84164. It is not the Phase A point, east- or south-side earthworks location, parcel, campus, building, project, or current-work boundary.
- Horizontal uncertainty
Not reported
The report explicitly calls the NGR an approximate centre and supplies no numeric horizontal-accuracy statement; transformed digits do not add accuracy.
- Geometry evidence
- a4ff7674
A locator places the site on the map. It is not a building footprint, a construction extent or a surveyed boundary unless the use scope is an official boundary, and even then it is a parcel or permit boundary.
Evidence
Sources are linked, not redistributed; each keeps its own terms. An archived copy is a lookup for the Wayback Machine capture nearest the retrieval date and may be unavailable or differ from what was reviewed. Each hash states what it covers; imported factual records are not publisher-page captures.
| Title | Publisher | Roles | Published | Retrieved | Licence | Attribution | Content hash (SHA-256) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cambois Archived copy | QTS Data Centers Company disclosure | Source location context, Physical status | all-rights-reserved | QTS Data Centers | 6eab7c0ac2af11363f89c7d3257d1e17e072a60b1bb1a15055d638acd770a06cRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Cambois, United Kingdom - Data Centre Campus (QTS campus page) Archived copy | QTS Realty Trust, LLC Company disclosure | Site and project identity, Operator claim | all-rights-reserved | QTS Realty Trust, LLC | dbac04020c82d2d874b2f8c5af17c589948da65ff8bce47290c9e26b3deab6e5Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Keller lays foundations for huge data centre Archived copy | Keller Company disclosure | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Land Area, Milestone: Other, Role: Builder | source-terms-not-recorded | Keller | f944cb834441b293b367133dc35aa736c8f39f47023abd073d062b2161f6939dFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| New milestone reached on £10bn data centre project Archived copy | ACE Infrastructure Intelligence Trade publication | Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Metric: Jobs Construction, Milestone: Permit Approved, Role: Developer | source-terms-not-recorded | ACE Infrastructure Intelligence | a3a2f84b5629c57f4e0fdd408312ef71832afa83724de559629c4277d6ec09c8Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Northumberland Council approves plans for £10bn data centre Archived copy | UKTN News | Imported: Record, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Zoning Approved, Role: Developer, Role: Government, Role: Investor | source-terms-not-recorded | UKTN | caa80b991d3112b4b733bc4937100d0957b837ba6ba95d91f64715908e47bd55Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| Northumberland County Council planning applications notice of 25 September 2026 (Northumberland Gazette), including 26/03028/REM: reserved matters for two data centre buildings on Phase 2 of the data centre campus, former power station site, Cambois Archived copy | Northumberland County Council (statutory planning notice published in the Northumberland Gazette and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) Government record | Project announcement | all-rights-reserved (statutory notice reproduced on the Public Notice Portal) | Northumberland County Council; Public Notice Portal (News Media Association) | 427245d284975f1bf1cd5356b6ac25c82f3bbcfb923813391e3bc7faef1d5e35Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Northumberland County Council planning applications notice of 4 September 2026 (Northumberland Gazette), including 26/02818/FUL: 11/33kV temporary substations for the construction and early operation of the proposed Cambois Data Centre Campus Archived copy | Northumberland County Council (statutory planning notice published in the Northumberland Gazette and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) Government record | Grid connection context | all-rights-reserved (statutory notice reproduced on the Public Notice Portal) | Northumberland County Council; Public Notice Portal (News Media Association) | 278e15888632a2986cb83f9455948060df61811fe4d9c2e3fe9c6a7e25674d67Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| Northumberland County Council planning applications notice of 9 October 2026 (Northumberland Gazette), including 26/02919/FUL: 60kV temporary substation for the construction and early operation of the proposed Cambois Data Centre Campus (24/04112/OUTES) Archived copy | Northumberland County Council (statutory planning notice published in the Northumberland Gazette and on the News Media Association's Public Notice Portal) Government record | Site and project identity, Grid connection context | all-rights-reserved (statutory notice reproduced on the Public Notice Portal) | Northumberland County Council; Public Notice Portal (News Media Association) | d365f87539d24241b6fb647fb3e5251217551b8c0ecde5135f36ae4797d6767eRetained source material; see source provenance | ||
| QTS Data Center Campus Cambois Archived copy | Corgan Company disclosure | Imported: Record, Metric: Buildings, Metric: Floor Area, Metric: Land Area, Metric: Power Capacity, Milestone: First Operational, Milestone: Fully Operational | not stated | source-terms-not-recorded | Corgan | 0475b3983f63af7f6156d5cd7c8e0997815b9b8602d65575a96dedf5e229f36eFactual source record; not the publisher page | |
| QTS doubles down as OpenAI pauses North East data centre ambitions Archived copy | Place North East News | Imported: Geometry, Imported: Record, Imported: Status, Metric: Buildings, Milestone: Zoning Approved, Role: Developer, Role: Investor, Operator claim | source-terms-not-recorded | Place North East | 07501f81b96be3e9f04c1c44a669389a14df0cca0691d92500804551e1309f1cFactual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| QTS gained approval for data center project in Northumbria Archived copy | W.Media Trade publication | Imported: Record, Milestone: Construction Started, Milestone: Zoning Approved, Role: Government | source-terms-not-recorded | W.Media | eeb2042e2282e3f390d234aa808c7709ab166dfade0760f0906663ee4f48bde9Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| QTS Project Wind Environmental Setting and Site Design Report Archived copy | Environment Agency consultation portal Government record | Geometry identity context, Geometry | all-rights-reserved-fact-extraction-only | QTS Data Centres; Cundall; Environment Agency consultation portal | 25235f3c8187b67df890d8460cf520537ddad603a87c56e84bf06728cd7946f4Retained source material; see source provenance | ||
| QTS reaffirms commitment to North East AI Growth Zone Archived copy | Data Centre Review Trade publication | Imported: Record, Metric: Investment | source-terms-not-recorded | Data Centre Review | 9599b25d8b715ca8426beee052f7ef93202ca5cafc3327749c88f33a35249378Factual source record; not the publisher page | ||
| US-UK pact will boost advances in drug discovery, create tens of thousands of jobs and transform lives Archived copy | UK Government Government record | Imported: Record, Metric: Investment, Milestone: Other, Role: Investor | source-terms-not-recorded | UK Government | e9d37d5b18d2b40cfd7e6766493d0002169e44a01fd75f24f01489f345764d9cFactual source record; not the publisher page |
Cite this site
Kyars, K. (2026). QTS Cambois Data Centre Campus [site vcc-site-ee33430200d597833ebe]. In Data Center Atlas (2026-10-27) [Data set]. https://kiankyars.github.io/datacenter-atlas/sites/vcc-site-ee33430200d597833ebe/
Show on the map explorer JSON for this site GeoJSON for this site Download dataset Report a correction